Kodiak NutritionSleep Aids

Kodiak Nutrition Coma Review: Sleep Just Got A Whole Lot Better

By January 6, 2019 May 20th, 2019 No Comments

Kodiak Nutrition Coma

9.2

Profile

9.5/10

Effectiveness

9.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

10.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value
  • Taste

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%!

Overview of Kodiak Nutrition Coma

Kodiak Nutrition has been one of those companies I have had my eye on. They have attractive marketing and branding. But I want to know about their products. This was the first Kodiak product we’ve tried.

Kodiak Nutrition Coma ranks as one of the best sleep agents we’ve ever had. This thing is loaded. Now, it does say that it is a muscle building sleep aid, which can be debatable, but for sleep, it does an amazing job. If you’re having issues sleeping, this baby is for you!

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Kodiak Nutrition Coma on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the sleep aid supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective sleep-aid product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that sleep-aid will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Lemon Drop.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of sleep-aid products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.5/10)

Kodiak Nutrition Coma Label

Sleep aids need to have proper ingredients that are going to actually work to give you a nice night’s rest. Not just be a 5mg of Melatonin.

Kodiak Nutrition Coma starts with 2g of 4-Aminobutanoic Acid (GABA). Now, in terms of muscle growth and HGH production, we would want this to be 3-5g. In this case, it’s used as a relaxation agent to help calm us before bed. Dosages as little as 500mg can have an impact. At 2g, we are getting a good dosage for that, but just shy of the anabolic number we want to hit.

Next is my favorite sleep aid ingredient, b-Phenyl-y-Aminobutyric Acid, more commonly known as Phenibut. This is dosed at 500mg and is derived from a mushroom. The 500mg dosage is great, because too much of a good thing can be a bad thing. Beware, do not take this daily as this can be addictive.

The next ingredient is Trytophan. This is the molecule released by the body after you eat that big Thanksgiving dinner that makes you sleepy. The dosage for this is typically 500-1,000mg.

A unique ingredient you don’t see every day is Nelumbo Nucifera dosed at 150mg. This is known for it’s sedative properties. No human studies have been done to verify proper dosage.

Theanine is used at 50mg next. This is a OK dosage of this, I would like to see 100mg, but this helps reduce anxiety and relax you. A nice addition to a sleep aid.

Lastly, that ingredient Melatonin is used at 1mg. Honestly, I could do without it, but you also shouldn’t need the 3-5mg since you get Phenibut and Tryptophan.

Then comes the growth hormone complex consisting of amino acids Glycine (1,250mg), Lysine (1,100mg), Ornithine (1,000mg) and Arginine (500mg) to help with muscle growth. The nice part about this is they are not tossing GABA here and claiming it works. The amino acids work together the help repair muscles and improve HGH secretion while asleep, when your body produces the most. The last ingredient in this section is Huperzine which is dosed at 200mcg but standardized to 1% Huperzine A which would only 2mcg, which doesn’t do anything for me. I confirmed with Kodiak that it is 200mcg of Huperzine A (the label should read 2mg not 200mcg). This is a great dosage!

A nice addition to the profile is the adrenal reset complex. We stim ourselves out with all the caffeine and pre-workouts that at times we need to take care of our adrenal glands. We get 500mg of KSM-66 Ashwagandha which helps promote testosterone (adrenal fatigue can reduce test). His is a nice dosage as most test boosters only have 600mg. Choline Bitartrate is dosed at 150mg, which helps with cognitive functions. Inositol is dosed at 150mg, this helps regulate insulin levels and can improve metal clarity and reduce depression. Lastly, we get 100mg Phosphatidylserine which helps transmits messages from the brain – keeping you sharp.

Overall, this profile is stacked and loaded. I doubt you find one more complete on the market today.


Effectiveness

(9.5/10)

Do you get a solid, quality and peaceful night’s sleep? You damn right you do. Honesty, this is the biggest thing for me. I don’t expect to wake up with abs and muscles (I already have them) but I took this to help me get deep REM sleep. You definitely get that with this. You don’t wake up feeling groggy either like you would with something like Nyquil (unless you take more than you should).

My caution is don’t use it nightly. Also, figure out your tolerance on Phenibut. At 500mg it should work for most. Some supplements go as high as 1.8g of Phenibut which is INSANE.

Does this work? Yes. Is it one of my favorites ever? Yes.


Taste

Lemon Drop: (9/10)

Who doesn’t like to have a sugary flavor before bed, without the sugar? I love the lemon drinks as they are refreshing. This is a solid tasting powder in water to take before bed. Just be careful, you might want to drink more and that would be bad. It tastes just like lemon would be.


Mixability

(8/10)

This thing is loaded. It has a serving size of 11g which can be a lot for a sleep aid. You typically drink this is little water (don’t want to piss the bed). You will have some grittiness with it, but it’s not terrible. See the whole video for a mixability test.


Value

(10/10)

Kodiak Nutrition Coma retails for $50 for 30-servings on their website. It is higher on their site due to them supporting brick and mortar stores. However, we have a coupon code (INFORMANT) to save you 20% making this a $40 product. That puts it in line with some of the other awesome sleep aids out there, even cheaper than most. A solid value!

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Kodiak Logo

$49.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Kodiak Logo

$49.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Kodiak Logo

Kodiak Nutrition

$49.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Kodiak Logo

Kodiak Nutrition Coma

9.2

Profile

9.5/10

Effectiveness

9.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

10.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value
  • Taste
Kodiak Nutrition Attack Review: High Caffeine, Great Tasting Pre-Workout with Several Underdosed Ingredients
Top Tier Athletics 8-H.R.S. Review

Leave a Reply