Skip to main content
Food & DrinkPrimeval Labs

Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Untamed RTD Review: Smooth Energy and Great Flavor in a Bottle

Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Untamed RTD

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Fully Dosed
  • Trasnparent Label
  • Taste
  • Smooth

Cons

  • Sticker Price Shock

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 35%

Overview of Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t RTD

A new trend in sports nutrition is the beverage space. You have a couple options in this space, but the two common routes have been energy and pre-workout drinks. Primeval Labs went the pre-workout route to avoid competing against the Bang's and Monster's of the world.

Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t RTD is an efficaciously dosed pre-workout RTD available in great flavors. Packed with 350mg total caffeine, 6g Citrulline and more, Ape Sh*t RTD is one of the better options of a ready-to-drink pre-workout supplement on the market today. Unlike a powder, a RTD cannot have too many ingredients at crazy doses, but Ape Sh*t Untamed RTD dose a solid job of hitting on energy and pump.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Untamed RTD on four categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in this energy drink.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout RTD will use several beneficial ingredients that is just more than caffeine and sucralose. 

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Sunrise Splash, Strawberry Mango and Gummy Bears.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness and taste in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of energy drinks on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

Ape Shit Untamed RTD Label

Unlike the energy drink category, if you are intentional about creating a pre-workout RTD chances are you will find solid doses of key ingredients. Take Bang for example, we see a lot of people drink these pre-workout. You get 300mg caffeine in a Bang but that’s about it. Now let’s use that as a reference point for Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Untamed RTD pre-workout.

We start with a full 6g dose of Citrulline. We prefer the Citrulline used here in Ape Sh*t RTD over the 6g Citrulline Malate used in other options. Pure Citrulline is the way to go to induce bigger pumps. Citrulline is the precursor to Arginine which can increase NO levels in the body thus leading to a bigger, fuller pump.

Beta Alanine is used at the clinical dosage of 3.2g. This aids in muscular endurance by buffering lactic acid. Taurine is next at a big 2g dosage. Taurine aids with the regulation of electrolytes, which can lead to increased output. An increased in total output can be experienced with supplementing with Taurine.

The energy portion of the RTD comes in the form of three ingredients. We start with 300mg Caffeine Anhydrous. This is the fast acting caffeine that we typically see in pre-workout powders. Primeval Labs also uses 70mg Di-Caffeine Malate, which yields about 50mg of actual caffeine. This is a “slower” hitting caffeine that will prolong your energy over a period of time. Primeval Labs also uses 30mg of TeaCrine (we are not sure if this is tasteless at 40% or pure). Although not technically a stimulant, but when combined with caffeine it can lead to a big improvement in energy levels.

Overall this is a solid profile for a pre-mixed pre-workout drink. Many of these drinks use the same or similar ingredients, Primeval did a good job with the ingredients and the dosing.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

You need to take RTDs with a grain of salt. What we mean by that is we will always take a powder (a well formulated and dosed powder) over a RTD. You just get more bang for your buck and overall a better experience. However, if you get to the gym and realized you forgot your pre-workout, this happens to be a good option.

The main area of performance here is energy. After consuming the full 12.5oz drink, you feel the caffeine kick-in within 10-15 minutes. The nice part about using multiple forms of caffeine is you don’t fade quickly after the initial surge of energy. The use of Di-Caffeine Malate is smart in that is allows your energy levels to sustain a high level for quite some time. The addition of TeaCrine aids in that too.

Pumps are OK. Mind you, you only gave one pump inducing ingredient, but it is s a proven one at a great dosage. We want about 3-5g of Citrulline, we get a full 6g. I would still take this with a pump to get the biggest pump possible, but you will still get a pump just by using this alone.

Endurance is there as well. The energy is nice and smooth, and the addition of Taurine and Beta-Alanine aids in this department.

The one area missing is focus. Granted, TeaCrine with Caffeine does improve focus, but something like NALT or Alpha-GPC would be sweet, however we also know it is hard to use those ingredients inside a pre-mixed drink.

Overall, solid for a pre-made beverage designed to improve your gym session.


Taste

Sunrise Splash: (8.5/10)
Strawberry Mango: (9.1/10)
Gummy Bear: (8.7/10)

It is important that RTDs have good flavors. At the end of the day, consumers are going to pick one out of the cooler based on flavor – more so than dosing (look at Bang). Our personal favorite was Strawberry Mango followed by Gummy Bear. All three we tried were good. The flavoring system isn’t going to knock your socks off, but when consumed cold they are refreshing and flavorful enough. The nice part about RTDs is you don’t get that powder residue that may impact your taste. Since these are well mixed you just get to enjoy the flavoring.


Value

(9.0/10)

We won’t like, the sticker shock of this will make you piss your pants. These retail, at full price, for $39.99 for 12. When you compare this to a pre-workout powder, you typically get get a powder for $39.99 for a 20/25/30 serving depending on the supplement facts panel. One thing to keep in mind is you are paying for convenience. With that said, we cannot image a lot of people are buying a case for themselves, but a lot of gyms will buy to stock. If you can get one of these at your gym for $2.99 each you are doing pretty well all things considered.

Now if you do want to buy a case of this, don’t pay the sticker price. If you use the code INFORMANT it will knock off 35% making this only $26 for 12-bottles. This is a good deal. You will see this reflected in the score of this. If it was just $39.99 and no discount it would be more in the 7s, but with the 35% off code, combined with our full review, a 9/10 is a great score.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

12-BOTTLES (1 CASE)

FITNESS INFORMANT EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Primeval Labs Logo

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 35%!

PRICE COMPARISON:

Primeval Labs Logo

12-BOTTLES (1 CASE)

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Primeval Labs Logo

$39.99

Save 35% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Primeval Labs Logo

$39.99

Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Untamed RTD

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Fully Dosed
  • Trasnparent Label
  • Taste
  • Smooth

Cons

  • Sticker Price Shock
Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Cutz Review: A Thermo Based Pre-Workout At A Great Price
Primeval Labs ApeShit Quick Hit: ApeShit In A Small Bottle

Leave a Reply