Fat BurnersOlympus Labs

Olympus Labs Bloodshr3d Black Magic Edition Review: Best OTC Fat Burner?

By January 4, 2019 May 16th, 2019 No Comments

Olympus Labs Bloodshr3d Black Magic Edition

8.5

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

7.0/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Ingredients Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value

Cons

  • Taste

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%!

Overview of Olympus Labs Bloodshr3d Black Magic Edition

Let’s be real honest here, the world of OTC fat burners have been mediocre, at best, since the days of Ephedra and OxyElite. However, there is one brand that has made several fat burners we’ve enjoyed, Olympus Labs

Olympus Labs Bloodshr3d Black Edition makes the list of fat burners we approve of. Following up their 2017 Supplement Award on their RAW Edition, the Black Magic Edition jams in stims to help with energy production which speeds up metabolism, as well as appetite suppressant and focus enhancement. If you’re looking for an OTC fat burner, and a strong one at that, Bloodshr3d Black Magic Edition should be your go-to.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Olympus Labs Bloodshr3d Black Magic Edition on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the fat burner supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective fat burner will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that fat  burner will be in terms of appetite suppression and fat loss.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Bombsicle.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of fat burners on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9/10)

Bloodshr3d Black Magic Fat Burner Label

Bloodshr3d Black Magic Edition from Olympus Labs is packed with energy producing ingredients that will help speed up your metabolism and may assist in reduction of body fat. It also includes several other ingredients that will help assist in controlling your muscle mass (for those who are unaware, when you do a cut you typically also lose some muscle mass).

We start with 2.5g of 2:1:1 Vegan BCAAs. This is one of those areas in which is going to help preserve muscle mass. At 2.5g, this isn’t going to be a significant amount of BCAAs compared to some other pre-workouts and BCAA powders on the market, but it will contribute to your overall daily intake. BCAAs help reduce soreness in your muscles and activates the mTOR process.

We essentially get two forms of Carnitine. We start with 1g of Acetyl-L-Carnitine HCl (ALCAR). This is going to assist in energy production by transporting fatty acids to be burned as fuel. This isn’t directly related to fat loss, per se, but overall energy production can lead to increased caloric burn. It can also help enhance focus. The 1g dosage is the minimum we’d want to see.

The other form of Carnitine we get is ProGBB (gamma-butyrobetaine ethyl ester) at 50mg. Some in this space refer to this as carnitine on steroids, or “super carnitine.” This increases carnitine plasma levels within your body, which will result in similar results to ALCAR we just spoke about. A typical dosage of GBB is 20-40mg per day, with a max at 50mg. We are at the high end here.

Taurine is added at 1g. Taurine is typically found in pre-workouts as a strength enhancement ingredient and muscle recovery aid. Why do we find it here? First, this can double as your pre-workout with the caffeine and the stims, which we will talk about here shorty. Second, it aids in preserving muscle mass during the fat loss process. At 1g, this is a good dosage of Taurine.

Sophora Japonica, found in the OG Bloodshr3d is dosed at 400mg. Sophora Japonica contains rutin. Rutin has been shown to increase AMPK activation, which helps glucose uptake and fat oxidation. There isn’t enough clinical evidence to suggest 400mg is the correct dosage, but there is also nothing that says it is not.

We then get KSM-66 Ashwagandha at 300mg. This is used to stabilize cortisol levels and help keep testosterone levels within normal range. When you go on a cut to lose fat, testosterone levels can decrease. KSM-66 is designed to help stabilize that. Dosage of KSM-66 for test boosting should be at 600mg, but since this is not a test booster, more of a test stabilizer, we are OK with the dosage.

Now the fun part for most of you: the stims. We get Caffeine Anhydrous at 300mg, Eria Jarensis at 250mg and J.Regia Extract at 133mg.  Combined these three ingredients work in synchrony to provide high levels of energy and focus. You will also get appetite suppressant features with this combination. You don’t want to do more than the recommended dosage, in fact, you could get away with 1.5 scoops and be just fine.

Raspberry Keytones are used in this at 250mg. My question is why? We don’t really need them and there isn’t enough evidence supporting their use in fat loss. There was one study that showed 125mg and 250mg in males between the ages of 20-22 aided in body fat percentage. So long story short, although we are not firm believers in Keytones, they aren’t impacting fat loss in a negative way.

Green Coffee is dosed at 250mg. This can act similar to caffeine in that it would aid in fat loss via increased energy production. Like Keytones, I don’t get overly excited about this ingredient and feel we could do without. Also like Keytones, this isn’t hurting anything either.

Vanillin is dosed 100mg and may primarily be in here due to it’s flavoring agent. There are some who suggest it may increase body temperature too. The 100mg seems like an acceptable dose.  


Effectiveness

(9/10)

As mentioned in our overview, Bloodshr3d Black Magic Edition is going to be an effective OTC fat burner in today’s market. It isn’t as strong as OxyElite was, or Ephedra, but you still get benefits in which are promised from the ingredients.

Energy production will be very high. The combination of the stimulants really speeds up your metabolism and suppresses your appetite. A side effect of this will also be increased body temperature. As you burn off more calories for energy, you will get hot. You will sweat. Don’t worry, that’s normal and that’s good thing.

You will have an improved sense of focus too. With the stims working hand-in-hand producing energy, a common occurrence with that is focus enhancement. This isn’t a nootropic, but the added focus helps.

Appetite suppressant is solid with this too. Stims do that, especially caffeine. If you have ever been a soda drinker, you know that you didn’t eat a lot while drinking soda as it did the trick.

Overall, you’re going to get a nice increase of energy and focus, you won’t be eating as much and you will sweat like a pig, for real. These are all signs that the product is working as intended.


Taste

Bombsicle: (7/10)

To be completely honest, I wasn’t the biggest fan of the Bloodshr3d RAW Edition taste, and this one isn’t much better. The amount of liquid you use can impact the taste, but I like to use around 6-8oz of water. There was an odd aftertaste but if you look at the ingredient deck you could imagine that being the case. This is a hard profile to flavor, so what we did experience was positive. This could, in all honesty, taste like trash, and it wasn’t that. The flavor was reflective of a 4th of July bomb pop.


Mixability

(8.5/10)

For the purpose of this, we followed directions per label and mixed this ~8oz of water. There are some particles that you will see floating, and a little grit, but overall pretty solid. The serving size is just shy of 11g. See mixability video in full video review.


Value

(9/10)

Value really comes down to does this product work and how does it work versus the competitive set in the market? I said before that the OTC fat burner market is mediocre, at best. This is one of the better fat burners on the market, if not the best, in our opinion. This is a 30-serving unit for $45, which alone we believe to be a fair price. We also have a coupon code (INFORMANT) that will save you ~$4.50 per unit driving the price down to just over a $1/serving.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

olympus labs

$44.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

olympus labs

$44.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

olympus labs

Olympus Labs

$44.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

olympus labs

Olympus Labs Bloodshr3d Black Magic Edition

8.5

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

7.0/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Ingredients Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value

Cons

  • Taste
Olympus Labs No Mercy Will Feature Powerful NO Boosting S7
Olympus Labs Superior Protein Review: The Best Tasting Protein

Leave a Reply