Skip to main content
Pre-WorkoutPrimeval Labs

Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Max Review: Their Best Pre-Workout Yet

By September 6, 2022September 13th, 2022No Comments
FIt Butters

Primeval Labs Ape Shit Max

9

Profile

9.3/10

Effectiveness

9.3/10

Taste

8.4/10

Mixability

9.3/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Loaded Formula
  • Stackable
  • Pumps

Cons

  • Price

Overview of Primeval Lab Ape Shit Max

Since we have known about Primeval Labs we have been fans. The brand went through a makeover of sorts with different packaging, but they still maintained their commitment to product quality and formulation work.

Primeval Labs Ape Shit Max is the brand's most loaded pre-workout formula of all time (and most expensive). Primeval Labs Ape Shit Max was designed to be taken by itself or stacked with their Ape Shit Max Pump product. With key ingredients like 3DPUMP-Breakthrough, Nitrosigine and S7, users are sure to obtain a helluva pump. Depending on your scoop selection, you can get up to 400mg caffeine combined with TeaCrine to give you all the energy you need without the crash. Overall, Ape Shit Max from Primeval Labs checks all the boxes and ensure you get a great workout with solid blood flow, cognition and energy levels.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Primeval Labs Ape Shit Max pre-workout on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Cherry Lemonade.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. ​See video above for the full test.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.3/10)

Primeval Labs Ape Shit Max SFPAs someone who knows formulation expense, this formula from Primeval Labs isn’t cheap. The brand combines several branded ingredients at clinically effective dosages to sure the end user gets a fully loaded pre-workout powder.

We are going to talk about Primeval Labs Ape Shit Max on a 2-scoop serving size. Taken alone, this will be the most beneficial to your overall performance.

The formula starts with 6g of 3DPUMP-Breakthrough. This is a new ingredient backed by one of the most well respected doctors in the space and an industry veteran. it is the combination of Citrulline, Glycerol and Amla extract. 3DPUMP-Breakthrough in multiple studies has been shown to improve blood flow significantly in weight lifting athletes.

The next ingredient is one of the most common ingredients we find in sports nutritional supplements, Beta Alanine. Beta Alanine is dosed at 3.2g. This aids in buffering lactic acid buildup which can lead to muscular fatigue. It’s been proven that the use of Beta Alanine can improve your muscular endurance.

Betaine Anhydrous is dosed at 2.5g. Betaine has many benefits, but the one sought most often in a pre-workout is a potential to increase power output. Studies have been shown to prove this is the case. Betaine Anhydrous can also aid in recovery as well.

Tyrosine, a nonessential amino acid, is dosed at 2g. Tyrosine is picking up a lot of credibility for its ability to improve cognition. What was once a typical 1g dosage we are now seeing turn into 2g, which we are happy about. Tyrosine can improve focus and clarity.

Taurine is an ingredient you find in just about anything now days. We get 2g of it here in Ape Shit Max. This helps with hydration and electrolyte regulation. The 2g dosage is larger than we’d typically see.

Nitrosigine from Nutrition 21 is dosed at the full clinical dosage of 1,500mg. Nitrosigine has been proven, in multiple studies, to be as effective or more than Citrulline and other blood flow promoting ingredients. 

Choline Bitartrate is used at 1,000mg. When we see Choline Bitartrate used, we do like higher dosages like this 1g dosage. Choline Bitartrate is used to improve focus and clarity.

Caffeine Anhydrous is dosed at 400mg (per 2-scoops). Users should get max energy, no pun intended, from this dosage. If you do not feel your energy improve on 400mg caffeine you may want to reevaluate your stimulant intake. 

ElevATP, an awesome ingredient that has been shown to improve your body’s ability to produce ATP, is dosed at the clinically effective dosage of 150mg. As mentioned, this is not exogenous ATP, but it aids your body to produce its own ATP. ATP is essential for performance.

S7, a combination of seven different ingredients, from FutureCeuticals is dosed at 100mg. This ingredient is used to improve blood flow and increase pumps. 

The last ingredient is from Compound Solutions in TeaCrine. TeaCrine has been shown to have similar effects as Caffeine but is a non-stimulant ingredient that doesn’t impact heart rate or cause jitters. It is used to collaboration with caffeine to draw out the impact of the energy rush without the crash. We get 50mg of TeaCrine per 2-scoops.

Overall this formula is very solid. Primeval Labs made sure to formulate a pre-workout that would provide sufficient energy components, but not going overly crazy with stimulants (in fact, Caffeine is the only stimulant used in this pre-workout). You get several branded pump ingredients as well and solid dosages of cognitive enhancing ingredients. 


Effectiveness

(9.3/10)

When we first saw this formula release we knew it was going to be a banger. It does perform very well in the gym, as well as it looks on paper.

We found ourself using one scoop of this with one scoop of Ape Shit Max Pump for even a lower amount of stim (200mg) and some additional cognitive ingredients. However, as a stand-alone, this baby performs.

Energy levels are high (we wake up at 4am) without any crazy crash. Part of that energy level does come in the form of ATP production. Having elevATP included is a bonus for users.

Cognition was good. We like the use of Tyrosine and Choline Bitartrate, but we found ourselves using Ape Shit Max Pump more to include the Alpha-GPC to give that extra kick to cognition.

The best part of Ape Shit Max was the pump you get from it. The use of 3DPUMP-Breakthrough, Nitrosigine and S7 is a pretty great equation for improving blood flow. Each of these ingredients do their part in improving blood flow.

Overall we were big fans of this pre-workout. Sometimes you see a loaded formula on paper and it doesn’t live up, this one does.


Taste

Cherry Lemonade: (8.4/10)

Sometimes it is a give and take with fully loaded pre-workout powders. Some are loaded but they then become very hard to flavor. I wouldn’t say this is the case of Primeval Labs Ape Shit Max. You get a good soft note of they cherry in cherry lemonade. It is more of a sweet cherry. The lemonade portion could be stronger – we do like a more “sour” lemon when things are labeled lemonade, but you still get the hint of lemon in there.

Overall as a flavor this is decent. 


Mixability

(9.3/10)

The instructions say to mix one to two scoops in 8-10oz of water. We did one scoop in 8oz of water. We were pleasantly surprised that we didn’t get particles floating all over. In fact, you don’t really see much of anything like that – you do, when drinking – get a little bit of the powder – but it is such a fine powder you can barely tell. Check out our mixability video above for more!


Value

(8.5/10)

On the surface this is going to seem like a pretty expensive pre-workout. For essentially 20-servings the retail price is $56.99. This makes it one of the more expensive pre-workouts on the market today. Keep in mind what you’re getting. When you look at the pre-workout product, you want a supplement that addresses energy (check), pump (check), cognition (check), endurance and power output (check). While some 20-serving pre-workouts will do an OK job targeting these areas with maybe one hero ingredient in each, Ape Shit Max has several. I will say that this is a much better deal if you can snag a coupon code, but even at full price it is still worth it as it works great.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

40/20-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Primeval Labs Logo

$56.99

40/20-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Primeval Labs Logo

Primeval Labs Ape Shit Max

9

Profile

9.3/10

Effectiveness

9.3/10

Taste

8.4/10

Mixability

9.3/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Loaded Formula
  • Stackable
  • Pumps

Cons

  • Price
Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Max Pump Review: The Best Pump Formula Without Nitrates
FIt Butters

Leave a Reply