Skip to main content
Fat BurnersPre-WorkoutPrimeval Labs

Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Cutz Review: A Thermo Based Pre-Workout At A Great Price

By July 27, 2021August 5th, 2021No Comments

Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Cutz

8.5

Profile

7.5/10

Effectiveness

7.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.1/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Value
  • Flavor
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Addition of Garcinia/Dandelion

Use Coupon Code INFORMANT To Save 33%

Overview of Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Cutz

Primeval Labs may be one of the most underrated companies in sports nutrition. They continually put out solid products at great prices. Ape Sh*t Cutz is the brand's thermogenic pre-workout that follows suit.

Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Cutz is a 25-serving thermogenic pre-workout with 300mg of caffeine that will improve performance and increase your body temperature. It does not have 10+ ingredients, but it doesn't need too. It contains the energy aspect which compliments other stims and fat burning ingredients in the formula to make a nice fat burning pre-workout at a great price.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Cutz on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the fat burning/pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective fat burner product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that fat burner/pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Cherry Lemonade and Smashberry.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. ​See video above for the full test.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of fat burning pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(7.5/10)

Ape Sh*t Cutz labelWhen we look at a fat burning pre-workout we look for a few key area on a label: energy and fat burning ingredients. Caffeine typically works very well with other stims and fat burning ingredients to provide an effective fat loss supplement. In the case of Ape Sh*t Cutz, this also doubles as a pre-workout. In that case we look for other ingredients that may contribute to performance, focus and pump.

We start out with 3,200mg Beta-Alanine. This is one of the most popular ingredients used in a pre-workout that can aid in muscular endurance and performance. The dosage we want to see is the 3.2g used here in Ape Sh*t Cutz. This is also the ingredient that may give you the “tingles” when you take it.

For focus we get a full gram (1g) of Choline Bitartrate. This is a great dosage of Choline Bitartrate; we want to see it between 500-1,000mg. It is not as effective as Alpha-GPC but it still can aid in improved focus.

Caffeine comes from green tea in this formula at 300mg. This is more than enough caffeine for a pre-workout and a fat burner.

Garcinia Cambogia is used at 200mg. This is an ingredient with not a lot of proven research behind it. In several studies of hefty dosages (2.4g and 3g) there showed to not be any significant weight loss in the groups who took it versus who didn’t. This is a common ingredient found in weight loss supplements.

Dandelion Root Extract is dosed at 50mg. This is yet another popular ingredient used in weight loss supplements specifically for the diuretic claims. There are some studies that show it may improve the rate of digestion in rats, but again we are lacking enough evidence to make that claim confidently.

GBB is a popular ingredient used in fat burning pre-workouts. Primeval Labs uses it at 20mg per serving. GBB is converted to Carnitine in the body. Carnitine can lead to increased energy. The reasons are not perfectly clear, but supplementation of GBB does lead to increased body temperature and sweat. We like to see this dosed at 25-50mg per serving.

The last ingredient is the stimulant Yohimbe Bark Extract standardized to 1.6mg. You will typically see this between 2mg and 4mg. This is a very popular and effective ingredient used in fat burners due to its ability to aid in fat loss.

Overall the profile is good for the price tag on it. Garcinia and Dandelion are two ingredients we see a lot in supplements but without merit. We like the use of GBB, Yohimbe, Caffeine, Beta-Alanine and Caffeine. We would like to see more GBB and potentially a Grains of Paradise but again, for the price tag associated with this product this is what we would expect.


Effectiveness

(7.5/10)

We like to look at fat burners and fat burning pre-workouts on several categories. First we look at energy. With 300mg caffeine, you will definitely feel an increase in energy. The addition of Yohimbe and GBB can aid in this as well. If you do not feel energy from this supplement then you need to re-evaluate your stim intake.

We then look at thermogenisis. You definitely sweat more with the use of Ape Sh*t Cutz. We’ve used other fat burning pre-workouts where we would sweat more, but they had additional ingredients and higher amounts of GBB. For the dosages in this, we got a good amount of sweat with our cardio sessions. 

Lastly we typically look at focus and performance. We don’t expect to see much for pumps. We used this primarily for cardio, which improved focus and performance can aid in. You can feel a slight rise in focus. The mix of Choline Bitartrate and Caffeine does a nice job of that. The addition of Beta-Alanine may help aid in performance in cardio, but nothing drastic.

Overall this was what we expected this product to be. We used it as a pre-cardio catalyst and we experienced good energy and an increase in sweat.


Taste

Cherry Lemonade: (9.1/10)
Smashberry: (8.8/10)

We got to try out Cherry Lemonade and Smashberry – both were good. Cherry Lemonade is different because we are so used to Cherry Limeade. Cherry Lemonade has a nice hint of soft cherry but heavier on the lemonade which we really liked.

Smashberry is a mix of various flavors of fruits. Unlike a fruit punch, this is actually good and refreshing. Not to diss fruit punch, but this is very flavorful and fun to drink. You get notes of many fruits which we think many of you will enjoy. This is one of Primeval’s most popular flavors.


Mixability

(9.1/10)

The mixability on Ape Sh*t Cutz is really good. Per 2-servings you are getting 6.7g so it is not a big serving size, so you would expect it to mix well…and it does. You barely get any residue and only slight particles floating in the water. Check out our video above for more.


Value

(9.5/10)

Value on Ape Sh*t Cutz, and most of Primeval’s products, is solid. You can get a 25-serving container for $35. While most pre-workouts are now 20-serving and retail for $40+, this gives you more servings for less. This is to be expected as the formula isn’t as loaded as some pre-workouts on the market, but it isn’t supposed to be. If you use code INFORMANT you will knock of 33% making this $22.75 for a 25-serving container. You will be hard-pressed to find a better deal than that. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Primeval Labs Logo

$34.99

Save 33% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Primeval Labs Logo

$34.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Primeval Labs Logo

Primeval Labs

$34.99

Save 33% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Primeval Labs Logo

Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Cutz

8.5

Profile

7.5/10

Effectiveness

7.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.1/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Value
  • Flavor
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Addition of Garcinia/Dandelion
Cellucor C4 Ultimate Review: Big Boys Making Big Boy Pre-Workouts
Jacked Factory Burn XT Review: Simple, Yet Viable Fat Burner

Leave a Reply