Skip to main content
Axe & SledgeCarbohydratesMuscle Recovery

Axe & Sledge Demo Day Review: Multiple Carb Sources To Fuel Your Workouts

Axe & Sledge Demo Day

8.7

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.6/10

Value

8.3/10

Pros

  • Cluster Dextrin
  • Taurine
  • Carb10

Cons

  • Limited Flavors

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%

Overview of Axe & Sledge Demo Day

Axe and Sledge  is a brand with clever marketing and a personality which helped it gain a lot of popularity. That combined with authentic flavor collabs, it has boomed as a brand. However, don't be mistaken, they also have some well formulated products including their carb powder Demo Day.

Demo Day combines three carb sources to give us 25g of total high quality carbs per serving. They also toss in additional ingredients to aid in hydration and cell water retention to take your workouts to the next level. If you want a high quality carb product that is less than $2 a serving, Demo Day is a great option.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Axe & Sledge Demo Day on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in this muscle recovery supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective muscle recovery product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that carb product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Big Cherry.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12-16 oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. 

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of muscle recovery products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)Axe & Sledge Demo Day SFP

Axe & Sledge Demo Day isn’t just a carb powder. Yes, we do get three sources of carbs, but they also toss in other beneficial ingredients to help us power through our workouts. 

We do get 25g carbs per serving from Carb10 (15g), Cluster Dextrin (10g) and Palatinose (2g).

Carb10 is from Compound Solutions and is derived from peas. The benefits Carb10 has over cheaper carb sources is minimal to zero stomach discomfort and minimal to zero impact on insulin and blood sugar levels. Users should not experience a crash either.

Cluster Dextrin is our favorite carb source currently on the market today. Cluster Dextrin spends a very minimal time in your stomach, absorbing quickly into the body to replenish glycogen stores. This causes little to no bloating. It also does not have a negative impact on blood sugar and insulin response. It provides a steady increase in blood sugar versus a spike, which is what we want as we train.

Palatinose (isomaltulose) is purely based on sucrose from sugar beet. It provides balanced energy over time due to it’s low glycemic profile.

Overall the combination of these three carbs should aid in glycogen restoration for your most intense workouts.

Axe & Sledge also uses 2g of Taurine. Taurine helps regulate electrolytes and can improve strength and power output. 

HydroMax, a form of glycerol, is used at 2g. This helps your muscles retain water molecules to aid in muscular endurance and hydration.

Cinnamon Bark Extract is used at 50mg to help with any potential GI issues you may have from this, however with the carb sources used it should eliminate most of those GI issues.

ALA is dosed at 50mg. ALA has been studied and shown to be potentially effective for increasing insulin sensitivity. This study was done on people with Type 2 Diabetes. This can help with insulin sensitivity. Again, with these higher quality carb sources, this is only the icing on the cake.

Overall the formula is very good for a carb powder. Axe & Sledge takes extra precautions to prevent GI discomfort and insulin response as well as helping aid in hydration and endurance.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

Much of the effectiveness of a carb powder like Demo Day will be based on the ingredient profile. This is a good profile using higher quality carbs and other ingredients that will help improve energy levels for your workout. You can tell how much better your lifts are when you use Demo Day. You feel like you have more in the tank. You will also experience fuller pumps. This is due to the high quality carbs and the little amount of HydroMax used. When you do not use Demo Day you feel more deflated with less in the tank.

Carbs are essential to peri-workout nutrition, they help improve your overall workout.


Taste

Big Cherry: (8.5/10)

Big Cherry is a sweet cherry flavor. The thing with carb powders is they tend to be on the sweeter side because Cluster Dextrin and Carb10 taste “sweeter” being a carb source. It is almost like sugar, without the sugar. So yes, it is cherry but more on the sweet side, not a tart cherry. If you like candy sweet cherry, you will enjoy this.


Mixability

(8.6/10)

The nice thing about Demo Day is it mixes very well. A single scoop is suggested to mix into 12oz of water. We did our test on the video with slightly less as we did not have a full scoop but as you can see it mixes well. You can feel the “grit” as you drink it but the particles are extremely small. We did not experience clumping which can happen with a carb powder.

To view our mixability test, watch the video above.


Value

(8.3/10)

Demo Day from Axe & Sledge retails for $55 for a 30-serving. This is less than $2 a serving. There are other competitors that sell a pure Cluster Dextrin formula for $65 but has 60-servings of 25g carbs. So if you compare it to that the value is diminished. However, Demo Day does have Taurine, HydroMax and other ingredients to aid in stomach discomfort and blood glucose levels. Overall this is worth the price but there are better values out there. If you use code INFORMANT you can knock off 10% dropping this below $50 a tub which is a lot more sexy.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30 SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Axe & Sledge

$54.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Axe & Sledge

$54.99

More Axe & Sledge Supplement Reviews

Pumpies

Axe & Sledge Pumpies Review: Caps for Convenience and Killer Pumps

Axe & Sledge Pumpies is a convenient pump capsule featuring efficacious doses of key ingredients making this a convenient and effective way to improve blood flow.

Read Review
Axe & Sledge The Grind

Axe & Sledge The Grind Review: Unique Flavors and Hydration Takes Lead

Axe & Sledge The Grind EAA and hydration formula leads with unique flavors and hydration to make up for the missing EAA in the formula.

Read Review
Axe & Sledge Greens+

Axe & Sledge Greens+ Review: A Natural Choice for Your Next Greens Powder

Axe & Sledge Greens+ is more than just a greens supplement. Axe & Sledge adds probiotics, digestive enzymes and hydration ingredients in addition to greens.

Read Review

30 SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Axe & Sledge

Axe & Sledge

$54.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Axe & Sledge

Axe & Sledge Demo Day

8.7

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.6/10

Value

8.3/10

Pros

  • Cluster Dextrin
  • Taurine
  • Carb10

Cons

  • Limited Flavors
Axe & Sledge Fyred Formulated For Sweat and Fat Loss
Axe & Sledge Greens+ Review: A Natural Choice for Your Next Greens Powder

Leave a Reply