Skip to main content
MuscleSportNootropics

MuscleSport Flow State Review: A Nice Balance of Energy and Focus

By January 10, 2022No Comments

MuscleSport Flow State

8.9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.1/10

Taste

8.4/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

9.1/10

Pros

  • Good selection of nootropics
  • Good stim blend
  • Value

Cons

  • Some Ingredients Underdosed
  • Flavor lacking

Use Coupon Code INFORMANT To Save 25%

Overview of MuscleSport Flow State

MuscleSport has been known across the space and by customers for quite some time as being flavoring gurus. Their Lean Whey is quite possibly one of the best tasting whey proteins on the market today, and their performance powders are also top notch.

MuscleSport's Flow State is the brand's first nootropic product that was done quite nicely. A 30-serving (while many are now a 20-serving) unit that contains key ingredients like Tyrosine, Alpha-GPC, Kanna and Huperzine-A is sure to improve your focus and concentration to get stuff done. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed MuscleSport Flow State on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the nootropic, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective nootropic product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that nootropic will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Baja Splash.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of nootropic products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

Flow State Energize is a stimulant based nootropic powder that uses proven ingredients to improve focus without overdoing the caffeine and stimulants.

Flow State SFPMuscleSport took a good crack at this market by offering a range of ingredients at different dosages. Some dosages we love, some we’d like to see improved, but together we can confidently say this product works well. The formula starts with 1g of Tyrosine. Tyrosine is an amino acid that has been gaining popularity for its role in improving clarity and focus. At 1g we are happy with this dosage.

The next ingredient is Taurine at 750mg. We typically see this at 1g minimum for electrolyte regulation and performance. Science has shown that taurine is important in brain function and development all the way from an embryo to an adult. It plays an important function in neurotransmission. We are fine with the 750mg dosage. 

Alpha-GPC, which is our favorite choline molecule, is dosed at 300mg. We are unsure if this is the yield or if this is 300mg at a 50% yield, but the usage of Alpha-GPC has been proven to improve brain function.

Acetyl-L-Carnitine is dosed at 250mg. At this dosage I would have left it out, honestly, as we like to see ALCAR at a minimum of 1,500mg for any impact to brain function. Ideally we’d love to see this at 3,000mg.

DMAE is dosed next at 250mg. DMAE is the precursor to choline which improves your ability to learn and your memory. DMAE has been studied at small dosages, like we see here, up to 600mg for improved performance.

GABA is dosed at 150mg. This is a relatively low dosage of GABA. GABA is higher dosages tends to be taken at nigh time to improve sleep and HGH in the body. At lower dosages GABA can help with anxiety and stress reduction.

Mucana Pruiens comes in next at 150mg. This is a good source of L-Dopa. L-Dopa is the precursor to dopamine which is the “feel good” hormone released by the body. Prolonged use may help reduce cortisol levels. We like to see dosage that produces 50-60mg L-Dopa. We get 60mg here with this dosage.

Rhodiola Rosea is an anti-fatigue ingredient dosed at 100mg. This is helpful to help you keep going as the days get long. This is dosed at 100mg which, per some studies, is a good dosage to fight mental fatigue.

Lastly we get Kanna at 12.5mg. This is an ingredient that can aid in a calming effect.

Regarding the energy component, we get a caffeine complex of 200mg consisting of Caffeine Anhydrous, Di-Caffeine Malate and Gotu Kola at 200mg total. This is a good dosage of caffeine that works well with the other nootropics used to improve clarity, focus and alertness. Theobromine has effects similar to caffeine. This is dosed at 100mg.

Theanine, a calming ingredient and counteracts the jitters from stims, is dosed at 50mg. This is a good dosage given the caffeine dosage. 

L-Theacrine as TeaCrine is a non-stimulant ingredient that works well with caffeine to prolong energy and improve focus. That is dosed at 25mg. This is lower than we typically see at a minimum of 50mg, but they don’t want to to overdue the stims and stim-like ingredients. 

The last ingredient is Huperzine-A at 400mcg. This is a massive dosage of Huperzine-A that has been studied to improve brain function.

Overall, this is a nice formula with a good selection of nootropics and stims to improve your productivity, clarity and mental alertness throughout the day. This would be a great coffee replacement, especially if you’re working on deadlines and against a time crunch. 


Effectiveness

(9.1/10)

Honestly this is one of my new favorite nootropic products out there. It uses a nice blend and amount of stims to make the energy long lasting, but not overbearing. The nootropics used definitely improve focus and clarity. I actually used it before writing and filming this review. It is a “calming” but “alert” product to take if you need to dial in and get shit done. This is why I use it. Some products are overly stimulated or use too many nootropics that can cause brain fog. Not with Flow State. 


Taste

Baja Splash: (8.4/10)

There must be something with these ingredients because you get the front end taste of that Baja Splash you’d expect, but on the backend you get almost an alka seltzer type of a taste. It doesn’t ruin it for us, but it was just odd overall. The serving size is 6g so there’s not a lot in it, but something like TeaCrine can be hard to flavor. We didn’t get to try the Blueberry Lemonade but will report back when we do.

Baja Splash starts out as a take on the Taco Bell/Mountain Dew Baja Splash, but it doesn’t taste exactly like it. There’s slight notes of lime, but that is about it.


Mixability

(8.8/10)

This is a small serving size at 6g. After mixing and pouring into the glass you can see some dark colored particles and foam on top of the glass. These particles are ones that are just not soluble in water. That is OK. The foam is also OK but we think that is what contributes more to that alka seltzer taste we just referred to in the section above. Nothing about mixability should deter you from buying. 

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(9.1/10)

We see most effective nootropics start out at about $2/serving. These are typically 40/20-servings for $39.99. On these we know we need to the full 2-scoop serving to get what we are looking for. In the case of Flow State you only need the one scoop serving. This is a true 30-serving nootropic formula that retails for $49.99 online. This is already less than $2/serving. If you use code INFORMANT you will save 25% dropping this price to $37.50 for 30-servings. Skip that line at Starbucks and get something that will improve your day and productivity.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

MuscleSport

$49.99

Save 25% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

MuscleSport

$49.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

MuscleSport

MuscleSport

$49.99

Save 25% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

MuscleSport

MuscleSport Flow State

8.9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.1/10

Taste

8.4/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

9.1/10

Pros

  • Good selection of nootropics
  • Good stim blend
  • Value

Cons

  • Some Ingredients Underdosed
  • Flavor lacking
Protein Peppermint "Nice" Cream
Mexican Hot Chocolate Lean Whey Coming from MuscleSport
RYSE

Leave a Reply