Skip to main content
MuscleTechPre-Workout

MuscleTech EUPHORiQ Review: Embracing Innovation Once Again in Pre-Workouts

By October 25, 2022No Comments
FIt Butters

MuscleTech EUPHORiQ

9

Profile

9.1/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

8.8/10

Pros

  • Innovation
  • Cognition
  • Energy

Cons

  • Lacks Pump

Overview of MuscleTech EUPHORiQ

MuscleTech is one of the longest tenured brands in sports nutrition. Some say the brand "lost their way" along the way and moved away from innovation. In the recent years MuscleTech has gone back to their roots and put innovation at the center of their product development strategy. One of those products that embedded innovation in it's DNA was EUPHORiQ.

MuscleTech EUPHORiQ is the most cutting edge pre-workout formula the brand has done in years. It features a novel ingredient in Efinity aka Paraxanthine which gives you the benefits of caffeine but not the drawbacks. It focuses (pun intended) on nootropics and cognition over blood flow, but the results of use speak for themselves. This is one of our favorite pre-workout products for that superior mind-muscle connection and steady-state energy.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed MuscleTech EUPHORiQ pre-workout on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Icy Snow Cone.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. ​See video above for the full test.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.1/10)

MuscleTech EUPHORiq SFPOur bias lies in products that really focus on the connection between the muscle and the mind. MuscleTech’s EUPHORiQ uses a multitude of cognition ingredients to accomplish just that.

The formula starts out with 4g of pure L-Citrulline. L-Citrulline is converted to arginine in the body, which in turn promotions nitric oxide production. This will increase blood flow and aid with pumps, bringing nutrient rich blood into the muscles. A dosage of 3-5g is what we are looking for.

Beta-Alanine, the ingredient that causes paresthesia (tingling) is dosed at 3.2g. Beta-Alanine is so much more than an ingredient that induces the tingles. It buffers lactic acid allowing users to workout for longer periods of time.

Betaine Anhydrous, a performance based ingredient, is dosed at 2.5g. This can help with power output. It can also aid in muscle recovery and blood flow.

nooLVL, a patent ingredient from Nutrition 21, is dosed at the correct clinical dosage of 1.6g. This ingredient is the combination of Nitrosigine and Inositol. This ingredient was initially developed for gamers and has shown to improve reaction time as well as blood flow. Nitrosigine is one of the most effective ingredients out on the market today for blood flow production.

Taurine, an ingredient used to regulation hydration and promote endurance, is dosed at 1g. We typically see this from 1-2g in pre-workout powders.

L-Tyrosine is another ingredient for cognition. It has gained a lot more popularity in pre-workouts for its effectiveness in improving cognition. We like to see this dosed at 1,000mg, we get 500mg in EUPHORiQ.

The standout ingredient in this formula is Enfinity aka Paraxanthine. Paraxanthine is a metabolite of caffeine. When caffeine is consumed it is metabolized into Paraxanthine, Theobromine and Theophylline. Paraxanthine represents about 80% of caffeine. It gives you all the benefits of caffeine without the drawbacks (jitters, crash, etc). We get 300mg of Paraxanthine Efinity in this formula.

AlphaSize Alpha-GPC, a branded version of Alpha-GPC from Chemi Nutra, is used at 300mg. Alpha-GPC can cross the blood-brain barrier which helps produce choline in the brand and release Acetylcholine into the body. This improves memory, focus and can help with HGH production. We like to see this at 300mg.

NeuroFactor, an ingredient from FutureCeuticals, is dosed at 100mg. This is the standard and accepted dosage of NeuroFactor. This comes from coffeeberry extract (decaffeinated).

The last ingredient, yet another nootropic, is Huperzine A at 10mcg. This is a low amount of Huperzine A; we typically see this at a minimum of 50mcg, but with the use of Alpha-GPC we wouldn’t need much more.

Overall, this formula rocks for cognition. If you are one of those who like the mind-muscle connection, this, on paper, is it. Pump is OK with nooLVL and Citrulline. We like the use of Paraxanthine. There may be some miss with performance ingredients, but overall we really like this on paper.


Effectiveness

(9.2/10)

I have had nothing but great experiences with MuscleTech’s EUPHORiQ. We are very impressed with this formula on paper and at work. The big thing for us was going to be looking at the energy levels. Paraxanthine does perform as well as caffeine, and we did not experience any rapid heart rate, jitters or crash. The energy level was solid throughout the entire hour workouts we used it during.

Cognition was great. The clarity we had in the gym, the focus and the drive, was top notch. As we stated above in the profile section, we are big fans of the the use of the cognition ingredients in this formula. It is loaded. It also performs as expected, which is above and beyond many of the formulas on the market today.

Pump is OK. Obviously the use of Citrulline and nooLVL helps. That is one pathway. There are other pathways that can be targeted, but this formula isn’t for that. You still get a decent pump, but know that you may want to add a pump powder if your wallet can afford it.

Strength, power and endurance seem solid, but this stems from that mind-muscle connection. You are just in the zone. A lot can stem from a great mind-muscle connection, and endurance is definitely one of them.

We find ourselves going back to the formula often because it is that good.


Taste

Icy Snow Cone: (9.0/10)

A lot of times the flavor description doesn’t match the actual flavor profile you are getting when you drink a product. That is NOT the case here. This really does taste a lot like your sugar filled icy snow cone…without the sugar! You get the flavors of each color, which honestly we don’t even know what they are, but we are a fan of the mixture of flavors in each swig. One of the better “sweet” and candy-like flavors we’ve tried. 


Mixability

(9.0/10)

MuscleTech’s EUPHORiQ is no small serving size. The brand uses a 17g serving size filled with ingredients that have a harder time dissolving in a liquid. With that said, this actually mixes very well. You do not get any clumps. You do get some “grit” and particles from the powder itself, but overall it is not bad.

See the video above for a mixability test.


Value

(8.8/10)

Understand that really well done pre-workouts are no longer going to be 30-servings for $40 – typically. MuscleTech’s EUPHORiQ is $49.99 for 20-servings. This is the typical price we have been seeing for higher performing pre-workout powders out there. Considering this formula uses four branded ingredients, including the first-to-market Efinity, it makes sense for this to be priced at a premium. Honestly, because how well I enjoy the cognition aspect of this pre-workout, I believe it is completely justified at $50 a tub.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

20-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

MuscleTech

$49.99

20-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

MuscleTech

MuscleTech EUPHORiQ

9

Profile

9.1/10

Effectiveness

9.2/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

8.8/10

Pros

  • Innovation
  • Cognition
  • Energy

Cons

  • Lacks Pump
KLOUT PWR Karma Pre-Workout Review: Pump and Focus Centered Pre-Workout
Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Max Review: Their Best Pre-Workout Yet
FIt Butters

Leave a Reply