Skip to main content
NootropicsStorm

Storm Focus Review: A New Brand with A New Focus

By November 19, 2021No Comments

Storm Focus

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.4/10

Mixability

9.5/10

Value

8.9/10

Pros

  • Calm During Gameplay
  • Energy
  • Taste
  • Focus
  • BSCG Certified

Cons

  • Some Ingredients Underdosed

Use Coupon Code INFORMANT To Save 10%

Overview of Storm Focus

Storm is an upstart brand that is taking a different approach to their supplement marketing. They have fully dosed, transparent products, but they are targeting those who want to disrupt the norm. They are going after the surfers, skateboards and "misfits" with their branding and marketing. It is kind of cool.

Storm Focus is one of their first product launches. It is a nootropic which features BrainBerry and NeuroFactor, both increasingly popular nootropic ingredients, along with proven nootropics like Tyrosine. This is above standard when it comes to nootropics and will be a good addition to those who need an increase in focus and concentration throughout their day without a massive influx of stimulants.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Storm Focus on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the nootropic, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective nootropic product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that nootropic will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Steezy Sour Peach.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of nootropic products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

Storm Focus is the first product I have seen utilize the new ingredient BRAINBERRY from BioActor B.V. To be honest, not much was known about this ingredient so we had to dive in. In addition to BrainBerry, the formula uses NeuroFactor, CDP Choline, Tyrosine and other ingredients to aid in focus.

Storm Focus SFPTo get an efficacious dose of key ingredients, this requires two-scoops. This then would turn this into a 20-serving unit. Nothing wrong with that. We will evaluate it based on two-scoops. We start with 2,000mg Taurine. Taurine is used to help regulate electrolytes. There is some evidence that it may aid in brain function. We then get 1,000mg Tyrosine. Tyrosine is an amino acid that has been proven to aid in brain functionality. At 1,000mg this is a good dosage. CDP-Choline is dosed at 250mg. CDP-Choline has been shown to improve memory and focus. At 250mg it is on the lighter side. We would like to see it at a minimum of 500mg. We would much rather see Alpha-GPC here, but understand cost is a factor. Caffeine will be dosed at 150mg per two-scoops. This is the equivalent of two cups of coffee or soda. Caffeine Anhydrous works well in a nootropic to stimulate your CNS (central nervous system) to work in collaboration with the nootropic ingredients. Caffeine increases mental alertness. Theobromine is at 100mg which pairs well with caffeine. This is similar to caffeine in that it can stimulate the CNS. Theobromine has also been shown to improve various aspects of cognition in animals and humans. NeuroFactor, an ingredient from FutureCeuticals, is dosed at the clincal dosage of 100mg. Studies have shown NeuroFactor to increase Brain-Derived Neurotrophic Factor (BDNF), a key neuroprotein involved in overall brain health. BRAINBERRY, the first time we’ve seen this in a supplement, is dosed at 65mg. BRAINBERRY is an innovative Aronia Berry extract designed to enhance cognitive performance and brain fitness. Studies show that it is effective at dosages of 65mg. Lastly, AstraGin is used for absorption.

Overall this is a good formula. We like the caffeine level. We love the addition of NeuroFactor and BRAINBERRY. The only qualm we have is the CDP-Choline but that is not any reason to not be a fan of this formula. 


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

We have had the opportunity to use a lot of nootropics here at FI. Focus is a solid one that works. Certain ingredients work better for certain people. For us, we love Alpha-GPC and Lion’s Mane, both missing from this formula, but this formula still works great without them. BRAINBERRY is a new wonderful ingredient that we continue to gather info on, but it seemingly pairs well with NeuroFactor and caffeine. You will get an increase in energy and alertness but you won’t get that cracked out/stimmed out feeling that you may get with more hardcore nootropics. The one thing we noticed is the eye control. This is a key point in BRAINBERRY but your focus and eye “performance” you can tell is increased.

Overall, this is an effective nootropic that we can see being used for productivity and for gaming.


Taste

Steezy Sour Peach: (8.4/10)

Storm has two flavors of Focus currently available, a Steezy Sour Peach and a Blue Raspberry. We did receive both but we only tried the Steezy Sour Peach. It isn’t sour, in our opinon. It is more of a natural peach flavor versus the sour candy flavor. With that flavor profile in mind, it is pretty good. There is a slight after taste (on two-scoops) that we get, not sure if that is in the flavoring or the actives. This is drinkable and enjoyable, but don’t go into it thinking sour peach rings. 


Mixability

(9.5/10)

With a 3.5g serving size and a recommended 16oz fill of water, there’s no doubt this should have phenomenal mixability. This mixed up and dissolved very well. There were only slight darker colored particles that were left undissolved. 

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(8.9/10)

As mentioned in the profile section, this is really a 2-scoop serving size to get the correct dosage of key ingredients. This retails for $39.99. At a true 40-serving you’re at $1/serving. But with it being a recommended 2-scoops serving you are at $2/serving. In relation to coffee and soda, this is actually a really good cost for something that provides more than just a caffeine kick. With code INFORMANT you will also save 10%. This is right in-line with other effective nootropic products at $2/serving that features proven ingredients with studies backing them. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

40-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Storm

$39.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Storm

$39.99

40-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Storm

Storm

$39.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Storm

Storm

$39.99

Storm Focus

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.4/10

Mixability

9.5/10

Value

8.9/10

Pros

  • Calm During Gameplay
  • Energy
  • Taste
  • Focus
  • BSCG Certified

Cons

  • Some Ingredients Underdosed
Brand Spotlight: Storm

Leave a Reply