Skip to main content
Merica LabzWeight Gainer

Merica Labz Super Sized Review: A Clean Whole Foods Mass Gainer

By December 6, 2021No Comments

Merica Labz Super Sized

8.9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.8/10

Mixability

9.1/10

Value

8.8/10

Pros

  • Oat Flour Carbs
  • WPC Protein
  • DigeSEB
  • ProHydroxy P

Cons

  • Limited Flavors

Overview of Merica Labz Super Sized

Merica Labz is a brand from the mind of Doug Miller to infuse more marketing into the mix, but also not to sacrifice the quality of the products. The plan on Americana shouldn't over shadow really solid, reputable formulas.

Super Sized is the mass gainer from Merica Labz. When you think traditional mass gainers you think dirty ingredients and a dirty mass gain. Merica Labz Super Sized takes a better approach using high quality sources of carbs and protein. If you are struggling to put on size, Merica Labs Super Sized should be a consideration for your next calorie heavy mass gainer.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Merica Labz Super Sized on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the mass gainer and the overall macro profile.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective mass gainer product will use high quality, proven ingredients that don't cause discomfort or bloat.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used the more effective that mass gainer will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Triple Stuffed.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of mass gainer products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

Merica Labz Super Sized labelThis is honestly one of my favorite mass gainers in terms of ingredient deck. The first ingredient is oat flour. Oat flour is ground up whole oat groats. This is the same nutritional value as oatmeal. This contributes to the 120g carbs per 3-scoops. The next ingreidnet is a high quality whey protein concentrate. While a lot of old mass gainers would use a cheap form of whey, or sweet whey, Merica Labz elects to use WPC. The formula also contains whole milk powder which is a mix between casein and whey. These contribute to the 45g protein per serving. Merica Labz also uses organic cane sugar for fast acting carbs to restore glycogen stores. You also get real sandwich cookie pieces in this flavor.

Two unique additions are ProHydroxy P and DigeSEB. ProHydroxy P was scientifically designed to support healthy digestion of meal-replacement shakes & protein powders. DigeSEB is a patented blend of digestive enzymes that help breakdown carbohydrates, proteins and fats in the stomach.

The main takeaway here is we are getting carbs from oats and protein from WPC. 

The macros, per 3-scoops are:

Calories: 850
Fats: 21g
Carbs: 120g
Protein: 45g

Overall I like this profile. Having a MCT for fats would be a welcomed addition, but this is still top notch.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

An effective mass gainer should aid with putting on weight but also shouldn’t bloat you or make you feel discomfort. We say a lot of the times on a mass gainer that the effectiveness is based off the ingredient profile. A gainer can be as effective as you want, calories in versus calories out determines weight gain.

Overall this was a great mass gainer in terms of comfort level. We never felt bloated or bogged down from it. Digestibility seemed great with no issues in GI health from our experience. At 850 calories per serving, you would be hard pressed not to gain weight if you’re still eating regularly with your normal foods.


Taste

Triple Stuffed: (8.8/10)

Triple Stuffed is going to have more of that “cream” flavor as you would imagine. The mouth feel is great with the oat flour, but it also contributes to the experience and flavor of the gainer. To be honest, we preferred this Triple Stuffed flavor over their Double Stuffed flavor on their Patriot’s Whey product. If you like cookies and cream, with a bigger emphasis on cream, this will be for you.


Mixability

(9.1/10)

This particular flavor as real chocolate sandwich cookie inclusions so those will not mix. When you look at the powder itself, it does quite well. We mixed one scoop into 8oz of water. The instructions call for 16oz of water for the full serving size, but this gives you a great indication on how well this will mix up for you. We were impressed.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(8.8/10)

We always have a hard time on value because we would always say if you can eat whole foods, real whole foods, to do so, but this is technically a whole foods product. This retails for $49.99 for 11 servings. Each serving is 850 calories. You are getting a meal in a shake. If you think $5 footlong, you are getting a better value here. Sure, chicken and rice will be cheaper, but you’re paying for flavor and convenience here. In terms of mass gainers, this is one of the better ones on the market, and we don’t have a huge issue with a $50 price tag.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

5 LBS

PRICE COMPARISON:

$49.99

5 LBS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Merica Labz Super Sized

8.9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.8/10

Mixability

9.1/10

Value

8.8/10

Pros

  • Oat Flour Carbs
  • WPC Protein
  • DigeSEB
  • ProHydroxy P

Cons

  • Limited Flavors
Merica Labz Launches Reformulated Stars 'N Pipes Pump Powder
Merica Labz Launches Two New Flavors of Patriot's Whey

Leave a Reply