Skip to main content
Kodiak NutritionProtein Powder

Kodiak Nutrition 1Whey Review: Delightful Flavor, Lean Protein

Kodiak Nutrition 1Whey

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.2/10

Mixability

9.5/10

Value

8.3/10

Pros

  • Macro Friendly
  • Easy Digestibility
  • Taste

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%

Overview of Kodiak Nutrition 1Whey

1Whey is a protein powder from Kodiak which is a WPI based protein. It is a very lean source of protein when compared to a WPC, and has some awesome flavors to boot. The macros are friendly for any goal, and the product is easy to digest and good for people whoa re sensitive to lactose.

The flavors are simply amazing, and the Chocolate Strawberry is simply “delightful”. That is really the best way to put it. The value is competitive and while not the cheapest, it is still a solid option and shouldn’t break your bank.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Kodiak 1Whey on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Chocolate Strawberry.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

1Whey is a Whey Protein Isolate product, which means it has essentially been filtered out more than your typical WPC. This has benefits and drawbacks. The benefits are that the protein is leaner, as it typically has less carbs and fat, as well as cholesterol. It also digests than WPC and is usually a good protein for people who are lactose intolerant. The drawback is that it is a tad bit more denatured, and you get less of the 

With that said, the macros are very friendly for any goal. With under one gram of carbohydrates, as well as only containing one gram of fat (depending on the version), this is on par with many other lean sources of protein out there. Of course, you get the standard 25 grams of protein per serving.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

So as always, we have to mention that this is simply a convenient source of protein. You won’t notice any extra benefit from supplementing with a whey protein. 

With that said, there are ways to judge a protein powder. You can always go by how it digests. With 1Whey being an Isolate, we experienced no bloating, upset stomach, etc.. This is no surprise of course given the protein source. So really there isn’t anything to complain about here.


Taste

Chocolate Strawberry: (9.2/10)

So we’ve had multiple flavors of 1Whey, and they all taste great. The one we will be going over today, is the Chocolate Strawberry. Needless to say, the taste is simply “delightful”. It is more of a chocolate flavor, with a nice strawberry cream type of flavor in the background. It really is an interesting flavor, and if there is one thing Kodiak/MuscleSport does well… it’s flavoring.


Mixability

(9.5/10)

InnoSupps’ Advanced Iso mixes in easy and thin. The consistency and texture is similar to, but just so slightly thinner than nonfat milk. The instructions say to use 6-8oz of water. However it’s best to use 6oz of water to get good results. Mixing with around 8oz of water can cause it to look inconsistent and watery. There will be a foamy reaction but it doesn’t prove to be a nuisance.

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(8.3/10)

You can get 1Whey directly from the Kodiak website for about $54.99. If you use coupon code INFORMANT, you get 20% off, bringing the price down to $44. For 30 servings, while not the cheapest isolate on the market, it is still priced competitively. It won’t break your wallet and may be worth grabbing to have around if you want to satisfy your sweet tooth with something lean.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

2LB

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Kodiak Logo

$54.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Kodiak Logo

$54.99

2LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Kodiak Logo

Kodiak

$54.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Kodiak Logo

Kodiak

$54.99

Kodiak Nutrition 1Whey

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.2/10

Mixability

9.5/10

Value

8.3/10

Pros

  • Macro Friendly
  • Easy Digestibility
  • Taste
Dymatize ISO-100 Review: Legendary Cereal For A Legacy Brand
Core Nutritionals PRO Review: Transparent Protein Blend

Leave a Reply