Skip to main content
Core NutritionalsGeneral Health

Core Nutritionals Core LOAD Review: Making Sure You Use Those Carbs!

By January 20, 2019March 19th, 2020No Comments

Core Nutritionals Core LOAD

9

Ingredient Profile/Dosage

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Proven Ingredients
  • Effective

Cons

  • More Banaba Leaf

Overview of Core Nutritionals Core LOAD

I am a big fan of Core Nutritionals. I have not had a product from the brand that I found underwhelming or under delivering. They don't toss a bunch of money into marketing hype, they put it back into their formulations for the people.

Core LOAD is a GDA, glucose disposal agent, designed to help us utilize the carbs the best way possible Using four proving ingredients, Core LOAD is a solid GDA that when taken with high carb meals can help you use those carbs (glycogen) to be burned as fuel to improve energy and help lead to a massive pump. More energy and pump means bigger muscles.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Core Nutritionals Core LOAD on three categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile and dosage. This portion of the review looks at the ingredients used in the making of this product. We look into each ingredients effective use and determine if it was a quality selection for the product. On top of that, we look to see if proper dosages are being used. It is one thing to use cool ingredients, it's another if they are using them appropriately. 

We then look at effectiveness. This is generally an extension of the profile and dosage section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Finally, we look at value. Value is the combination of the ingredients/dosage, effectiveness, price and comparison products on the market. If the produce is dosed well, with quality ingredients and available at a fair price, the product would be considered valuable.


Ingredients Profile

(9/10)

GDA, glucose disposal agents, are gaining popularity due to their effect on the body’s ability to utilize glycogen stores to be burned as energy and lead to better workouts.

Core LOAD starts with 2,000mg of Green Coffee Bean Extract (50% Chlorogenic Acid). Studies have shown that Chlorogenic Acid aids in metabolising glucose and lipids. What does this mean? It aids the body in burning fatty lipids and glucose (what you get from consuming carbs) as energy. This starts to have a benefit at 120-300mg (Chlorogenic Acid) and we get 1,000mg here. 

The next ingredient is GS4 Plus (Gymnema Sylvestre) at 1,000mg. This has been shown to help Metabolic Syndrome (MS). A study was conducted where a group consumed a High Fructose Diet. Supplementation with gymnemic acid improved parameters of glucose-insulin. Some studies have used this ingredient at 400mg (containing 25% GA) so at 1,000mg @ 50% we are sitting pretty.

Berberis Aristata Extract aka Berberine is used at 774mg. Berberine has been shown to regulate glucose. Many diabetics use it. This gives us 750mg of Berberine. The typical dosage of this is 900-2,000mg per day and taken with a meal. This info suggest this should be taken 2-3x a day.

Lastly, Banaba Extract is used at 125mg. This is another ingredient that has been shown to assist in metabolising glucose. This contians 20% Corosolic Acid which would be 25mg total. Per Examine.com, the dosage would be much higher.

Overall, the ingredients selected are on-point to be in a GDA. They each are used to control blood sugar levels (glucose) and used bny many diabetic patients to help regulate their blood pressure. We are a bit low on Banaba Extract and Berberine. Berberine isn’t as far off as Banaba. The good news is we are getting great dosage of GS4 Plus at 1,000mg and Green Coffee at 1,000mg. This should be taken with meals.


Effectiveness

(9/10)

With GDAs, you don’t necessarily feel anything. The effectiveness will be derived from the ingredient profile. This is a solid profile using ingredients that are prove to help regulate blood sugar levels. You should be taking this with a meal with carbs. You can tell, if consumed 30 minutes prior, that you don’t necessarily feel a crash from the blood sugar spike after consuming carbs (like cheesecake). You also experience better energy and pump in the gym post-meal because you are using the carbs the way you should be.

Overall, I would score this the same as the profile, it’s much better than taking nothing at all.


Value

(9/10)

GDAs are not cheap. They use expensive ingredients that are used by people with real blood glucose levels. That said, this retails for the mid-$40s at 30-servings. For just over a $1 a serving, you can utilize carbs better. I think this is a fair value. The ingredients are proven, with a minor tweak of the dosage, we would be at a perfect 10. Is this worth $45? Yes. If you want to better use your carbs to help fuel your next workout and not be stored as fat, Core LOAD is a solid GDA choice.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

See Price At Store

30-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

Amazon

See Price At Store

Core Nutritionals Core LOAD

9

Ingredient Profile/Dosage

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Proven Ingredients
  • Effective

Cons

  • More Banaba Leaf
The Genius Brand Genius Mushroom Review: Improving Your Wellness from Natural Sources
Advanced Dietary Formulas Neutralize Review

Leave a Reply