Core NutritionalsPre-Workout

Core Nutritionals Core FURY Review: One of the Best Put Together Pre-Workout Supplements

By March 22, 2020 March 26th, 2020 No Comments

Core Nutritionals Core FURY

9

Profile

9.3/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

8.9/10

Mixability

8.3/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Focus
  • Energy
  • Pump
  • Value
  • Taste

Cons

  • Mixability (due to serving size)

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%

Overview of Core Nutritionals Core FURY

Core Nutritionals has always been a fully transparent company formulating dietary supplements that work hard for the consumer. That's just what Doug Miller and company has always believed in and always will. A re-brand in 2020 also saw several beneficial re-formulations. Core FURY was one that reaped the benefits.

Core Nutritionals Core FURY is the first pre-workout on-the-market to use Pregnenolone, an ingredient used at a lower dose to boost cognitive performance. We applaud the brand for this bold move. The profile is comprehensive giving you a solid steady-state dose of energy, with great focus and a boost in pump. Core FURY may be the best pre-workout supplement released in 2020.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Core Nutritionals Core FURY on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Tropical Thunder.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.3/10)

Core FURY label

The formula starts off with a common ingredient in pre-workouts. Citrulline is an amino acid that converts to Arginine in the body, which leads to increased nitric oxide levels. It is one of the most common ingredients found in pre-workouts, simply because it works. You get 6g in Fury, which is a solid dose. Following this, Fury gives us 5g of Creatine Monohydrate. Creatine is one of the most proven ingredients the supplement industry has for the purpose of increasing strength/power output, and is at the clinical dose. We have to mention that Creatine needs to be taken daily as it is a saturation ingredient, so while it’s fine to see in here, we still recommend you supplement with creatine daily separately.

The next two ingredients are Betaine Anhydrous and Glycerol Monstearate (as GlycerSize™). Betaine Anhydrous is a popular ingredient in pre-workouts these days as it has been shown to increase power output. At 2.5 grams, it is at the clinical dose. Glycerol Monostearate is another popular ingredient, and is meant to aid in hydrating the muscle, as well as increase cell volumization. At 2 grams, you are getting a dose that should provide a noticeable effect.

L-Tyrosine and Caffeine Anhydrous are up next. L-Tyrosine is a precursor to dopamine, and it is one of the best ingredients on the supplement market to aid in focus. An effective dose is anywhere from 750mg-1500mg. You’re getting 2 grams in here, which should provide a great boost in focus. Caffeine Anhydrous follows this, and really, is it any surprise to see it in here? You get 375mg of Caffeine in 2 scoops, which is on the higher end but still not above our preferred 400mg limit. This should provide a nice boost in energy to anyone. 

Next ingredient is VasoDrive-AP®, which is a modified casein (Casein Hydrolysate) which has been shown to be good for aiding in pumps. It does so by inhibiting ACE (an enzyme that causes vasoconstriction). At 254mg, it is dosed well. Following this comes Citicholine at 250mg. Citicholine is a high quality form of Choline, and has a higher bioavailability than the more popular Choline Bitartrate you see in many supplements. At 250mg, you are getting a good amount. 

Now we’re at Halostachine, also known as N-Methyl Phenylethylamine. This alkaloid is structurally similar to ephedrine, and is a metabolite of Phenylethylamine (PEA). After this comes Huperzine A at 200mcg. Huperzine A prevents acetylcholine from being broken down in the brain, and is very commonly used for focus. It is dosed well in Fury.

Finally, we come to the most interesting choice for an ingredient to add to a pre-workout. Pregnenolone can be considered a “Neurosteroid”. Pregnenolone is traditionally prescribed to women to help them regulate their monthly cycle, and to utilize their elevated testosterone levels. It also has several animal studies showing it to be beneficial for working memory, and may elevate mood and cognitive function. This is the first pre-workout we know of that contains this ingredient, and we weren’t sure what to expect. You get 10mg at the full dose.

Overall the profile is quite impressive, and we can easily say we are quite impressed. To be fair, it’s no surprise, as Core has traditionally been known to make excellent products.


Effectiveness

(9.2/10)

We wouldn’t expect to use a product from Core Nutritionals and be disappointed. We definitely were not disappointed in Core FURY. 

Energy is one of the best components of Core FURY. At the two-scoop serving size you do get 400mg Caffeine, which is at our top tier of what we like for Caffeine. If you do not feel something from 400mg Caffeine then you must have issuers. The big thing with this much Caffeine is the potential crash, because you know you’re going to get a great energy buzz. The addition of Halostachine, an ingredient we’ve seen and loved before, aids the Caffeine is a sustained energy, making this feel different than just a Caffeine Anhydrous alone. Your energy is sustained for over an hour before you have any come down. Even then, there is no crash.

Pumps are solid with Core FURY. The combination of Citrulline with GlycerSize, Creatine Monohydrate and VasoDrive-AP ensures you have a nice pump, even with the 400mg Caffeine. Yes, you can still take a pump powder with this (Core PUMP is a solid choice) but it is not necessary. Your pump with Core FURY is better than most pre-workouts on the market.

Strength and Power output is decent with Core FURY. We already mentioned the use of Creatine Monohydrate, but we also get 2.5g Betaine Anhdrous which aids in power output. Noticeably missing from the formula is Beta-Alanine. We are fine without it being here for endurance as this is an ingredient needed daily, and quite frankly, there are better endurance ingredients on the market today (PeakO2).

Focus is a highlight of this product. If you’re a fan of DMHA products, this hits similar in terms of focus with the addition of Pregnenolone. No, it is NOT DMHA, but you are in the zone. The combination of 400mg Caffeine, 2g L-Tyrosine, 250mg Citicoline, Huperzine A, Halostachine and Pregnenolone hits just right to force you to focus, pun intended, on your lift and not the outside world.

Overall the FI staff agrees that Core Nutritionals Core FURY is one of the best pre-workouts of 2020, but also that we’ve ever used. The brand did a great job in formulating this pre-workout. With a serving size of 24.8g, you are getting a bunch of amazing active ingredients that are proven to work. Need more proof? Try it yourself!


Taste

Tropical Thunder: (8.9/10)

Tropical and “beach” like flavors are some of our favorite here at FI. Tropic Thunder is described as mango to the outside world. Core Nutritionals hit that flavor profile quite accurately. This is refreshing and a flavor we are a fan of. If you’re into mango you will like this flavor a lot. It is more sweet than tart, but again, very enjoyable.


Mixability

(8.3/10)

The only pitfall to a supplement that has a serving size of 20g+ is that mixability is impacted by it. For Core FURY, the serving size is 24.8g. The brand recommends you mix it in 16oz of water. This is a lot for most people as many consumers are accustomed to “micro-dosing” and like to take their pre-workout in as little water as possible. Even at the 16oz recommendation the fluid is cloudy with particles floating. You can feel the grittiness when you drink it, but it is not enough to deter you from using this great pre-workout supplement.

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(9.5/10)

Anytime we are talking one of the best pre-workouts of the year (and in this case, ever) we expect a higher price tag. With Core FURY you can find it from $45-$50 online. You can also get 10% off with our code INFORMANT. This would bring the price down closer to $40 which is $2 per serving. To us, that is a great deal given how Core FURY performs. When you compare it to the competitive set in the $50 range, this ranks up there on-top. If you’re looking for a highly effective pre-workout Core FURY should be a selection ASAP.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

40/20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

$49.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

Nutrition Junction

$44.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

$49.99

Nutrition Junction

$44.99

Suppz Logo

$49.99

40/20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Core Nutritionals

$49.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT


Nutrition Junction

Nutrition Junction

$44.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:


Nutrition Junction

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$49.99

Core Nutritionals Core FURY

9

Profile

9.3/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

8.9/10

Mixability

8.3/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Focus
  • Energy
  • Pump
  • Value
  • Taste

Cons

  • Mixability (due to serving size)
Core Nutritionals Intra: A Top Level Intra
Core Nutritionals FLEX: Complete, Comprehensive Joint Formula

Leave a Reply