Skip to main content
Pre-WorkoutStorm

Storm Pre-Workout Review: A Basic Pre-Workout

By December 28, 2021No Comments

Storm Pre-Workout

8.1

Profile

8.1/10

Effectiveness

8.0/10

Taste

8.2/10

Mixability

8.3/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • Branded ingredients
  • Good dosages

Cons

  • Lack of innovation
  • Price point

Use Coupon Code INFORMANT To Save 10%

Overview of Storm Pre-Workout

Storm Lifestyle is a new brand on the scene that launched with a pre-workout and a focus product. We've already reviewed Focus, and we like it. The brand has potential with their disruptive marketing and fun formulas.

Storm Pre-Workout is a basic pre-workout featuring several branded ingredients. Nothing jumps off the paper at us to blow our mind, but they use quality ingredients at good dosages to help improve your workout experience. If you want something that isn't exotic or stim heavy, this may be a good option for you.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Storm Pre-Workout on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Axe and Sledge

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Steezy Sour Peach.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. ​See video above for the full test.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of fat burning pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.1/10)

Storm Pre-Workout labelStorm came onto the scene in 2021, a year in which there were issues with damn near everything. They created a really nice Focus product and a standard pre-workout.

Their pre-workout isn’t anything crazy special, but that’s not a bad thing. The formula starts out with 4g Citrulline (Kyowa Quality). This is the precursor to Arginine in the body which improves blood flow. We want to see 3-5g used.

The next ingredient is Beta Alanine. Beta Alanine is used at 3.2g, the acceptable dosage of Beta Alanine. Beta Alanine has been proven to buffer lactic acid, which may reduce muscle soreness, but can prolong your workout through the improvement of muscular endurance. 

Arginine (Kyowa Quality) is used at 2g. We are not fans of exogenous Arginine due to the poor absorption. Arginine, in theory, is going to increase blood blow, but again, when taken exogenously it does not absorb well.

VitaCholine (Choline L+Bitartrate) is used at 1335mg. This is a focus improvement ingredient from Balchem Corporation. We do like to see this dosed between 1g-2g so the dosage is solid here. When you combine this with a stimulant (caffeine) it may improve the impact that this ingredient may have.

Tyrosine, another cognitive ingredient, is dosed at 1g. This is a solid ingredient that we are seeing used more and more in pre-workout powders.

Taurine, which can aid in electrolyte regulation, as well as potentially improve endurance, is dosed at the standard 1g.

Caffeine Anhydrous is dosed at 300mg. This is middle of the road caffeine content now, which we actually really like at the 300mg level. Along with Caffeine, the formula features Theobromine at 100mg. This has caffeine like effects on the body and can aid in energy and focus levels.

The last ingredient is AstraGin at 25mg. This is used for absorption. We would like to see this at the full 50mg.

Overall this pre-workout is very standard, which isn’t a bad thing. If you’re looking for an advanced, innovative formula this is not it, however it will work just fine for most individuals. 


Effectiveness

(8.0/10)

Effectiveness of Storm’s pre-workout is based on the individual user. With that said, you should really feel two aspects of this pre-workout in focus and energy. The thing that we noticed was smooth energy without any crash due to the lack of stimulants and the combination of cognition ingredients that carry through the workout. Your focus is good. The mix of caffeine with VitaCholine and Tyrosine aids in this.

The pre-workout by itself does lack pump. Yes, there is Citrulline, but that’s essentially it. It is our recommendation to combine with a pump powder. 

Endurance and output is middle of the road. The addition of Beta Alanine and Taurine help, but with unique ingredients out there like Peak O2 and Rhodiola, we feel this could be better. 

Overall, this is an effective pre-workout for those looking for a boost of energy and improved mind-muscle connection.


Taste

Steezy Sour Peach: (8.2/10)

Sour Peach seems to be a hot flavor lately in the pre-workout game. This one is supposed to be a sour peach. We don’t get much sour from the powder, but we do get that candy-like peach. We went into this thinking it was going to be close to sour peach rings, but we would say it is more peach ring without the sour aspect. If you’re into peach then this flavor will hit for you.


Mixability

(8.3/10)

The instructions say to do 1-scoop in 16 oz of water. We did just that for our video test (see above). This is about 1oz of water of 1g of ingredients (16g serving). Overall it mixed fairly well. There are some particles that do settle in the shaker that we discovered after pouring into the clear glass seen in the video. It was not chunky or chalky, so for the majority of people this is just fine.


Value

(8.0/10)

Storm Pre-Workout is a 25-serving pre-workout that retails for $45. A lot of pre-workouts now are 20-serving for $45-$50. We do have some that are 25-serving for $40. This isn’t as good of a value as the ones we’ve seen at $40 only because the formula lacks innovation to justify the price tag. With code INFORMANT you will save $4.50, which brings it closer to $40. It isn’t a terrible value, you can find better out there, but you can also definitely find worse. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

25 SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Storm

$44.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Storm

$44.99

25 SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Storm

Storm Lifestyle

$44.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Storm

Storm Pre-Workout

8.1

Profile

8.1/10

Effectiveness

8.0/10

Taste

8.2/10

Mixability

8.3/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • Branded ingredients
  • Good dosages

Cons

  • Lack of innovation
  • Price point
Storm Reveals Supplement Facts Panel Behind New Fat Burner Burn
Storm Focus Review: A New Brand with A New Focus

Leave a Reply