Muscle BuildersRaw Barrel

Raw Barrel Creatine Review

By November 8, 2017 January 17th, 2019 No Comments

Raw Barrel Creatine

4.4

Profile

6.0/10

Effectiveness

6.0/10

Taste

0.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

1.0/10

Pros

  • Mixability

Cons

  • Overpriced
  • Quality

Overview of Raw Barrel Creatine

Raw Barrel is a small brand that sells on Amazon. As of this review they have four products in their bag: creatine, glutamine, BCAAs and a protein powder. They pride themselves on customer satisfaction and quality supplements.

Their creatine powder is very similar to many on the market. There are no flavors, fillers or additives in the product. The purity results suggest it is below the optimal level of 99.98%, however their amount is still higher than some of the competition on the market. They are priced higher than a lot of the creatine monohydrate products on the market, and by quite a bit. Due to this we find it hard to be able to find value in this product while competitors offer the same size with better purity results for less expense.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Raw Barrel Creatine on four categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the ingredients used in the making of this muscle building supplement. We look into each ingredients effective use and determine if it was a quality selection for the product.

We then look at effectiveness. This is generally an extension of the profile and dosage section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

We then look at taste of this muscle-building supplement. We were able to try out: Unflavored.

Mixibility is next. How well does this muscle building supplement mix in 8-12oz of water?

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of muscle building supplements on the market.

Ingredients Profile

(6/10)

It is hard to screw up a Creatine Monohydrate product unless your purity isn’t there. Creatine should have a purity test results of 99.98%. Raw Barrel’s Creatine Powder test results, as of 3/20/17, came in at 97.85%. This is below the 99.98% that we want to see. However, this is higher than a lot of the creatine powders you will find on the market today. We are happy they released these results to us. We would like them to bring that purity up a bit higher to get a better rating in profile.

Raw barrel creatine label

Effectiveness

(6/10)

It’s hard to tell the effectiveness of a creatine monohydrate powder. You don’t get that instant feel as you do with a pre-workout powder. With BCAAs you might get DOMS relief, but with creatine you really don’t get much. It is very hard to tell if this was effective, but with the profile dosage being higher than some of the competition you’d think it was effective in doing what it is supposed to do. If you’re not sure what creatine is supposed to do, check out our complete guide on creatine.

Taste

Unflavored: N/A

Due to this product being unflavored, we are unable to grade it on taste.

Mixability

(9/10)

I would typically mix this with my post-workout protein shake. It mixed very well with the protein. For the purpose of this review I decided to mix it alone and it mixed just fine. This is do to it being micronized.

Value

(1/10)

Creatine is considered a “commodity” in the sports nutrition industry. This means that it is a item that is cheap to produce and should be cheap to buy. With Raw Barrel you are getting 500mg of creatine monohydrate for close to $28. You can buy other branded creatine monohydrates in the same size, 500mg, for less than $15. We checked the purity results of one of the 500mg creatine monohydrate products listed for $14.99 and it came in at 99.29% which is more than a full percentage point higher than Raw Barrel. If Raw Barrel wants to charge over $25 for 500mg then they need to have some added value. Other companies can produce creatine cheaply, sell it to the consumer at a low cost and still maintain purity results.

Available at these Fitness Informant approved retailers:

  PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

Check Price

Gold Star Performance Products Level Up Review
REPP Sports R-PCT Review: A Value Play PCT

Leave a Reply