NutraBioProtein Powder

NutraBio 100% Whey Protein Isolate Review: A Top Rated Whey Protein Isolate

By October 27, 2017 April 3rd, 2019 No Comments
USN

Nutrabio 100% Whey Protein Isolate

9.5

Profile

10.0/10

Effectiveness

10.0/10

Taste

9.5/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • 100% Whey Protein Isolate
  • Great Tasting
  • Full Disclosure
  • Great Value

Cons

  • Limited Flavors

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%!

Overview of NutraBio’s 100% Whey Protein Isolate

NutraBio has a reputation in the sports nutrition industry as one of the highest quality supplement manufacturers. They back this up with 3rd party testing and 100% transparent label designs. NutraBio 100% Whey Protein Isolate protein powder sets the standard of excellence in isolate protein powders. They tout that it is the cleanest protein on the planet and they are right.

Their 100% Whey Protein Isolate protein powder is lactose and gluten free, non denatured and uses a cross flow micro and ultra-filtered process…the best of the best. NutraBio 100% Whey Protein Isolate protein powder is our #1 rated isolate protein powder on FitnessInformant.com. The only thing keeping it from getting a perfect score is a limited amount of flavors currently available but what is out there is amazing.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed NutraBio’s 100% Whey Protein Isolate protein powder on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Dutch Chocolate, Alpine Vanilla, Strawberry Ice Cream, Cinnamon Sugar Donut, Blueberry Muffin and Pancakes and Maple Syrup. 

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.



Ingredients Profile

(10/10)

100% WPI NutraBio Label

There was a video circulating around the internet with NutraBio CEO Mark Glazier refuting claims made by Dr. Jim Stoppani (the man behind JYM) that NutraBio was lying on their 100% Whey Protein Isolate label. This is not true. One look at NutraBio’s label design on their 100% Whey Protein Isolate container you will see this right away.

The ingredient list is super clean. One scoop of 100% Whey Protein Isolate by NutraBio is 29.21 grams which 28.19 grams of this is cross flow micro and ultra filtered 100% whey protein isolate. The other 1.02 grams comes from flavoring.

The profile uses minimal levels of suclarose at 60mg which is essentially nothing (UPDATE: rumor has it that they are eliminating this completely).  There is only 1 gram of carbohydrates and less than 1 gram of sodium.

This is truly a very clean label which yields a very high amount of protein. A tub of 100% Whey Protein Isolate is comprised of about 86% complete protein (protein your body will actually use).


Effectiveness

(10/10)

Standing by your claims on a protein powder will make you have an effective product. NutraBio’s 100% Whey Protein Isolate protein powder is super effective as an isolate because you are getting almost 86% of complete proteins filled with 5.3 grams of BCAA and it is lactose and gluten free. This is the point of effectiveness behind an isolate protein.

This product also does a great job with muscle recovery and repair. While using this product my body fat actually decreased (even though I was consuming more calories from whole foods) and having 0 grams of fat.


Taste

Alpine Vanilla: (8.0/10)
Dutch Chocolate: (9.0/10)
Blueberry Muffin: (9.5/10)
Cinnamon Sugar Donut: (9.5/10)
Pancakes and Maple Syrup: (9.0/10)
Strawberry Ice Cream: (9.0/10)

This is a clean product that has had it’s tastes improved in 2019. NutraBio went hard to work on improving their taste profiles across the line, and protein was a huge area of focus for the brand. We really enjoyed the new breakfast line that was launched: Pancakes and Maple Syrup, Blueberry Muffin and Cinnamon Sugar Donut. They elected to go against the cereal trends and do something more unique. We love that. Strawberry Ice Cream was drastically improved and we are big fans of this version versus the old version of this protein powder. Vanilla and Chocolate are safe bets if you are afraid to venture away from the norm.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

You see a big issue with some proteins when it comes to mixing. With NutraBio’s 100% Whey Protein Isolate protein powder you do not get the clumping that you get with some other protein powders. The fact that this is an isolate protein powder does benefit the mixability but we never had one issue with mixing this in a shaker cup.


Value

(9.0/10)

A five pound container of NutraBio’s 100% Whey Protein Isolate protein powder can go up as high as $80. This is a big price tag that a lot of people on the market don’t need to spend on a protein powder.  A couple things to think about is that this is an isolate powder and it is extremely high quality. So in terms of value this is an amazing price tag for this product. Also, coupon code INFORMANT will save you 10% which will knock off $8 or $4 depending on size.

The only knock we’d give value is that if you do not have issues with lactose or are not too concerned on sodium and carbohydrates you can get away with a high quality concentrate protein.  However, if you are seeking the best isolate protein on the market then look no further than this one at around $80. Such a good value for what you get.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

5LBs / 2LB

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

NutraBio logo

$79.99 / $39.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

NutraBio logo

$79.99 / $39.99

Suppz Logo

$79.99 / $39.99

$79.99 / $39.99

5LB / 2LB

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

NutraBio logo

NutraBio

$79.99 / $39.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

NutraBio logo

NutraBio

$79.99 / $39.99


Suppz Logo

Suppz

$79.99 / $39.99


BodyBuilding.com

$79.99 / $39.99

Nutrabio 100% Whey Protein Isolate

9.5

Profile

10.0/10

Effectiveness

10.0/10

Taste

9.5/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • 100% Whey Protein Isolate
  • Great Tasting
  • Full Disclosure
  • Great Value

Cons

  • Limited Flavors
PART I: Sports Nutrition Expert Roundtable (feat. Kris Gethin, Marc Lobliner, Mark Glazier and Ryback Reeves)

Leave a Reply