Controlled LabsNootropics

Controlled Labs Gamer Up Review

By November 23, 2018 January 17th, 2019 No Comments

Controlled Labs Gamer Up

8.6

Profile

8.0/10

Effectiveness

7.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.5/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Value
  • Profile

Overview of Controlled Labs Gamer Up

Sometimes, many of us lifters forget that there are other industries out there that exist. Some of them also use supplements to enhance their performance. Today, we are going to take a look at a product marketed towards gamers. The gaming industry is an absolute monster these days, and is a giant when compared to the fitness industry.

While supplements tend to target people who want to lose weight or build muscle, some are simply there to enhance your focus/alertness. Enter Gamer Up from Controlled Labs. While G-Fuel seems to dominate the market for gamers trying to up their focus while they play, most of us who have experience with supplements will know that it’s pretty much just a on-transparent nootropic with a mild dose of caffeine. Gamer Up comes at you with a fully-disclosed nootropic blend, and a great taste to boot. While it isn’t perfect as far as the profile goes, it gets many things right.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Controlled Labs Gamer Up on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the nootropic, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Bubble Gum.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of nootropic products on the market.

Ingredients Profile

(8/10)

To start, we have a very popular ingredient, Taurine. Here we have 2 grams of taurine, which is a solid dose. Taurine in combination with caffeine can increase alertness.

Like most nootropic products out on the market, they utilize L-Tyrosine, which is a proven to help with alertness, as well as improving memory. You get 2 grams in Gamer Up, which is more than you find in many other products.

Lion’s Mane, which is a mushroom has also been added to this. It has been gaining in popularity for its potential to increase focus, reduce anxiety and depression, and be beneficial for overall health. Here you get 500 mg, which is a fair dose.

Next up, we have Bacopa. Bacopa is one of the most underrated herbs on the market. It is used in ayurvedic medicine. Bacopa has some pretty good research proving it to be beneficial for mental cognition, as well as reducing anxiety. Most of these benefits come after long-term use, so it may be worth having a bacopa supplement to take on days you don’t use Gamer Up.

What good would an energy drink be without caffeine? Not much to note on caffeine here, as we all know the benefits of it. Here we get 125 mg, which is more than a Red Bull, and less than a Monster. The effectiveness of caffeine can really depend on the user, as we all have different tolerances.

Alpha GPC, which is a form of choline that has become very popular in recent years, especially when it comes to nootropics. Here you only get 100mg, which is on the low side. I would have no problem giving this a high rating if it were dosed at or above 600mg.

Lutein is a very popular supplement for people who want to support their eye health and prevent eye diseases. Here we have 500 mcg, which is very low.

To end this, we have Huperzine A, which is very popular in nootropic supplements. To make it simple, is prevents choline from breaking down, thus prolonging the effects of choline. Here we have a 2 mcg dose, which is also very low.

Controlled Labs Gamer Up Label

Effectiveness

(7.5/10)

As usual, this is the most important part of the review. Did Gamer Up deliver? Well it all depends on how you use it. If you’re using it to game, it will give you a nice energy boost and perhaps a nice jump in alertness. I played both Fortnite and CoD:BO4 while on this, and there there was always an increase in my performance. I’m no pro or anything like that, but I increased my K/D and W/L ratio on both everytime I took Gamer Up.

It shined for me at the most as a pre-workout. As a standalone, it’s a little better than simply drinking an energy drink, especially with the extra tyrosine and taurine. You won’t get much support as far as pump or strength aspects are concerned, but in conjunction with a stim-free pump supplement it is works very well. It’s not a stim-bomb, but unless you’re caffeine sensitivity is higher than it should be, you’ll get a nice boost throughout your workout or gaming session. With the caffeine being a bit lower, so you’re less likely to crash after the effects wear off.

For focus, I noticed perhaps a slight increase, but nothing that made me feel like I was taking something like Focus XT.

Taste

Bubblegum: (9/10)

Bubblegum is a very enjoyable, and unlike other supplements, masks the ingredients well without being too sweet. Controlled Labs NAILED the bubblegum flavor, and you won’t confuse it with anything else.

One thing to note is that there is a slightly chalky texture to it, but nothing that ruins it. In fact, it’s almost unnoticeable, but worth mentioning.

Mixability

(9.5/10)

Gamer Up mixes very well. There is very slight foam on the top after vigorous mixing, but it is barely noticeable. There maybe a little amount of sediment floating around, which we assume is the Lion’s Mane. It isn’t noticeable however, and there is little to complain there.

Value

(9/10)

You can find Gamer Up for as little as $22.99 for 30 servings. So about 76 cents per serving. This is fair for a product like this. With full disclosure and the solid dosage of tyrosine, this is well worth the price. It’s worth keeping around as a simple energy drink on its own, as it’s cheaper than a Monster or Red Bull.

  PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

See Store for Price

Apollos Hegemony Brain Fuel V2 Review: A Nootropic With Promise, But Needs More Studies
SNS Foxus XT Review

Leave a Reply