MuscleSportProtein Powder

MuscleSport Lean Whey Review: A Fat Burning Cereal Protein

By December 8, 2018 February 26th, 2019 No Comments

MuscleSport Lean Whey

8.5

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • Whey Protein Isolate
  • Digestive Enzymes
  • Unique Flavors
  • Taste

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%!

Overview of MuscleSport Lean Whey

You won’t find MuscleSport readily available in online retailers. This is because they are direct to consumer and brick and mortar only. They rely on this model to make their retailers happy. I have been seeing a lot of their products online and I had to try them.

Lean Whey is MuscleSport’s Whey Protein Isolate featuring flavors like Lean Charms and CinnaCrunch. You get 23g of Whey Protein Isolate and Peptides in a flavor format that will be attractive to many. Not sure if we are huge fans of the actual cereal pieces in the protein powder, but definitely understand the attraction and the point of differentiation. It was a nice change up from what’s on the market while still getting a high quality protein source.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed MuscleSport Lean Whey on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients and protein sources used in the protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective protein powder will use high quality, proven ingredients and add-ins like digestive enzymes.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality proteins used, the more effective that protein will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Lean Charms.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 10-12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of similar protein powders products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9/10)

Lean Whey Label

It is starting to become a trend to take on cereal flavors AND add in actual cereal pieces. This is supposed to be a health-first industry, but they are finding a way to blur the lines between healthy and what some may think is unhealthy. It is attractive to consumers, so we won’t lose too much sleep over it.

Lean Whey features 23g of whey protein isolate and peptides. This is a high quality protein source. We typically see 20-25g per serving so this is in-line. Fat is respectable at 1g and carbs come in at 5g. For an isolate you might wonder why carbs are higher, well, having real marshmallows doesn’t help.

We also get a Lean Muscle Matrix which features Fibersol-2 (Maltodextrin). The Matrix also features Tauric Acid, GlycoCarn, L-Carnitine Tartrate, MCT, CLA and Sunflower Seed Lecithin. These are to aid in fat loss (hence the name – Lean). This is an added feature that most proteins do not have.

We also get a Digestive Enzyme Complex, albeit very low on the ingredient deck.

Overall, this is a nice profile that is not out of line. It features a cool flavor profile while keeping macros inline.


Effectiveness

(9/10)

Protein effectiveness really comes down to a couple things. First, how is the quality of the protein. This uses WPI which is a higher quality protein, so you know we are good there. The second is how does it make you feel? If you feel bloated it takes away from the “effectiveness” feeling for us. Luckily for all of you here reading this review, you don’t get bloat with Lean Whey.

You aren’t going to see fat loss with this protein, but it was designed more to include agents that aid in it like L-Carnitine and CLA.


Taste

Lean Charms: (7/10)
Unicorn Cookie Shake: (10/10)

I will be honest, I fully expected this to taste more like the milk left over in the Lucky Charms bowl, but I didn’t get that with this. It was good, just didn’t taste like I thought it would. It does feature the marshmallows, which can help with the name, but the taste doesn’t match.

Regarding Unicorn Cookie Shake…my god is this stuff good. It might be the best tasting protein I have ever had. There are real sprinkles in it, but the flavor is unreal. It is like one of those sugar cookies (frosted) you buy at the grocery store. I cannot get enough of it. 


Mixability

(8/10)

So, the actual protein powder mixes well in this. We mixed it with 8-12oz of water. The issue with these protein is that when you include actual cereal pieces, your mixability goes down because they won’t dissolve and not everyone wants to drink chunks. You will get the chunks of marshmallows which can be weird for some.

Check out the full video for the mixability demo.


Value

(8/10)

Online through their website, this retails for $60 for 2-lbs which is crazy high (but we have a coupon code INFORMANT to save you 20% which is $12 making this $48), however this is to support their retailers. They retailer market should have this priced more appropriately for the consumer.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

2-LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

MuscleSport

$59.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

MuscleSport

$59.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

MuscleSport

MuscleSport

$59.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

MuscleSport

MuscleSport Lean Whey

8.5

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • Whey Protein Isolate
  • Digestive Enzymes
  • Unique Flavors
  • Taste
Olympus Labs Superior Protein Review: The Best Tasting Protein
Primeval Labs Isolit Review: One of the Tastiest Isolate Proteins Available

Leave a Reply