Alpha LionPre-Workout

Alpha Lion Superhuman Review: The Kick You Need To Energize Your Workout

By October 22, 2019 No Comments

Alpha Lion Superhuman

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Key Branded Ingredients
  • Effective
  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Value

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 15%!

Overview of Alpha Lion Superhuman

Alpha Lion burst onto the scenes with their powerful formulas and imaginary marketing. The nice thing about the brand is the imaginary marketing is backed by quality products, including their #1 seller Superhuman.

Alpha Lion Superhuman packs a good punch with the addition of DMHA. With two forms of caffeine and other stimulants, this will be one of the higher energy pre-workouts on the market today with great pumps to go with it. If you want something for those tough days in the gym, check out Alpha Lion Superhuman.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Alpha Lion Superhuman on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Unicorn Juice, Orange Gainsicle and Hulk Juice.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

Superhuman Label

We have already reviewed Superhuman Supreme from Alpha Lion, and it did not disappoint. We can expect similar effects here with the original Superhuman, given that the only differences between the two profiles are slight dosage adjustments of the energy ingredients. 

We start off with the energy matrix. We are getting 275mg of Caffeine Anhydrous which should be more than enough to get you rolling full steam ahead. On top of that, we have another 100mg of caffeine coming in the form of Di-Caffeine Malate, which yields 74mg. This version of caffeine is used to help ward off caffeine crashes since it is a longer acting form. Next, we have DMHA which is dosed at 100mg. This is one of the more powerful stimulants on the market today, which we usually see dosed at around 150mg. DMHA pairs well with efficacious doses of caffeine like we are getting here. Lastly in the energy matrix we have 75mg of N-Methyl Tyramine, aka NMT. This is a stimulant that is known for its potential in fat burning products, but also boosts energy production.

We find a very impressive pump formula in Superhuman. The first ingredient is L-Citrulline Malate which is dosed at 7g. Citrulline is responsible for increasing blood flow by being converted to Arginine in the body, therefore increasing Nitric Oxide levels resulting in better blood flow. We like to see this between 6-8g, so we are good here. Next, we have L-Taurine at 1g, which is an ingredient that will increase cellular hydration and electrolyte balance. This is an acceptable dose of L-Taurine. Nitrosigine is used at 750mg, which creates a higher production of nitric oxide in the body and also may provide a slight increase in energy production. This is an ingredient we like to see between 750-1,500mg. Lastly, we have S7 dosed at 100mg. This is a newer ingredient and has research showing its ability to increase nitric oxide levels by 230% at just a 50mg dose.

The strength matrix starts off with 3,500mg of Beta-Alanine. This ingredient is known for the “itchy” effect it has on many consumers, but at this dose we also receive quality endurance benefits. Betaine Anhydrous is dosed at 2g, which may provide improvements in muscular strength/endurance. These benefits have been demonstrated at dosages of at least 1,500mg.

Alpha Lion includes L-Theanine at 350mg. We typically see this ingredient dosed around 100mg, so this amount should provide some help in reducing a post-workout crash. L-Theanine is a mood enhancing ingredient that often times is used to prevent stimulant crashes. On a side note, high doses of Theanine can counteract stimulants, this is a high amount but from our experience it did not take away from the stimulant impact. 

The final ingredient is BioPerine (Black pepper extract) at 10mg. This product is used to improve absorption.

Overall, this is a very well-balanced formula that should provide high energy production alongside a nice solid pump. 


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

As mentioned above, this is a very well balanced pre. We definitely get the energy factor with the addition of DMHA, but also the pump that accompanies is noteworthy. The downside of a DMHA based pre-workout is that it really shouldn’t be used on a daily basis. It could be a good strategy to use a pre-workout like this for bigger body part days (back, legs) when you really want an energized kick in the ass.

The energy and focus factor really start to kick in about 15-20 minutes after consumption. It is not overpowering, but it is more than enough to prep you for the workout. DMHA and Caffeine Anhydrous are both fast acting stimulants so they begin stimulating your CNS shortly after you finish drinking.

The pump factor was very impressive for this product. When a pre-workout has the number of stimulants as this one, it also needs an adequate amount of pump inducing ingredients to combat stimulant’s vasoconstriction effects. Between S7, Nitrosigine, and L-Citrulline you are going to get a good pump. We love seeing the S7/Nitrosigine combo, as our reviewers have noticed great results from it.

The endurance and strength aspects are pretty good. We typically find that there is a lot of carryover from the energy aspect of a strong profile like this one. With the efficacious dose of beta-alanine alongside the increased blood flow, we are good to go here.

This pre-workout has definitely became one of our go-to here at FI. It is very balanced and Alpha Lion did a great job when it came time to choose ingredients. This one will not disappoint.


Taste

Orange Gainsicle: (8.5/10)
Unicorn Juice: (9.5/10)
Hulk Juice: (9.0/10)

The Orange Gainsicle flavor was like an orange popsicle flavor. It was very impressive. It is not too sweet, but it is definitely on the sweeter end of the scale. You get a strong hint of orangey sweetness. Alpha Lion nailed this one with the flavor title, an “orange gainsicle” is exactly what it resembles.

The Unicorn Juice is one of the best “skittles” flavored pre-workouts we have ever tried. The flavor is called Unicorn Juice, and it is supposed to be a rainbow sherbet. It has a great flavor profile that is not too sweet, and is easy on the stomach. We find that a lot of these rainbow flavored products are too sweet and difficult to stomach. This one is right on the money.

Hulk Juice is their sour gummy bear flavor. It is tart with a kick of sweetness to come with it. It is a solid tasting pre-workout that gives you that candy taste you’d expect.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

We get a pretty large scoop here at 17.6g. The product only calls for 12-16 oz of water, which is definitely on the higher end. However, the product mixes almost flawlessly in this amount of water. We even tried mixing it with smaller amounts a few times and we could hardly tell the difference. There are no complaints in this category. We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(9.0/10)

This pre-workout retails for around $43 for 21-servings, but with code INFORMANT you can save 10% on Alpha Lions website. While you probably do not want to use this product daily, it is a great weapon to have in your supplement arsenal. It will definitely become one of your favorites, especially with the addition of DMHA. Even though it may be on the higher end price wise, the quality ingredients make up for it. It is not cheap to create a profile of this caliber, so we think Alpha Lion has this one priced accordingly.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

21-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Alpha Lion

$43.00

Save 15% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Alpha Lion

$43.00

Suppz Logo

$39.99

21-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Alpha Lion

Alpha Lion

$43.00

Save 15% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Alpha Lion

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$39.99

Alpha Lion Superhuman

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Key Branded Ingredients
  • Effective
  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Value
Alpha Lion Lemonardo Da Vinci Superhuman Coming Soon
Alpha Lion Jason Juice Coming October 18th

Leave a Reply