Skip to main content
Food & DrinkPRIDE Foods

Pride Foods Rice ‘N Grinds Review: The Better Cream of Rice

By February 9, 2020No Comments

Pride Foods Rice 'N Grinds

9.7

Profile

10.0/10

Taste

9.2/10

Texture

10.0/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Ingredients
  • Value
  • Taste
  • Texture

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%

Overview of Pride Foods Rice 'N Grinds

Every now and then we come across a "functional" food brand that provides an alternative to the "big boy" on the block that is better in terms of not only taste, but better for you overall. Let us introduce you to Pride Foods. Pride Foods currently only makes Cream of Rice, an amazing carb source to fuel your gains.

Pride Foods Rice 'N Grinds Cream of Rice is the best cream of rice on the market today. Not only do you have amazing flavors to choose from, it also reduces your risk of iron overload from the "big boy," especially when you're on a contest prep. Pride Foods Rice 'N Grinds is a solid choice for peri-workout nutrition, or just nutrition in general.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed the Pride Foods Rice 'N Grinds on four categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the products.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to try Chocolate Brownie, Brown Sugar & Cinnamon, Coconut Cream Pie, Creamy Peanut Butter, Strawberry Banana and Unflavored. 

Texture refers to how well the snacks felt while eating it. Some meat snacks are chewy and hard in texture, while others are soft and moist.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of ingredients, taste and texture in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of protein snacks on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(10.0/10)

Pride Foods Rice 'N Grinds LabelPrice Foods Rice ‘N Grinds is just cream of rice, with some added ingredients for taste. The brand has several flavors to choose from.

The “meat and potatoes” of Rice ‘N Grinds is organic granulated white rice. Essentially cream of rice is ground up white rice. White rice, especially jasmine rice, is our favorite here at FI. If you think fitness, bodybuilding and health, you think of white rice. Well, why not have it ground up and eaten as a hot cereal.

As mentioned earlier, you will get sweeteners like cane sugar and monk fruit to help flavor the cream of rice flavored versions.

Cream of rice is better than cream of wheat as it is easier on your digestive system and doesn’t spike insulin as other carb sources will. When you take this product pre/post workout you are fueling and restoring glycogen stores.

The area of Rice ‘N Grinds that we are a big fan of is, unlike the “big boy”, it is not fortified with iron. You might be thinking but why? I want more iron! Really? Do you? If you’re a competitor on contest prep chances are you are eating foods already high in iron. When you have too much iron in your system you can develop Hemochromatosis. Hemochromatosis is when your body absorbs too much iron from the foods you’re eating. When you get Hemochromatosis, according to the Mayo Clinic, you can become fatigued, weak, loss of stress drive, develop diabetes, liver failure and/or heart failure. This is something no one should want.

The macros on Rice ‘N Grinds are also great. The following are the macros from Chocolate Brownie flavored Rice ‘N Grinds:

Calories: 170
Fats: 0g
Carbs: 38g
Protein: 3g

These macros make a serving prior or after a workout ideal. It is also another solid way to get good carbs into your plan.

Rice ‘N Grinds are 100% natural, gluten free, vegan and soy free. We are big fans.


Taste

Chocolate Brownie: (9.6/10)
Brown Sugar & Cinnamon: (9.3/10)
Coconut Cream Pie: (8.8/10)
Creamy Peanut Butter: (9.1/10)
Strawberry Banana: (8.6/10)
Unflavored(9.0/10)

Let us start by saying that there isn’t one bad flavor. The standout flavors to us were Chocolate Brownie and Brown Sugar & Cinnamon. They tasted “dessert-ish” which, while on prep, is something you want and crave. We remember having Chocolate Malt-O-Meal as a kid, and Chocolate Brownie reminded us of that…just a lot healthier. Many are going to love Brown Sugar & Cinnamon because it is what you think of when you think hot cereal.

Coconut Cream Pie is one of the brand’s newer flavors. It was right on. If you like that coconut flavor, which we do, you will like this. Along those lines, if you like peanut butter (who doesn’t), you’re going to really enjoy Creamy Peanut Butter. Strawberry Banana is another solid flavor for mornings, but we did prefer the other flavors more.

Unflavored is what you’re going to find to compete with the “big boy” on the market. You can then flavor it anyway you want, if you want, but you don’t have too.

Overall, love the flavors and we are looking forward to more being released.


Texture

(10/10)

If you’ve ever had cream of rice or cream of wheat you know what the texture is like. It’s smaller than grits, it is a hot cereal. You don’t need to chew it, you can just swallow. Imagine grinding up rice in a blender or Magic Bullet. You should be able to envision it now. We enjoy this texture a lot.


Value

(9.5/10)

Rice ‘N Grinds will be more expensive than the “big boy” on the market for several reasons. The first is that it is all-natural and organic. The second is the manufacture runs of Pride Foods is significantly less than the “big boy.” Also, these are flavored and do not have the fortified iron. All of these facts make this worth the money. You get 12 servings for $16; with code INFORMANT you get is for less than $15. Price Foods Rice ‘N Grinds is a must-have for anyone on prep or anyone who cares about their carb sources and peri-workout nutrition. Plus these things are DELICIOUS.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

1 Bag

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Pride Foods

$15.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Pride Foods

$15.99

Amazon Logo

See Price on Amazon

1 BAG

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Pride Foods

​Pride Foods

$15.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Pride Foods

Amazon Logo

Amazon

See Price on Amazon

Pride Foods Rice 'N Grinds

9.7

Profile

10.0/10

Taste

9.2/10

Texture

10.0/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Ingredients
  • Value
  • Taste
  • Texture
NOOB Energy Review: Drink Your NOOB away
Cellucor C4 Energy Natural Zero Carbonated Review: Natural Drink, Natural Taste

Leave a Reply