Skip to main content
5% NutritionCycle SupportMuscle BuildersTestosterone Boosters

5% Nutrition Post Gear Review: Post Gear For Post Cycle

5% Nutrition Post Gear

8.8

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Ingredients
  • Effective
  • Value

Cons

  • Might be better used post cycle

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%!

Overview of 5% Nutrition Post Gear

5% Nutrition emerged in the supplement industry behind the face of Rich Piana. Following Rich’s death, it was questionable of the route the supplement company would take. However, they are back stronger than ever bringing new and innovative products to the industry.

Post Gear is a pretty comprehensive OTC post cycle therapy formula that is intended for someone coming off a super supplement cycle. We are getting efficacious dosages of several ingredients that can work to improve testosterone levels, control estrogen, and rejuvenate your liver. While we do have a few ingredients that we would like to see dosed a bit higher, the profile as a whole is pretty solid.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed 5% Nutrition Post Gear gains on 3 categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the cycle support supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective testosterone boosting product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that cycle support supplement will be.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile and effectiveness in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of cycle support products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.5/10)

5% post gear label

Post Gear by 5% nutrition is a post-cycle recovery aid that is meant to help your hormones healthily bounce back after running super supplements. We have 3 different complexes that will aid in testosterone production, estrogen control, and liver support. Let’s break these down and take a look at the ingredients each includes.

We will start with the “Testosterone Boosting Complex”. The first ingredient is D-Aspartic acid at 3,120mg which is used to improve natural test levels. We like seeing this ingredient dosed above 2,000mg so we are good here. Longjack Extract (Eurycoma Longifolia) is used at 300mg for its anti-estrogenic properties and for its ability to possibly assist in testosterone production. 200-300mg is the clinical dose of this ingredient.

Laxogenin is a naturally occurring steroid found in plants that promotes plant growth and vitality. Laxogenin is non-hormonal, meaning it does not affect natural hormone levels in the human body, even though 5% Nutrition claims on its website that it does. There are some animal studies that show an increase in muscle mass, strength and resistance to fatigue with Laxogenin supplementation. We typically see this ingredient dosed around 100mg per day in the average muscle builder, and we are getting 50mg here.

Next up is the “Estrogen Control Matrix”. We start off with 500mg of Brassaiopsis Glomerulata which comes from a tree in Vietnam. There has been some evidence showing that there may be a few aromatase inhibitors in its leaves, but further studies are needed to establish dosing guidelines. DIM is used at 300mg for its aromatase inhibiting properties. 300mg is a good dose. Next up is Stinging Nettles used at 300mg. This ingredient is thought to decrease inflammation at dosages around 300mg per day. We finish off the estrogen control matrix with Acacetin which is thought to possibly work to reduce aromatase, an enzyme that is key to the synthesis of estrogen.

The next category is the “Liver Support Complex”. The first ingredient is Milk Thistle which has tons of research supporting its liver therapeutic abilities. We are getting 200mg here and we would like to see this ingredient dosed a little higher if the goal is liver recovery after a super supplement cycle. Artichoke leaf extract is used at 50mg for its ability to possibly reduce liver enzymes and also provide a positive effect on your cholesterol profile. The suggested doses start at 320mg according to the studies and range all the way up to 6,000mg per day. We are way under that here.

Finally, we have 5mg of BioPerine® which is used for absorption purposes. We are getting an acceptable dose of this ingredient.

Overall, we have a solid selection of ingredients. Most of them are dosed appropriately, but we would like to see the Milk Thistle and Artichoke Extract dosed a bit higher.


Effectiveness

(8.5/10)

The purpose of a PCT is to get your body’s hormones back in line after you come off a cycle of super supplements. Obviously, this is an OTC version of a PCT, which is definitely better than not doing any sort of PCT at all. I was not coming off of a cycle while I used this, but wanted to use the PCT to see if it increased libido and sexual drive, along with muscle recovery.

I felt like this product may have contributed to an increase in sex drive and muscle recovery during the time I used it. There are just so many factors that contribute to these things, it is extremely difficult to determine the effectiveness without getting actual blood work. I would recommend this product for someone who is coming off a cycle of super supplements or a pro-hormone. I feel that it would provide much more benefit in that case, rather than someone who is all natural.


Value

(9.5/10)

This is one of the most comprehensive PCTs we have seen. We’ve reviewed others here that have similar properties and a similar price but this one definitely competes with the best. We like the way it is broken down into separate complexes so the consumer knows exactly what this product is intended to be used for. Even though we would like to see a few of the dosages a little higher, we are getting a pretty comprehensive product here with 5% Nutrition’s Post Gear.

Overall, based on the items we have discussed in this review, we feel that the price tag of $50 is completely justifiable. Your long-term hormone and liver health are essentially priceless. We will definitely be adding this to our pharmaceutical PCT the next time we come off any cycle. By using the code INFORMANT, you can save 10% on Post Gear.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

5% Nutrition

$49.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

5% Nutrition

$49.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

5% Nutrition

5% Nutrition

$49.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

5% Nutrition

5% Nutrition Post Gear

8.8

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Ingredients
  • Effective
  • Value

Cons

  • Might be better used post cycle
5% Nutrition Launches Kill It As Part Of New Legendary Series
5% Nutrition Joint Defender: Think Longterm With Your Joints

Leave a Reply