Skip to main content
Gaspari NutritionProtein Powder

Gaspari Nutrition Proven Egg Review: Great Alternative to Whey Protein

By June 17, 2019December 3rd, 2019No Comments

Gaspari Nutrition Proven Egg

8.8

Profile

10.0/10

Effectiveness

10.0/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

7.0/10

Value

8.7/10

Pros

  • Ingredient Profile
  • Stevia Sweetened
  • Taste
  • Value

Cons

  • Mixability

Overview of Gaspari Nutrition Proven Egg

Gaspari Nutrition is back with innovation the center of their attention. The brand is back underneath Rich Gaspari's direction, but it won't be the brand some of us remember. Gaspari Nutrition is innovating for a larger audience, not just the hardcore bodybuilder.

Proven Egg is one of those innovations that attracts everyone. For the longest time people looking for a whey protein alternative would have to turn to a vegan or a beef based protein. Gaspari Nutrition Proven Egg us instantized egg white protein sweetned with stevia to give you one of the best quality non-whey protein powders on the market today. If you can't handle whey, or just want to mix it up, Proven Egg by Gaspari Nutrition will be a solid option. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Gaspari Nutrition Proven Egg on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Salted Caramel.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(10/10)Gaspari Nutrition Proven Egg Label

It’s going to be hard to find a cleaner egg white powder than Proven Egg from Gaspari Nutrition. First, let’s talk about he bioavailability of egg protein versus your common whey protein. Your bioavailable score essentially states the quality of protein source. Your traditional score on whey protein is 104. For egg protein, the score is 100. These two are very comparable and positive. When you look at a protein like beef, you fall to 80. Egg white protein is going to be nearly as effective as whey protein. 

With Proven Egg, you get 25g protein per serving, which is comparable to they whey proteins on the market today. The other macros are friendly too as you get 0g fats and only 1g carbs (from sugars which is a natural caramel flavor).

Proven Egg is also sweetened by Stevia versus sucralose like many of the whey protein powders on the market. Other ingredients are sunflower lecithin and natural caramel flavor. This is a clean profile.

Overall, Proven Egg is going to be an awesome alternative to whey protein and even in replacement of whey protein. It is nice to change up your protein sources from time to time, and if you don’t want to settle for a beef based protein where your bioavailability score is lower, then Proven Egg is your choice. 


Effectiveness

(9.7/10)

Effectiveness on a protein powder is an extension of the profile. The bioavailability score of egg rivals whey, so it is going to be damn close to being as effective. In fact, both PDCAAS scores are identical at 1.00. Unless you have an egg allergy, you don’t have to worry since this is lactose free, so it should be attractive to many looking for a replacement to whey protein. You do not get any gastric discomfort. You do not feel bloated from taking Proven Egg either. Overall, this is an effective protein powder to be taken at anytime of day.


Taste

Salted Caramel: (8.5/10)

The one thing about egg protein is that it can be a bit salty, so it makes sense to do a salted caramel flavor. Gaspari elected to sweeten proven egg with Stevia instead of sucralose, which is fine by us. It does impact the taste, but only slightly. You do get a nice caramel flavor with this (from the natural caramel flavor) and a hint of salt too. It could be sweeter, but again when uses Stevia you won’t get that rich sweetness like you would from a sucralose. Overall though, this was a very good tasting egg white protein powder. 


Mixability

(7.0/10)

This is the one area where Proven Egg struggles because of the Leucine. You get quite a bit of foaming in the Cyclone Cup. You don’t get this with traditional whey protein, but with Proven Egg you do. You may need to use another splash of water to rinse it down. With that said, there are no chunks or clumps, it just foams pretty bad.

View the video above for a view of our mixability test. 


Value

(8.7/10)

Proven Egg is a solid alternative or a replacement to whey protein. It is going to be more expensive as it is a totally difference process than whey. A 2lb unit will retail for around $45-$50. That is going to be slightly higher than a whey protein isolate. A WPI is going to have a higher bioavailability score, but both still at 100 or above. With that said, since this is a safe alternative to whey, and much better than beef, the value is there and this is worth the investment. 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

2 LBS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Gaspari Nutrition logo

$47.99

Amazon Logo

See Price @ Amazon

2 LBS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Gaspari Nutrition logo

Amazon Logo

Amazon

See Price @ Amazon

Gaspari Nutrition Proven Egg

8.8

Profile

10.0/10

Effectiveness

10.0/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

7.0/10

Value

8.7/10

Pros

  • Ingredient Profile
  • Stevia Sweetened
  • Taste
  • Value

Cons

  • Mixability
Episode 35: Rich Gaspari
Gaspari Nutrition Glycofuse Review: A High Quality Carb Combo

Leave a Reply