Skip to main content
Axe & SledgeGeneral Health

Axe & Sledge Greens+ Review: A Natural Choice for Your Next Greens Powder

By February 17, 2022No Comments
FIt Butters

Axe & Sledge Greens+

8.7

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

8.8/10

Taste

8.6/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

8.4/10

Pros

  • Digestive Enzymes
  • Probiotics
  • 8g Greens

Cons

  • Limited Flavors

Use code INFORMANT to save 10%

Overview of Axe & Sledge Greens+

Axe & Sledge is one of the fastest growing brands in the sports nutrition space, but they make supplements that can reach outside the world of "sports nutrition." The brand continues to excel with new product innovation and unique formulas. 

Axe & Sledge Greens+ is more than a greens formula. Axe & Sledge includes a greens blend, of course, but in addition they include digestive enzymes and probiotics, along with hydration ingredients. This naturally flavored and naturally sweetened greens formula is a great option for those who need to add more nutrients into their day, but also want the added benefits of gut health and digestion.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Axe & Sledge Greens+ on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the greens supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that greens product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Apple Banana and Hint of Pineapple

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.8/10)

Axe & Sledge Greens+

Greens formulas tend to be “over complicated” with several different blends that all contain different vegetables. Honestly, Axe & Sledge Greens+ is one of the most straight forward formulas we’ve worked with. The formula does contain “blends” but unlike proprietary blends these are unique to the branded ingredient or ones we don’t consider the same.

The formula starts with 8g of a greens blend that contains dehydrated greens like kale, spirulina, wheat grass, spinach, broccoli and more. An 8g dosage is on-par with what we’ve seen in some other formulas. In fact, it is slightly more.

From there Axe & Sledge included 12.mg of SL14 Probiotic Blend at 5 billion CFU. Probiotics when consumed daily can help with gut health and your immune system. Most people do not take a probiotic daily. SL14 is a branded version of a probiotic containing 14 strands (you measure the effectiveness by # of strands and # of CFUs). For a “greens” formula, this is decent.

The enzyme blend is 50mg of DigeSEB. This is a branded digestive enzyme from Specialty Enzymes & Probiotics. DigeSEB supports breakdown of carbohydrates, fats, proteins, and dairy products into nutrients the body can use. It works by addressing the cause of digestive discomfort. We typically see this dosed at 50mg in greens and other formulas that use it.

For hydration users get 500mg of CocOrganic Coconut Water Powder. In addition, you’re getting 100mg of KSM-66 Ashwagandha. KSM-66 is traditionally dosed at 600mg if you’re seeking benefits of hormone functionality or anti-stress relief, but even at a 100mg dosage users may get some anxiety relief.

Overall this formula is straight forward, gives users key nutrients they may be lacking in their diet, aid in digestion and hydration. 


Effectiveness

(8.8/10)

Unlike a pre-workout powder, where you can “feel” it working, Greens take some time to revert your body to where it needs to be. What you will start experiencing is less bloat/gas and better bowel movements. The probiotics and digestive enzymes can aid in getting your “gut” right. It is important that you use it daily for the best effectiveness. Some may even need to take several times a day depending on your lack of fruit and green intakes.


Taste

Apple Banana: (8.8/10)
Hint of Pineapple: (8.4/10)

It is very important to note that Axe & Sledge Greens+ is naturally flavored and sweetened. This means taste will have some impact. We’re personally not fans of Stevia, however in both flavors it wasn’t apparent.

Apple Banana has a stronger banana flavor than apple. As someone who is not a fan of banana, it worked quite well with the natural flavor of the greens that it wasn’t bad at all. I actually enjoyed this flavor.

Hint of Pineapple is truly just that, a “hint.” You get a lot of the natural flavoring of the greens. We know a lot of people actually really like that. We don’t mind it has it reminds us that we’re drinking something healthy.

Overall both flavors were good, but we’d like to see more come from Axe & Sledge.


Mixability

(8.8/10)

Let’s be honest, most greens powders do not mix well because you’re dealing with dehydrated veggies. Greens+ from Axe & Sledge is one of the better mixing “greens” formulas we’ve used. There are not big chunks in the liquid. It mixes great into 8oz of water with very little sediment left in the bottom of the shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(8.4/10)

For a “greens” formula, Greens+ is priced slightly higher than the competitive set at $54.99 for 30-servings. Remember, this is more than just a greens formula, there is the added benefits of probiotics and digestive enzymes. A sweet spot for this would be around $44.99-$49.99. However, if you use code INFORMANT it will knock off 10% getting this to the price point we think is right on for this formula.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Axe & Sledge

$54.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Axe & Sledge

$54.99

Axe & Sledge Recent Reviews and News

Pumpies

Axe & Sledge Pumpies Review: Caps for Convenience and Killer Pumps

Axe & Sledge Pumpies is a convenient pump capsule featuring efficacious doses of key ingredients making this a convenient and effective way to improve blood flow.

​Read More
Axe & Sledge Pumpies vs. Hydraulic

Axe & Sledge Pumpies or Hydraulic, Which One Is Right For You?

Do you Hydraulic or do you Pumpies? Which Axe & Sledge pump product is right for you? Maybe both.

​Read More
Axe & Sledge The Grind

Axe & Sledge The Grind Review: Unique Flavors and Hydration Takes Lead

Axe & Sledge The Grind EAA and hydration formula leads with unique flavors and hydration to make up for the missing EAA in the formula.

​Read More
Axe & Sledge Pumpies

Axe & Sledge Pumpies Has Arrived!

Axe & Sledge Pumpies, featuring 1,500mg Nitrosigine and 508mg VasoDrive-AP has finally arrived.

​Read More
Axe & Sledge Pumpies

Axe & Sledge Leaks New Pump Capsule Called Pumpies

Axe & Sledge has leaked their new pump capsule called Pumpies via their official social media.

​Read More
Axe & Sledge Home Made Bar Lemon Cookie Crunch

Axe & Sledge Launches Lemon Cookie Crunch Home Made Bar

GHOST has officially revealed their Burn Non-Stim formula and launch date.

​Read More

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Axe & Sledge

Axe & Sledge

$54.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Axe & Sledge

Axe & Sledge Greens+

8.7

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

8.8/10

Taste

8.6/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

8.4/10

Pros

  • Digestive Enzymes
  • Probiotics
  • 8g Greens

Cons

  • Limited Flavors
Axe & Sledge Demo Day Review: Multiple Carb Sources To Fuel Your Workouts
Axe & Sledge Launches Apple Berry Flavored The Grind

Leave a Reply