Skip to main content
CarbohydratesGaspari Nutrition

Gaspari Nutrition Glycofuse Review: A High Quality Carb Combo

By June 6, 2019December 3rd, 2019No Comments

Gaspari Nutrition Glycofuse

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.2/10

Mixability

9.2/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Dual Carb Sources
  • Low GI/No Discomfort
  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Value

Overview of Gaspari Nutrition Glycofuse

Gaspari Nutrition is back under the control of Rich Gaspari and they are hitting the ground running with updated and new products. Gaspari is known for their bodybuilding centric line of supplements that go back to the days of SuperPump, SizeOn and more.

Gasparia Nutrition GlycoFuse is an updated version of the carbohydrate classic. It packs in 25g of quality carbs from cluster dextrin and Carb10 (15g/10g). The quality of carb source is important as it is not high on GI scale meaning you shouldn't get an insulin spike, and can utilize the carbs the best way possible pre/intra/post workout for energy and to restore glycogen stores. GlycoFuse is a solid carb option. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Gaspari Nutrition Glycofuse on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in this keto/carb supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective keto/carb product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that keto/carb product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Strawberry Kiwi.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12-16 oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of keto/carb products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)Gaspari Glycofuse label

The original GlycoFuse was packed with 25g from HBCD (Highly Branched Cluster Dextrin), which some consider the best carb source available on the market today. We are in that boat that we love HBCD. The updated version of GlycoFuse is using 15g from HBCD and then adds an additional 10g from Carb10. Carb10 is a unique patent ingredient from Compound Solutions that has a low GI score so it should also not influx an insulin spike. Carb10 is superior to Maltodextrin that you find in a lot of carb powders and gainers. The nice thing about both these carb sources are they do not lead to discomfort of the digestive system and do not cause a crash that you get with some of the dextrose products on the market today.

Overall, this is going to be a quality carb powder. It isn’t as high quality as straight HBCD, but it still serves it purpose and will provide the much needed carbohydrates needed pre/intra/post workout. 


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

I used GlycoFuse during three different windows while testing. I used it pre-workout (with and without a glucose disposal agent), intra-workout and post-workout. When I used intra-workout, with and without a GDA, I was looking to achieve larger, fuller pumps with the use of a pump product. Carbs pre-workout can really help enhance your pump to achieve optimal blood flow into your muscles. When using GlycoFuse it was apparent that my pump was more fuller looking than without. When coupled with a GDA it was great.

Intra-workout use of GlycoFuse was for prolonged endurance. Your body burns glucose for energy. Glucose comes from your carbs you eat. When you workout you deplete your glycogen stores. While consuming carbs intra-workout you are refueling those stores as you go thus allowing you to have prolonged endurance in the gym. GlycoFuse did make a difference on overall workout effectiveness when taking intra-workout.

Post-workout carbs aid in restoring glycogen stores. As mentioned before, you deplete your glucose levels. You need to get these restored to ensure you have adequate energy levels. Post-workout use of GlycoFuse did aid in recovery time and reduced fatigue due to the increased energy levels from increased glucose levels.

Lastly, there was zero discomfort with the use of GlycoFuse. Some maltodextrin or dextrose products can lead to bloating or even a crash, but you do not get that with GlycoFuse. This was an effective carb source pre/intra/post workout.


Taste

Strawberry Kiwi: (9.2/10)

Taste is always subjective. If you love the taste of Strawberry Kiwi, which we enjoy, you will like this flavor of GlycoFuse. The flavor is strawberry heavy with a hint of the kiwi flavor. It is going to be sweet, since this is a carb powder, they tend to be on the sweet side versus tart. We feel the taste is damn close to actual strawberry kiwi. We were impressed with the description and the actual taste of the product being closely matched. 


Mixability

(9.2/10)

The nice thing about using a high quality carb source like HBCD and Carb10 is that it mixes well. You don’t get a lot of residue or particles floating (as witnessed by the mixing video). The one thing you get with carb powders, even though they mix well, is a “film” in your mouth when you drink them. It’s not terrible, but due to the nature of the product, you may feel like you have a film leftover after drinking. One serving is 28g (which is 25g carbs and 3g others) which mixes well in 12-16 fluid ounces.

Check out our full review video to see an actual video of the mixability of Keto Carb.


Value

(8.5/10)

GlycoFuse retails for right around $60 for 60-servings. This is $1 a serving. That isn’t bad at all, and it is a fair price for this product. When you look at other carb powders, they are either really cheap (because they use a cheap carb source) or they tend be to more expensive because it is using a high quality carb source. We have seen other 60-serving HBCD products retail for $60. This product isn’t far off, but we do know that Carb10 is a more economical carb source than HBCD but not a massive difference. This product is definitely worth $60.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

60-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Gaspari Nutrition logo

$60.49

Amazon Logo

See Price @ Amazon

60-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Gaspari Nutrition logo

Amazon Logo

Amazon

See Price @ Amazon

Gaspari Nutrition Glycofuse

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.2/10

Mixability

9.2/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Dual Carb Sources
  • Low GI/No Discomfort
  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Value
Gaspari Nutrition Proven Egg Review: Great Alternative to Whey Protein
Muscle Elements Post Pro Review

Leave a Reply