Food & DrinkRedCon1

RedCon1 Total War RTD Review: The Best RTD Pre-Workout Available

By February 17, 2019 May 22nd, 2019 No Comments

RedCon1 Total War RTD

9.1

Profile

9.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Fully Dosed
  • Trasnparent Label
  • Taste
  • Smooth
  • Value

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%

Overview of RedCon1 Total War RTD

RedCon1 has been dominating the sports nutrition space with clever innovation and massive distribution. They continued their efforts with the launch of their Total War RTD.

Can we say the war is officially over on energy drinks? Well, Total War RTD isn't just an energy drink, it is literally a full-dosed pre-workout that is ready-to-drink. The label is so impressive that they were able to put all of that in one bottle, while having great taste and no grittiness. If you are truly in the market for a grab-and-go pre-workout, or just want an extra pick-me-up, grab this over the others as it is a fully disclosed, fully dosed beverage. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed RedCon1 Total War RTD on four categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in this energy drink.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective energy drink will use several beneficial ingredients that is just more than caffeine and sucralose. 

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: variety pack.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness and taste in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of energy drinks on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.5/10)

Total War RTD label

If you look at RedCon1 Total War RTD label as a pre-workout, there are things we could say we wished we had. If you look at Total War RTD label as an energy drink, you damn near crap your pants at all the stuff you get! We need to look at it from both perspectives. In terms of an energy drink, this is a solid 10. We haven’t had one energy drink that is this loaded with a fully transparent label. If we look at it from a pre-workout standpoint, this would be a 7.5 because it is a standard pre.

The fact that they were able to put all of this in one bottle is crazy to me. This is why we will lean more toward the energy drink score versus the pre-workout score.

We start with 6g of Citrulline Malate. This is gong to be 4g of Citrulline to 2g Malic Acid. This helps improve blood flow and the pump. This is effectively dosed. Along the lines of pump, we also get 1g of Agmatine Sulfate. This is the precursor to nitric oxide in the body. At 1g we are dosed where we want to be. We also get 25mg of CocoPhenols. This has been shown to decrease blood pressure and widen blood vessels for improved pump.

Strength and endurance is hit on in Total War RTD too. We get 3.2g Beta-Alanine. This is the accepted dosage of Beta-Alanine. This helps prolong endurance. We also get 1g of Taurine. Taurine helps regulate electrolytes to increase output and strength.

For energy, we get a total of 400mg. We have two forms. The first is 300mg of Caffeine Anhydrous. This is the fast hitting caffeine. The second is DiCaffeine Malate at 100mg. This is a caffeine that take a bit longer to kick in. Collectively you should have a nice prolonged energy.

The only two ingredients missing from the RTD version vs. the powder version are AMPiberry and Naringin. We also don’t get BioPerine, but that’s for absorption. We are told the reason they were left out was due to taste and the mixability factor. 

This is a very impressive label for a RTD energy drink, and still impressive for a pre-workout.


Effectiveness

(8.5/10)

I would use my Total War RTD as an energy drink versus a pre-workout. I do this because I am more about the all-in pre-workouts featuring the many pillars of a pre-workout. As a pre-workout, this would work just fine, it just wasn’t for me as a pre-workout. I used it more as an energy drink. I needed an afternoon pick-me-up I wanted something that I knew what I was getting. This isn’t a prop blend or a bunch of sugar water. This is a fully dosed beverage that can double as a pre-workout, no problem. 

You get great energy (at 400mg you should) and you do feel a bit of the Beta-Alanine. The addition of Taurine, Citrulline and Agmatine would contribute to a pretty solid workout should you use these for that. 

Big fan.


Taste

Grape: (9/10)
Orange Crush: (9.5/10)
Sour Gummy: (9/10)
Rainbow Candy: (8/10)
Green Apple: (7.5/10)
Strawberry Mango: (7.5/10)

I just have to say I was not expecting these to taste this good. They all were very good. I am not a fan of grape normally, best grape beverage I have ever had. The Orange Crush was my favorite, followed by Grape and Sour Gummy. Rainbow Candy was OK, but not as much candy to it as I thought it would be. Green Apple and Strawberry Mango were still very good, I just didn’t like them as much as the top ones.

Also, I was shocked how smooth this was. Very impressed!


Value

(9.5/10)

If you look at some energy drinks on the market, they retail for $35 for 12. These are the same, but these are fully dosed and fully loaded. You also have to understand that you are paying for convenience. These are really grab-and-go. No bullshit. For 12 at $35, it is less than $3. While other energy drinks are $3 per in a prop blend with nothing in it, these blow those out of the water in terms of value. 

I would still rather make my own pre-workout, but if you are in the need for a quick RTD, this is the one to grab.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

1 CASE

FITNESS INFORMANT EXCLUSIVE DEALS

RedCon1

$34.99

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%!

PRICE COMPARISON:

RedCon1

$34.99

1 CASE

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

$34.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

$34.99

25-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$39.99

Save 5% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$39.99


A1Supplements Logo

RedCon1 Total War RTD

9.1

Profile

9.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Fully Dosed
  • Trasnparent Label
  • Taste
  • Smooth
  • Value
RedCon1's B.A.R. Protein Cereal Bar Now Available
RedCon1 Grunt Review: A Versatile Choice for a Fasted Workout

Leave a Reply