NutraBioProtein Powder

NutraBio Muscle Matrix Review: Fast And Slow For The Win

NutraBio Muscle Matrix

9.3

Profile

9.5/10

Effectiveness

9.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.3/10

Pros

  • WPI/Casein Blend
  • Effectiveness
  • Mixability
  • Taste
  • Value

Use coupon code INFORMANT and save 10% off!

Overview of NutraBio Muscle Matrix

NutraBio has been a choice brand of FI for quite some time for their commitment to quality and consistency. They have so many products in their wheelhouse that we still have not had the opportunity to try them all, but we get excited every time we get a new one. Muscle Matrix was one of those new products.

We loved Muscle Matrix for the combination of fast digesting and slow digesting proteins and the full label disclosure of the product. Let us not forget that the flavor is on-point too. If you are looking to feed your body instantly post-workout and overtime, Muscle Matrix is the choice. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed NutraBio Muscle Matrix on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Strawberry Pastry.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.5/10)NutraBio Muscle Matrix label

We are fans of protein blends that consists of a whey protein and a casein protein. NutraBio Muscle Matrix is exactly that. NutraBio combines whey protein isolate and casein protein which will feed your body instantly via the WPI and overtime via casein. We have always been a fan of that. 

Like every NutraBio label, we get full transparency here. We get 14.19g of whey protein isolate. We also get 10.81g casein protein. This is a 57%/43% split. 

Regarding macros, it won’t be as “clean” as a pure isolate since there is casein involved. The macros are:

Calories: 110
Fat: 0.5g
Carbs: 2g
Protein: 25g

While most isolates are zero fat and minimal to no carbs, that is the only difference here. This is not enough to make anyone lose interest.

Overall, love this blend over most of the other blends on the market since you get two speeds of digestion to feed your body overtime.  


Effectiveness

(9.5/10)

Protein powder is a direction extension of the profile section. This profile is clean. It uses two forms of protein that are quality sources of protein from NutraBio. A quality protein will increase MPS and aid in recovery. The fact we have two forms of protein that each have different speeds of digestion makes this a really effective protein powder to take post-workout.


Taste

Strawberry Pastry: (9.0/10)

We will be candid that we typically are not fans of strawberry. This isn’t that straight strawberry taste, it really does taste like strawberry pastry. It has a unique flavor, almost buttery, which would be that pastry aspect of the strawberry pastry flavor. Yes, you get the strawberry flavor, but it isn’t super strong and overwhelming. The pastry flavor added to it adds to the experience and makes this a great tasting protein powder.


Mixability

(9.0/10)

Protein is the one product we actually care about mixability on. Muscle Matrix mixes great. It is more isolate than casein, which is the better mixing of the proteins. There could be slight concern with the casein, but we did not have any clumping with Muscle Matrix. There was not a lot stuck to the sides of the Cyclone Cup as well.

View the video above for a view of our mixability test. 


Value

(9.3/10)

NutraBio Muscle Matrix retails for $40. A lot of companies put out a straight whey protein concentrate for $40 now. Yes, this is a 2lb container, and some brands offer a 5lb container for just over $50, but the fact that you are getting a high quality isolate and a high quality casein gives NutraBio the right to price this at $40. We do have a coupon code INFORMANT that will knock off 10% ($4) making this $36 for a 2lb unit. Given we love the blend and this price, this is completely worth it.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

2 LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

NutraBio logo

$39.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

NutraBio logo

$39.99

Suppz Logo

$39.99

2 LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

NutraBio logo

NutraBio

$39.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

NutraBio logo

NutraBio

$39.99


Suppz Logo

Suppz

$39.99

NutraBio Muscle Matrix

9.3

Profile

9.5/10

Effectiveness

9.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

9.3/10

Pros

  • WPI/Casein Blend
  • Effectiveness
  • Mixability
  • Taste
  • Value
NutraBio Launches New Strawberry Lemonade Flavor in BCAA/EAA Naturals Line
NutraBio Adds Grape Berry Crush To Their Flavors

Leave a Reply