Skip to main content
Food & DrinkGNC

GNC Beyond Raw LIT RTD Review: A Great Carbonated RTD Pre-Workout Option

By August 23, 2021August 27th, 2021No Comments

GNC Beyond Raw LIT RTD

8.7

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.7/10

Taste

9.0/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Clinical Dosages
  • Trasnparent Label
  • Taste
  • Smooth

Cons

  • Not Widely Available
  • Could Do Without The Arginine

Overview of GNC Beyond Raw LIT RTD

Beyond Raw LIT is a solid carbonated RTD that has some impressive additions.. You get clinical doses of Beta-Alanine, Citrulline, elevATP, and Neurofactor… which is impressive for an energy drink. If you’re looking for a “loaded” RTD, this is certainly one to go with. While not as highly dosed as some other on the market, it holds its own very well. 

You can grab these for roughly $2.99 per can, which is the norm for many RTDs out there. The flavors are all great, and these are nice when you forget your pre-workout and need to stop by a GNC on your way to the gym.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed GNC Beyond Raw LIT RTD on four categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in this energy drink.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout RTD will use several beneficial ingredients that is just more than caffeine and sucralose. 

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Beyond Dew.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness and taste in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of energy drinks on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.5/10)

LIT contains 2 blends. The first  one is the Energy and Mental Intensity, and the other is the Pump & N.O Support. The first ingredient in the energy blend is Beta-Alanine, which is a common ingredient, as it may help with endurance. It has a lot of research behind it, and next to Creatine and Caffeine, it is by far the most common ingredient in pre-workouts. At 3.2 grams, you are getting a clinical dose. Following this you get 250mg of Caffeine Anhydrous. Obviously Caffeine is what is going to give you energy, and it is the most common ingredient in pre-workouts by far. 250mg is actually lower than the industry 300mg+ standard. Still enough to give you a solid boost, and we like it.

Now we come to elevATP, which is a patented ingredient from Futureceuticals. It is a blend of Ancient Peat and Apple extract, and may help increase the production of ATP in your body. At 150mg, it is at the clinical dose. Following this you get NeuroFactor, another patented ingredient from Futureceuticals that can help with cognitive function. You’re getting a clinical dose of it at 100mg.

Now we come to the NO blend, which contains just two ingredients. The first ingredient is L-Citrulline at 3 grams. Citrulline converts to Arginine, which is a precursor to Nitric Oxide, which can help with pumps. At 3 grams, you’re getting a solid dose of it. Finally you get Arginine, which is a precursor to Nitric Oxide. Unfortunately it has poor bioavailability, and we’d rather just see straight Citrulline. Still it may provide some benefits.


Effectiveness

(8.7/10)

So this one is a little hard to judge, as compared to carbonated energy drinks as pre-workouts, it’s easily at the top. As a pre-workout RTD however, while it is still a great option, there are somewhat better formulas out there. With all of that said, LIT made for a nice experience as a RTD.

The energy is solid, as it is not overbearing, yet still enough to give you a nice boost. You also get the power output increase from the elevATP, and of course, keeping your beta-alanine stores saturated will help with endurance.

The pumps from LIT are nice, and while nowhere near what a loaded pre-workout will give you, it still does deliver. 


Taste

Beyond Dew: (9.0/10)

We had several flavors to choose from, however we will go over the Beyond Dew one. Obviously this is meant to taste like Mountain Dew, and they actually did a great job. It tastes very similar to a mountain dew, and GNC did a great job with this one.

We have to say all flavors have been done well, so if the flavor sounds good to you, it will most likely be good.


Value

(8.5/10)

Now we get to pricing. So you can get a can for about $3, and we’re sure there can be money saved through deals and such. This is on par with many RTD pre-workouts out there, as well as energy drinks. So if you’re willing to pay more for a convenient pre-workout, this is a great option. Of course we really only recommend it in a pinch, and we’d say it’s the best option for when you’re on the way to the gym and suddenly realize you forgot your pre-workout.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

12-BOTTLES (1 CASE)

FITNESS INFORMANT EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Amazon Logo

Amazon

$29.99

12-BOTTLES (1 CASE)

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Amazon Logo

$29.99

GNC Beyond Raw LIT RTD

8.7

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.7/10

Taste

9.0/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Clinical Dosages
  • Trasnparent Label
  • Taste
  • Smooth

Cons

  • Not Widely Available
  • Could Do Without The Arginine
Primeval Labs Ape Sh*t Untamed RTD Review: Smooth Energy and Great Flavor in a Bottle

Leave a Reply