Skip to main content
Olympus LyfestyleProtein Powder

Olympus Lyfestyle Promises Protein Review: Multiple Sources of Gains

By February 9, 2020No Comments

Olympus Lyfestyle Promises Protein

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.1/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

8.8/10

Pros

  • Four Protein Sources
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Limited Flavors

Overview of Olympus Lyfestyle Promises Protein

Olympus Lifestyle, formally known as Olympus Labs, rebranded to be more of a "mainstream" brand. They were able to secure exclusive rights with Bodybuilding.com on their entire new rebrand. The company still maintained a focus on quality and formulas.

Olympus Labs Promises Protein is another solid protein from the brand. We were fans of the protein under the Olympus Labs name, but Promises picks up where they left off. There is a new protein source blend, but Promises packs in solid flavors and quality protein to make this a must-try in terms of protein.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Olympus Lyfestyle Promises Protein on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Fruity Cereal, Cinna Cereal and PB Crunch.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in the directed amount of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We used the official shaker cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker Cup.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)Promises Protein Label

Olympus Lifestyle does a great job of disclosing their protein sources to the consumer. Much like the brand of old, Olympus Lifestyle Promises Protein is fully transparent.

We get four protein sources in Promises Protein. We start with 11.5g of whey protein isolate 90. This is one of the fastest digesting proteins on the market today. The next source comes in the form of Casein protein at 6g. Casein is a slow digestion protein that engages muscle protein synthesis over a duration of time. We find whey protein concentrate 80, the highest quality source of whey protein concentrate, at 5.5g. Rounding out the list of protein sources is 2g whey protein hydrolysate 90. 

Promises Protein has two of three flavors that include “inclusions” which would be cinnamon cereal pieces or fruity cereal pieces. These will add to the carbs and ingredient list. The macros are still very attractive:

Calories: 130
Fats: 1g
Carbs: 5g
Protein: 25g

The other key ingredient we get to aid in digestion is DigeZyme. We get a total of 100mg of DigeZyme, which has been shown to help break down proteins into their simple form of Amino Acids. 

Promises Protein is also Banned Substance Free Certified by the Banned Substance Control Group (BSCG).

Overall we really enjoy the profile on Promises Protein. We did like the older blend better of whey protein concentrate 80 and casein, but this is still top-notch.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

When it comes to protein effectiveness we look at several key factors. The first being the ingredient profile. Effectiveness is generally an extension of that. We get four quality protein sources uses with multiple rates of digestion. This is a good thing. We know that the protein will be “feeding” our systems over a period of time.

The second thing we look at is how it sits in the stomach. We’ve all most likely have had that protein that just sits in a ball in our stomach. That was not the case with Olympus Lifestyle Promises Protein. The high quality protein sources, along with DigeZyme, makes for this to be an easy digest protein without any gut/stomach issues.


Taste

Fruity Cereal: (9.5/10)
Cinna Cereal: (9.2/10)
PB Crunch: (8.5/10)

We are big fans of Fruity Cereal flavored proteins. Olympus Lyfestyle uses real cereal pieces in their Fruity Cereal flavor and it is epic. The pieces of real cereal in this variation of Fruity Cereal protein is the best sized we’ve ever had. It adds to the experience and the flavor. It tastes just like a bowl of Fruit Loops or Fruity Pebbles.

Cinna Cereal is very similar. The pieces of real cereal are amazing in size which adds to the experience and flavor. It is one of the better tasting cinnamon cereal proteins on the market today. Think Cinnamon Toast Crunch in a protein shake. It’s that good.

PB Crunch doesn’t have actual crunch in it. There are no inclusions, which is fine, but it takes away from the line and the experience. This, to us, is just another peanut butter chocolate protein. There’s nothing wrong with it, it just isn’t nearly as good as the other two.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

Promises Protein mixes very well, but it is important to note that the pieces of real cereal are not going to dissolve into the liquid. If you have issues wit chunks or cannot drink real cereal pieces, then you won’t like this. Outside the real cereal pieces this mixes very well. It uses 11.5g WPI90 and 2g WPH90 which mixes great. WPC80 at 5.5g is a solid protein that also mixes well. Casein is used at 6g, which makes it thicker, but it still mixes great.

See full mixability test on video above.

Mixability test was conducted uses the official shaker cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker Cup.


Value

(8.8/10)

These are really good protein products. Promise Protein retails for $44.99 for a 2lb unit. This is higher than we traditionally see. We typically see these at $39.99. With that said, the flavors and the addition of DigeZyme does add value to Promises Protein. We would spend the money to try the protein, and once you try it you will most likely be back for more.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

2lbs

PRICE COMPARISON:

Olympus Lyfestyle

$44.99

2LBS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Olympus Lyfestyle

Olympus Lyfestyle Promises Protein

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.1/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

8.8/10

Pros

  • Four Protein Sources
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Limited Flavors
5% Nutrition Real Carbs+Protein Review: Real Food for Real Gains
Olympus Lyfestyle Jump Review: Another Solid Fat Burner From Olympus

Leave a Reply