Skip to main content
Food & DrinkNOOB

NOOB Energy Review: Drink Your NOOB away

Noob Energy

8.4

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

8.2/10

Taste

8.2/10

Value

8.3/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effective
  • Good for "Nerves"
  • Focus
  • Decision Making

Cons

  • Ashwagandha Underdosed
  • Not really good outside of gaming

Use Coupon Code INFORMANT To Save 15%

Overview of NOOB Energy

Noob is a gaming ready to drink that is new to the market, and really takes a different approach than most gaming nootropics. Currently, Noob comes in two flavors and in 12oz cans. For a RTD, it has some ingredients that are dosed well, and separates itself with its high dose of Theanine.

Noob is a solid gaming product, and while it is not perfect for every situation, it certainly delivers a nice boost in energy, and is able to calm your nerves, which is important in some video games. For what you are getting, the value is fair, and while the lemon flavor can use a little boost, the Kiwi is great. Certainly worth trying out if you are a gamer yourself.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed NOOB Energy on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the nootropic, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective nootropic product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that nootropic will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Clutchin Kiwi and Citrus Burst

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of nootropic products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.0/10)

 

noob energyThe profile is actually quite impressive, simply because it is in a can. If it were a powder it would be different (still good), but due to it being in a can the profile is impressive. To start, you get 1 full gram of N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine. While we prefer regular Tyrosine in our nootropics, and NALT is somewhat controversial, we do like the dosage, as it is higher than even many powdered nootropics. Tyrosine can help with focus under stress, and it is one of our favorite ingredients for focus. Following this you get probably the most interesting part of NOOB. 500mg of Theanine! Now Theanine is added to everything these days, including preworkouts, sleep aids, fat burners… you name it.

Theanine is meant to help with anxiety, and is great at calming you down. You are getting a 500mg dose, which is much higher than just about any other product we have seen. However there is a reason for this. On certain games, what they call “nerves” can set in under intense situations. The nerves cause anxiety and can quite literally make you shake. Well, Theanine is there to combat that and help you make better decisions under those circumstances. 

Following this you get 500mg of Taurine, which can help with blood flow and hydration, as well as nerve function. 500mg is a decent dose and should provide some benefits. Following this we get another powerhouse nootropic, which is Alpha-GPC. Alpha-GPC is a form of Choline, and it has a high bioavailability. It converts to Acetylcholine, which is a neurotransmitter. It is one of the first ingredients we recommend for focus, and at 300mg, is dosed greta in here.

Of course, Caffeine is part of the equation here, and you get 175mg, which is higher than many other gaming products, but still at a solid amount and not really that high. Caffeine is a personal ingredient, so how you react to it is going to depend on your tolerance. 

Finally we have Ashwagandha at 50mg. Ashwanagdha is an anti-stress ingredient, and is one we really like here on FI. It is at a rather low dose in NOOB unfortunately.


Effectiveness

(8.2/10)

Well we were skeptical at first, simply due to the Theanine, but we have to admit, it grew on us. To start, we have to say that we would not recommend this as a midday pick-me-up. The high dose of theanine kind of makes it too mellow to notice an actual boost in productivity. However as a gaming product, it performs better than we thought it would.

Our user went through 2 weeks of playing, mostly the popular game Warzone, and his KD went up by .04 in that span, which is a lot considering how many kills and games he has played. One thing he noticed was the calming effect, and he was making better decisions as he played, especially under stressful/intense situations. By no means did it make him a pro, however it helped with decision making, which is great. It isn’t the perfect energy for every type of game, but that does not exist.


Taste

Clutchin Kiwi: (8.5/10)
Citrus Bursty: (7.6/10)

NOOB currently comes in two flavors, which are Citrus Burst and Clutchin Kiwi. We have to note that they are both not highly carbonated by any means

Citrus Burst is supposed to be similar to a Baja Blast, and it was our users least favorite of the two. It certainly has a citrus taste to it, but there are much better citrus flavors on the market. Ryan however preferred this over the Kiwi, while G preferred the Kiwi.

The Kiwi flavor tastes like a sweet kiwi with no tartness. It is very refreshing and quite enjoyable. tastes very similar to a Kiwi and they did a good job with this one.


Value

(8.3/10)

You can get a 6 pack of NOOB Energy for $18, which brings it to $3 a can. If you use coupon code INFORMANT, you get an extra 15% off. Which makes it a bit sweeter. While of course not the cheapest option, you have to consider that test are RTDs, and with such an impressive profile for a RTD, it makes sense to see it at this price. It is fair, plain and simple, and worth trying out. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

6-Cans

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Noob Energy

$18.00

Save 15% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Noob Energy

$18.00

6-CANS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Noob Energy

NOOB

$18.00

Save 15% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Noob Energy

NOOB

$18.00

Noob Energy

8.4

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

8.2/10

Taste

8.2/10

Value

8.3/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effective
  • Good for "Nerves"
  • Focus
  • Decision Making

Cons

  • Ashwagandha Underdosed
  • Not really good outside of gaming
Pride Foods Rice ‘N Grinds Review: The Better Cream of Rice

Leave a Reply