was successfully added to your cart.
PerformixPre-WorkoutSupplement Reviews

Performix ION v2X Review

By November 5, 2017 No Comments

Performix ION V2x

Performix ION V2x
7.6

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

5.0/10

Pros

  • Effective
  • TERRA Intelligent Dosing

Cons

  • Price Point

Overview of Performix ION v2X

Performix is famous for their patent TERRA Intelligent Dosing™ Technology. Studies have been conducted on this technology and the benefit is there. Performix has rode this wave throughout their products as everyone of their products has the TERRA Intelligent Dosing™ Technology. This extended release technology makes Performix one of the most sought after brands in the industry.

Performix ION v2X is the hardest hitting pre-workout in the Performix series.  With 14 active ingredients, Performix ION v2X is a well-dosed high energy pre-w0rkout anyone would be happy with. ION v2X is not for the beginning, but for the committed athlete and bodybuilder who is looking to push through plateaus. ION v2X was able to produce an amazing workout with high energy, laser focus and satisfying pump all without having to use DMAA or DMHA. The only downfall to the product is the price tag.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Performix ION v2X on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Blackberry Lemonade.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.

Ingredients Profile

(8.5/10)

Performix ION v2X ingredient panel is almost 100% transparent. We say almost because there is one “matrix” that the ingredients are not broken out. However, we are still very satisfied with the label.​

Performix ION v2X has three different matrixes that it utilizes in this hard-hitting pre-workout: energy, neuro energy (focus) and strength.

​ION v2X’s energy matrix utilizes three different caffeine sources to give you 320mg of total caffeine.  A cup of coffee contains approximately 90mg so you are getting the equivalent of 3.5 cups of coffee in one serving in terms of caffeine.​ The energy matrix also includes what Performix calls “synergistic energy complex” which contains Theanine, Theobromine and Choline Bitartrate. You get another 320mg of this. This complex mixed with the caffeine matrix essentially promotes more of a cognitive function and increased blood flow (theobromine).

​The neuro energy matrix contains Teacrine at 50mg. Teacrine has been proven to increase energy and focus without the crash. You also get 50mg of Alpha GPC which is proven to increase your memory, thinking and learning aka cognitive functionality. This isn’t a high dosage of Alpha GPC but depending on your body’s reaction could be sufficient for you. It is also becoming very popular in the nootropic industry.

​Lastly you get a strength matrix which contains three popular ingredients. You get 3.2g of CarnoSyn Beta Alanine. The vast majority of pre-workouts contain Beta Alanine and this is dosed very well. You get 6g of L-Citrulline Malate 2:1 ​which we are a fan of the 6g in any pre-workout. Lastly you get 1.5g of Betaine Anydrous which studies show to increase strength output. This is not the highest dosage of Betaine Anydrous we’ve seen but sufficient for most lifters. All three of these ingredients are dosed well.

Performix ION V2x label

Effectiveness

(8.5/10)

Performix ION v2X, to us, was very effective. The energy kick was noticeable within the first 20-minutes of ingestion of one serving. To speak to the TERRA Intelligent Dosing™ Technology, which is essentially an extending release technology, we believe it is true. Unlike some pre-workouts where you get that big energy kick at the beginning but then it fades quickly and you crash, you don’t get that with ION v2X. We did notice that the energy was sustained throughout the lift (minimum of 50 minutes). It was a very clean feeling energy.

The neuro energy matrix aka focus was on-point. This is always our favorite part of the pre-workout. The traditional use of Choline Bitartrate is good, but the addition of Theacrine and Alpha GPC really help elevate this pre-workout.

Although there is not technically a “pump” matrix to this pre-workout you do get a good pump with the use of Theobromine and L-Citrulline Malate. The Betaine Anydrous combined with the pump elements does allow you to leep pushing through the weights before you hit complete exhaustion.

Taste

Blackberry Lemonade: (8/10)

Who would have thought they’d see a Blackberry Lemonade flavor in this category? Maybe we haven’t tried enough pre-workouts but ION v2X Blackberry Lemonade is great tasting. It is actually a little sweet tasting as well. This was something we were not familiar with because most pre-workout supplements are more tart or bitter, not Performix ION v2X. We were a fan of this flavor. They also make it in Cherry Lime Slush, Patriot Pop and Rainbow Candy.

Mixability

(8/10)

There was not much of an issue with mixability of ION v2X. We tend to always test mixability in 6-8oz of water. That’s exactly what we did here with this as well. You’ll get minimal residue but still some. This may just come with the territory on the pre-workout category.

Value

(5/10)

Performix ION v2X is a great product. Don’t get us wrong. We loved it. We loved the effectiveness of it. We love the ingredient panel. The one area in which we did not love was the price tag. The Performix brand is only available at limited locations online and in-personal. The container we had was a 35-serving pre-workout. This is awesome. The price tag on this, at the normal price, is $69.99. This means you are paying $2 per serving. This makes it one of the most expensive pre-workouts on the market.

We have reviewed other pre-workouts that have been very good but came in less than this per serving. We understand you’re going to pay for for their patent release technology and a clean label. If this was priced around $1.50-$1.60 per serving I don’t think we’d have much of an issue.

  PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

Check Price

Leave a Reply