Olympus LabsProtein Powder

Olympus Labs Superior Protein Review: The Best Tasting Protein

By December 8, 2018 January 12th, 2019 No Comments

Olympus Labs Superior Protein

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.5/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Digizyme
  • Velositol
  • PharmaGABA
  • Taste
  • Value

Cons

  • Creamer for Taste

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%

Overview of Olympus Labs Superior Protein

Olympus Labs went through a massive re-brand at the end of 2018. As part of that they launched their Superior Protein line. We heard about the quality and the taste. We had to try.

Superior Protein from OL did not disappoint. This is one of the best, if not the best, tasting protein we’ve ever had. It features delicious cereal flavors BUT it also features high quality protein sources. They nailed this line. If you’re looking for an amazing tasting protein powder that also features high quality, fully disclosed protein sources, then Superior Protein is the king.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Sign up for our SUPPLEMENT DEALS notifications today. Don’t miss out on the BIGGEST DEALS on FI approved supplements!

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Olympus Labs Superior Protein powder on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Tucan Twist and Not My Gumdrop Buttons.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9/10)

Superior Protein Label

Olympus Labs has created one epic protein powder. I, myself, prefer whey protein concentrate vs. whey protein isolate. Olympus Labs gives us WPC but also Casein, which is the slower digesting protein.

We get 13.7g of Whey Protein Concentrate (80%) and 13.7g of Casein Protein (84.5%) to give us a total of 23g of protein between the two, essentially a 50/50 split. Why is this good? Well, you get a solid dosage of whey protein concentrate that your body can absorb quickly, but then you also give your body fuel to feed you throughout your day post-workout in casein. I am a big believer in Casein and Concentrate mix.

The other macros are 1.5g fat and 5g carbs. Nothing to be scared about.

Olympus Labs also tosses in several other things that are important. We get 2g of Velositol. This increases the amino uptake from the breakdown of the protein so your body uses it quickly to get to muscle protein synthesis. This helps get those aminos into your blood stream quicker so they can be used for muscle repair.

We also get 125mg of PharmaGABA which has been shown to increase muscle mass.

Yes, we also have Digezyme, which helps breakdown the protein. Then this is when Velositol can go to work to help uptake the aminos into the blood stream.

The one negative with the profile is the use of a creamer for the flavor. It isn’t significant as it is low on the ingredient deck, but it is used to nail flavor, which we will talk about later.

Overall, this is not just a protein powder, it is superior with the addition of Velositol, Digezyme and the 50/50 mix between Whey Protein Concentrate and Casein. I am not going to get overly excited about PharmaGaba until I see more studies, but it is promising.


Effectiveness

(9/10)

An effective protein powder is really an extension of the profile. Outside of the creamer, this thing is loaded. I love the fast digesting protein in WPC and then the slow digestion of Casein. You don’t get any bloating or gut rot from this protein either. You know you are getting the benefit of Digizyme and Velisitol too which helps!

You cannot tell effectiveness as much as you can with a pre-workout, so we really look at the feeling of bloating and “sickness”, two things which you DO NOT get with this protein.


Taste

Tucan Twist: (10/10)
Not My Gumdrop Buttons: (9/10)

This is seriously one of the best tasting proteins I have ever had. At first, I didn’t love the chunks of cereal because it is taking a product which is supposed to be health-forward and adding in something most of us avoid, but it is enjoyable to the flavor as it brings the experience to life. It tastes just like fruity pebbles. If you’ve ever liked this cereal, you are going to LOVE this protein.


Mixability

(8.5/10)

Because the addition of real cereal pieces, mixability will suffer. The actual protein powder mixes well. It is a bit thicker than your typical whey protein because it is 50/50 with casein and concentrate, but still very enjoyable and drinkable. Even with the actual pieces of cereal, it is drinkable, some just may not enjoy the “chunks”. They don’t get caught in your wire ball in the shaker, however, and it cleans easy.

Check out our full video for a mixability demo.


Value

(9/10)

We see whey protein isolate retail for 2-lbs at $40 – which is where this one comes in at. For a WPC and Casein you might expect to see this to be a little cheaper, but it is using several ingredients that differentiate it from the competitive set, and it tastes like a miracle in a bottle. I do think this is a $40 protein powder. Buy it once, you’ll be hooked.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

2-LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT’S EXCLUSIVE “DEALS

$39.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

Suppz Logo

$39.99

Save 5% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

$39.00

Suppz Logo

$39.99

2-LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Olympus Labs

$39.99

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%


Suppz Logo

Suppz

$39.99

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 5%

PRICE COMPARISON:


Suppz Logo

Suppz

$39.99

Olympus Labs Superior Protein

9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.5/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Digizyme
  • Velositol
  • PharmaGABA
  • Taste
  • Value

Cons

  • Creamer for Taste
Olympus Labs Bloodshr3d Black Magic Edition Review: Best OTC Fat Burner?
MuscleSport Lean Whey Review

Leave a Reply