Skip to main content
C4 EnergyFood & Drink

Cellucor C4 Energy Natural Zero Carbonated Review: Natural Drink, Natural Taste

By May 7, 2019March 22nd, 2021No Comments

Cellucor C4 Energy Natural Zero Carbonated

8.4

Profile

9.5/10

Effectiveness

8.0/10

Taste

7.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Ingredients
  • Clean/Natural
  • Value

Cons

  • Taste

Overview of Cellucor C4 Energy Natural Zero Carbonated

Cellucor has been expanding their RTD game since they launched their popular C4 RTD. They have since done C4 Ultimate, C4 Pre-Workout and now the C4 Natural Series.

Cellucor C4 Energy Natural uses all-natural sweeteners and caffeine to provide a clean energy drink. Using Coffeeberry Energy and Cognizin makes C4 Natural one of the most advanced energy drinks on the market. If you like the taste of naturally flavored items you will like C4 Energy Natural. If you're not used to it, it may take some time but it grows on you.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Cellucor C4 Energy Natural Zero Carbonated on four categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in this energy drink.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective energy drink will use several beneficial ingredients that is just more than caffeine and sucralose. 

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Cherry Lime.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness and taste in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of energy drinks on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.5/10)

C4 Energy Natural Label

Cellucor C4 Energy Natural is one of the cleaner, more advanced labels you will see in the RTD market. It uses full doses of key ingredients and natural ingredients to maintain the natural integrity.

Each can contains 0 calories and 0g added sugars.

Each can contains 1,000mg of Taurine, a ingredient that regulates electrolytes for increase in endurance. This is an optimal dosage of Tyrosine. You also get 500mg of Tyrosine, a cognitive enhancing ingredient. You also get 250mg of Cognizin, a branded version of Citicoline. This is a good dosage of Cognizin, as their studies have been done on two 250mg doses per day. The last active ingredient is 120mg Caffeine from Coffeeberry Energy. Coffeeberry Energy is a unique form of caffeine from FutureCeuticals as it also helps limit waste from the coffee fruit. It still provides ample energy at 120mg.

For a sweetener C4 Energy Natural uses Stevia Leaf Extract, which shows up after Tyrosine, meaning there is less than 500mg of Stevia in this beverage.

Overall, this is one of the cleanest energy drinks you will find on the market today. We are fans of hte profile.


Effectiveness

(8.0/10)

As an energy drink you are looking for that increased sense of alertness and, of course, energy. Compared to others on the market, Cellucor C4 Energy Natural is about 1/2 or less the caffeine than the popular drinks. This, compared to them, makes it less effective, but not everyone wants 300mg Caffeine. The addition of Cognizin and Tyrosine also helps aid in focus and mental clarity, which is noticeable in this drink.

Overall I know people are going to be looking at the energy aspect since this is an energy drink, with caffeine just over the amount of a cup of coffee, this won’t be as strong as others on the market.


Taste

Cherry Lime: (7.0/10)

The one thing with naturally flavored drinks using Stevia is they have a different taste. This is not as fruitful as you’d imagine, but that is the environment with a naturally flavored and sweetened drink. The flavor was Cherry Lime, but it wasn’t nearly as good as some of the Cherry Lime(ades) we’ve had on the market today.

It does take some time, but after a few cans you get used to the taste, it just doesn’t taste as good as you’d want due to it being a natural product. Give and take.


Value

(9.0/10)

Cellucor C4 Energy Natural retails for $29.99 for 12-cans, which is inline with the competitive set. You might be thinking since it isn’t as effective and doesn’t taste as good it should be cheaper, but that is not the case because they are using full doses of Taurine and added in ingredients like Cognizin and Coffeeberry Energy. We believe the $30 price tag is fair given the clean label and the high quality ingredients used.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

1 CASE

PRICE COMPARISON:

Cellucor

$29.99

1 CASE

PRICE COMPARISON:

$29.99

Cellucor C4 Energy Natural Zero Carbonated

8.4

Profile

9.5/10

Effectiveness

8.0/10

Taste

7.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Ingredients
  • Clean/Natural
  • Value

Cons

  • Taste
Pride Foods Rice ‘N Grinds Review: The Better Cream of Rice
Raze Energy Review: The Better Tasting Energy Drink

Leave a Reply