LionEdge NutritionProtein Powder

LionEdge Nutrition Casein Edge Review: Real Fruit Infused Casein!

LionEdge Nutrition Casein Edge

9.3

Profile

9.6/10

Effectiveness

9.6/10

Taste

9.2/10

Mixability

8.6/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Addition of Velositol
  • Real Freeze Dried Strawberries
  • Taste
  • Value

Cons

  • A little gritty

Use coupon code INFORMANT and save 10% off!

Overview of LionEdge Nutrition Casein Edge

LioneEdge Nutrition is a smaller brand with big potential. They use high quality ingredients and good manufacturing processes to produce some of the best supplements on the market today.

Casein Edge from LionEdge Nutrition is not your typical casein protein. Casein Edge uses real fruit inclusions (strawberries) to give you a different experience, a "fresh" experience. You also get the addition of Velositol, which ensures that the casein protein digested is used more efficiently. Casein Edge is one of the best casein proteins we've tried at FI.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed LionEdge Nutrition Casein Edge on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Strawberry Shortcake Ice Cream.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.6/10)LionEdge Nutrition Casein Edge label

In your typical casein protein you will find a certain gram amount of casein and that’s pretty much it. In Casein Edge you not only get your 24g of casein protein (slow digesting protein), but you also get the addition of 2,000mg Velositol. Velositol has been seen added to more and more whey proteins, but rarely, if ever, do we see it in a casein protein.

Velositol’s main job is to increase muscle protein synthesis and ensure a better amino acid uptake. The recommended dosage of velositol is 2g, which is exactly what we’re getting with Casein Edge.

The other macros are:

Fat: <1g
Carbs: 4.5g
Protein:24g

The reason carbs are higher is that Casein Edge uses real fruit, freeze dried strawberries, in their strawberry shortcake ice cream flavor, something we’ve never seen before. The natural sugars of the fruit causes carbs to be higher, plus casein generally is higher in carbs.

Overall, we really like this profile a lot. The fact that they use Velositol is big, as we are a big believer in the ingredient. We also love the fact we get real strawberries in this, as most companies are using cereal pieces or cookie pieces.


Effectiveness

(9.6/10)

We speak on effectiveness as an extension of the profile. A higher quality casein protein should be effective. We get 24g of Micellar Casein protein with the addition of the 2g Velositol which is admirable in a casein protein. Casein is a slower digesting protein so we would typically use prior to bed to feed our body as we slept. There was no gut discomfort or bloat from the casein protein. It also does a great job of taming your cravings for sweets.


Taste

Strawberry Shortcake Ice Cream: (9.2/10)

We are not typically huge fans of strawberry proteins…but this one is different. It does have that shortcake flavor to it which makes it different than just a plain strawberry. Being a casein protein you get that better mouth feel where the shake is a bit thicker than your typical whey protein. The real game changer on this is the actual freeze dried strawberries being used. A lot of companies are using cereal pieces or cookie pieces, but the fact that not many use real fruit – a health forward food – was beyond us. The addition of these really adds to the flavor and the experience of the protein.


Mixability

(8.6/10)

Casein proteins tend to mix a bit more “gritty” than your whey. We do get that with Casein Edge. You can feel the “grittiness” of the protein, but we think that also contributes to mouth feel. The freeze dried strawberries do not mix, obviously, so if you don’t like chunks then you won’t like this, but we actually enjoyed the fact that they were in here. The actual protein powder does not clump and mixes fairly well (note grittiness above).

View the video above for a view of our mixability test. 


Value

(9.5/10)

Casein protein typically will run you about $40 for a 2lb unit. That’s what Casein Edge retails for. We do have a coupon code (INFORMANT) which will save you 10%, or $4, making this a really good value. It is a high quality casein protein that tastes great. If you’re looking to get into the casein game, or to change up your casein game, give LionEdge Nutrition Casein Edge a try, you won’t regret it.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

2 LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

LionEdge Nutrition

$39.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

LionEdge Nutrition

$39.99

2 LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

LionEdge Nutrition

LionEdge Nutrition

$39.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

LionEdge Nutrition

LionEdge Nutrition Casein Edge

9.3

Profile

9.6/10

Effectiveness

9.6/10

Taste

9.2/10

Mixability

8.6/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Addition of Velositol
  • Real Freeze Dried Strawberries
  • Taste
  • Value

Cons

  • A little gritty
MPA Supps IsoSolve Review: Have Your Pie and Drink It Too!
LionEdge Nutrition Launches Industry's First Raspberry Rosé Flavored BCAA

Leave a Reply