Muscle BuildersRedCon1

RedCon1 MOAB Review: Ingredients and Dosages For Muscle Gains

By September 9, 2019 No Comments

RedCon1 MOAB

8.8

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.2/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • Transparent Label
  • 3 Forms Creatine
  • Taste
  • Value

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

Overview of RedCon1 MOAB

RedCon1 is the fastest growing brand in sports nutrition with their industry leading marketing initiatives, but also because they do make solid products. RedCon1 offers a variety of muscle-building products that are non-hormonal designed to increase lean muscle mass.

RedCon1 MOAB, Mother of All Builders, is four ingredient supplement using proven ingredients at correct dosages. MOAB will be more beneficial for a new trainee, but it can aid in lean mass gains with just about anyone. If you are new to training, or looking to add a muscle potential unlocking agent, MOAB from RedCon1 would be a nice choice.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed RedCon1 MOAB on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of ingredients used, the dosages and other ingredients involved in the making of this powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A muscle builder will be effective if it uses proper dosages of well-studied ingredients. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Cherry Lime.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of creatines and muscle-builders available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

RedCon1 MOAB Label

RedCon1 has chosen to include some very promising (and also not so very cheap) ingredients in their “Mother of all Builders.” Let’s get right to the point and start breaking down this label.

We start off with HMB (β-Hydroxy β-Methylbutyrate). You may not have heard of this ingredient before, but it has become popular as more research has come out supporting its role in slowing muscle protein breakdown and also in its ability to increase protein synthesis. The human body is able to make a small amount of HMB by breaking down and converting a portion of the leucine you consume in your diet. However, only about 5% of the leucine you consume is broken down and turned into HMB. Studies have shown that the sweet spot for HMB supplementation is around 3 grams per day. With adequate daily supplementation, we could notice increases in lean body mass, increased endurance, and improved muscle recovery abilities. RedCon1 has included the clinical dose of 3g, so we are good to go here.

Next up we have HICA (Alpha-Hydroxy-isocaproic acid), which has gained recent popularity in the dietary industry over the last several years. HICA is a metabolite of leucine, just like HMB. These metabolites of leucine have shown to be promising agents in reducing catabolism and increasing anabolism when supplemented with daily. The main benefits of HICA supplementation are increasing muscle protein synthesis (which leads to overall muscle growth) as well as enhancing recovery ability. Research has suggested that we should be getting a dose of between 1-2g of HICA. We are getting a full gram of HICA here so this one gets a thumbs up.

Epicatechin is a bioactive compound that is classed as a flavanol. It can be found in trace amounts in several different foods including dark chocolate, teas and various berries. Research has proven Epicatechin to be a promising sports supplement because of its ability to increase nitric oxide levels in the body, and also inhibit the production of Myostatin. Myostatin is responsible for regulating/suppressing muscle growth, unlike its counterpart Follistatin which promotes muscle growth. These two proteins have an inversely proportional relationship. Therefore, if Epicatechin can successfully inhibit the production of Myostatin, it will upregulate the production of Follistatin ultimately leading to more muscle growth. The acceptable dose is around 200mg. We are getting 300mg here so we are happy.

Finally, we have 50mg of Astraginä. This is a key addition, as it will help with absorption and your body’s ability to put the ingredients to use. This is a great dose of AstraGin.

Overall, we have 4 great ingredients that are all dosed generously. The dosages are right in line with the research. It would be wise to supplement with a form of Creatine while using this product. RedCon1 could have chosen to include 5 grams or so of something like Creatine Monohydrate, but it is understandable that they didn’t since Creatine is often times found as a standalone product. Not to mention the fact that gastric distress caused by Creatine is a common symptom for some people, which could be another reason RedCon1 decided to pass it up.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

The effectiveness of MOAB really is an assessment of the profile of ingredients. With HMB increasing protein synthesis and slowing muscle protein breakdown, alongside Epicatechin and its ability to inhibit Myostatin we have a pretty solid base here. HICA is also clinically dosed and is accompanied by promising research denoting its ability to create a more anabolic environment while enhancing recovery. RedCon1 developed an intelligent profile that could create some impactful changes in your physique and your body’s ability to build/retain muscle.

It has to be mentioned that you will not experience huge gains from using over-the-counter muscle building supplements such as this one. In no way should you compare these supplements to anabolic steroids or even think that they could possibly have the same effect. You have to be realistic in your approach with these types of products and understand that they are supplementing your bodybuilding/training lifestyle. “Muscle Builders” are much less impactful than the basics such as a good diet and training hard.


Taste

Cherry Lime: (9.2/10)

This is a really delicious flavor. You really get that cherry flavor at first with the lime on the backend. The two distinct flavors fit very well together. I actually enjoyed, and looked forward to drinking my daily serving while I was testing this product. It tastes just like you would expect it to. There is no chemical taste whatsoever. RedCon1 did a great job with this flavor.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

We had a great experience with the mixability aspect of this product. It typically would take only a few shakes and you would have a nicely mixed solution. After sitting for a few minutes, there may be a slight bit of settlement at the bottom of your shaker, but this is understandable. Overall, it is a very smooth drinking product. No major complaints here.

Check out the video for a demo on mixability.


Value

(8.0/10)

Here, we are getting a 30-serving product for a total price of $65. Of course, this seems like a steep price at first glance, but you have to consider what you are actually getting. This ingredient profile is not exactly cheap, so a $30 price tag just wouldn’t make much sense. We are getting 4 quality ingredients that have scientific backing for their ability to increase lean muscle mass. As a consumer you have to determine whether or not this supplement will be a beneficial addition to your supplement arsenal. Don’t forget that using discount code INFORMANT, will save you 10% bringing the price to just under $60.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

$64.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

$64.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

RedCon1

$64.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

RedCon1

$64.99

RedCon1 MOAB

8.8

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.2/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • Transparent Label
  • 3 Forms Creatine
  • Taste
  • Value
RedCon1 Gym Coming This October
RedCon1 Launches Alcohol Inspired Total War Flavors

Leave a Reply