Iron Brother SupplementsPre-Workout

Iron Brothers Supplements Ruthless Review: A Fun Pre-Workout That Delivers

Iron Brothers Ruthless

8.8

Profile

8.4/10

Effectiveness

8.6/10

Taste

8.8/10

Mixability

9.5/10

Value

8.9/10

Pros

  • Focus
  • Taste
  • Increased Strength
  • Energy

Cons

  • Some ingredients could stand slightly better doses

Overview of Iron Brothers Supplements Ruthless

Iron Brothers is a Canadian based company that was founded by two brothers. Today, it is fully owned and operated by Marc, one of the original founders. Marcs main focus is not only formulating quality products, but providing them at an affordable price.

Iron Brothers have created a brain boosting product that is engineered to improve your cognitive function in all aspects. You will have a clearer thought process, mental energy, increased focus, and improved memory all for a great dollar value.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Iron Brothers Ruthless on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this preworkout.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality preworkout will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Grape Cotton Candy.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workouts available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.4/10)

ruthless iron bros

The ingredient formula for Ruthless starts us off with 7 grams of L-Citrulline Malate 2:1. 

With 7 grams of L-Citrulline Malate 2:1 this means we are actually getting around two parts Citrulline to one part Malic Acid. This would technically yield Citrulline between 3-5 grams we would be looking for in a pre-workout product. Citrulline is a precursor to Arginine which increases Nitric Oxide and blood flow during workouts.

Next we have 3.2 grams of Beta Alanine. To keep it unadorned and simple, Beta Alanine is an ingredient that may aid in endurance by diminishing lactic acid. At 3.2 grams, this is on point as we typically see mostly all clinical data showing the effectiveness of Beta Alanine being in the 3.2 gram – 6.4 gram range. 

Next we have Pomegranate Extract (powder) dosed at 1 gram. Pomegranate Extract has several medicinal properties but most widely known attributes would be that it assists with lowering the users high blood pressure, this is exceptionally important with taking stims, which are well known for slightly elevating the users BP level. Most known clinical data would suggest that a daily dosage of at least 750mg should be effective. So we are locked in tight here with our dosing at 1 gram.

Next we get 1 gram of Taurine. Taurine assists the user with maintaining proper hydration and balancing your electrolytes. Taurine also has been shown to assist the general function of the central nervous system and also assists with forming bile salts (aids with proper digestion). With us getting a solid dose of 1 gram, we are good here.

Next we have Acetyl-L-Carnitine (ALCAR). L-Carnitine is a widely used ingredient in fat burners and also found in some pre workout formulas. L-Carnitine has been founded to be a transporter of fatty cells to be used as energy, which is why it is so usually added in fat burning products and pre workouts. L-Carnitine also has been shown through several studies involving a reduction in mental fatigue in the elderly and also having some positive effects on younger children who may suffer from ADHD. L-Carnitine is dosed at 1 gram, which is in the low end of recommended dosages (650mg – 2500mg). Would we like to see a slightly higher dosing of L-Carnitine? Absolutely. 

Now we move onto L-Tyrosine. L-Tyrosine is a non-essential amino acid which has been shown to improve cognitive function. L-Tyrosine is strictly used here for its nootropics value and it delivers. L-Tyrosine is known for giving the user access to additional focus while experiencing “stressful” situations, like lifting. The current data suggests that L-Tyrosine should be dosed at 500mg – 2 grams, we get a completely admissible dose of 1 gram.

Next we Agmatine Sulfate dosed at 750mg. Agmatine Sulfate is an ingredient used to increase and regulate Nitric Oxide concentration in the blood stream to facilitate a solid pump within the working muscles. This permits more blood flow, leading to more oxygen and nutrient flow, which ultimately should lead to more growth. This is exactly what you should strive for as an amateur fitness enthusiast or even as an accomplished athlete. To gain the full effect of Agmatine Sulfate we’d like to see it dosed at 1 gram. But here we are dosing at 750mg which is just slightly under where we’d need it to be to reap the full rewards of the ingredient.

Next we see Choline Bitartrate. Choline Bitartrate is known for having nootropic properties but on a much lower scale from say something like Alpha GPC. With that being said, that does not diminish what the ingredient is trying to accomplish for the user. Increased focus is always a welcomed contribution during an intense workout. Here we have Choline Bitartrate dosed at 500mg which the on the low end of acceptable dosages. We are perfectly fine with this size of dose, only due to the fact that having too much of the ingredient may cause painful headaches.

Next we have the very familiar Caffeine Anhydrous dosed at 240mg. Do we really need to talk about Caffeine? Perhaps not. But we will gladly glorify the powerhouse that is Caffeine once again. Caffeine is a central nervous system stimulant which can be found in almost every pre workout supplement on the market today. Caffeine Anhydrous is the purest form of caffeine, meaning it is without water. Every single milligram of Caffeine Anhydrous is only caffeine, nothing else. Caffeine is the preeminent way to instantly expand your energy and performance for any activity, whether it’s simply completing tasks at your day job or aggressively deadlifting after you clock out for the day. Ruthless has an honorable dose of Caffeine Anhydrous set at 240mg, which was right on the money for me personally. Not too high and not too low. Just right.

Now onto Di-Caffeine Malate. Dosed at 200mg which is approximately 75% Caffeine would yield us an extra 150mg of Caffeine. This would set us at 350mg at the end of the day, even though it’s more on the high end of dosages this is still widely acceptable for this ingredient. Di-Caffeine Malate assists with longer lasting energy as well as preventing the dreaded “crash” people may experience from Caffeine use. I can honestly say that the time I spent using Ruthless I never once had a crash.

Next we have 100mg of Citrus Aurantium. It has been known to be used to improve athletic performance but there is no good scientific evidence to support its use. Citrus Aurantium contains an active ingredient called synephrine that is similar to ephedra. In 2004, the FDA banned ephedra due to serious effects on the heart. At this time there is not enough scientific information to determine an appropriate range of doses for Citrus Aurantium.

Next we see Piper Nigrum (Black Pepper) dosed at 10mg. This is traditionally used as an absorption agent and is dosed well according to clinical standards.

Lastly we have 100mcg of Toothed Clubmoss. The Toothed Clubmoss, is a plant known as a firmoss which contains the acetylcholinesterase inhibitor Huperzine A. It is widely distributed over-the-counter as a nootropic and dietary supplement. Toothed Clubmoss is reported to assist the user with furthering cognitive ability and reducing cognitive fatigue. Dosages for this ingredient range from 100mcg – 200mcg, so we’re good here.


Effectiveness

(8.6/10)

When attempting to accurately describe my findings in regards to this pre, one word kept coming to mind – Fun. This is a solid product in our opinion. Sure Ruthless may have a few slightly under dosed ingredients and may possess a lesser known product that does not have the most positive research behind it. But what Ruthless delivered was much more monumental. Through our entire time using Ruthless we experienced those good old “skin tearing” pumps, solid energy during and after our training and adequate focus throughout. This is without a doubt a good, tasty and fun supplement to add to your arsenal.


Taste

Melon Drop: (8.8/10)

It’s no secret that there’s a good deal of grape flavored powders out there on the market that leave the taste buds in some dismay. Iron Brothers actually delivers with their flavorful portrayal of Grape Cotton Candy. It’s most easily described as such, a tart account on the grape “big league chew” flavor from our childhood days. This was easily my favorite takeaway from using Ruthless. The intriguing flavor of this pre-workout made it very easy to gulp down time after time. 


Mixability

(9.5/10)

The serving size of Ruthless is 8.70 grams for 1 scoop and 17.40 grams for 2 scoops. Pretty standard serving size, not too much and not too little. It’s just right. it’s easily mixed with 10-12oz of water (or beverage of your choice). With the 2 scoop serving size, we were pretty impressed with its mixability.

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(8.9/10)

Ruthless can be taken in both 1 scoop or two, I highly recommend 2 scoops. This gives us 20 / 40 servings. This brings it to about $1 – $2 per serving, which is perfectly acceptable for us.

If you use coupon code INFORMANT, you get 10% off, so if you’re interested, check out the link below this review.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

40/20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Amazon Logo

$37.99

40/20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Amazon Logo

Amazon

$37.99

Iron Brothers Ruthless

8.8

Profile

8.4/10

Effectiveness

8.6/10

Taste

8.8/10

Mixability

9.5/10

Value

8.9/10

Pros

  • Focus
  • Taste
  • Increased Strength
  • Energy

Cons

  • Some ingredients could stand slightly better doses
Iron Brothers Supplements Prodigy Review: Unleash Your Inner Prodigy

Leave a Reply