Fat BurnersGHOST

GHOST Burn Black Review: A Compliant Fat Burner Upgraded

GHOST Burn Black

8.9

Profile

9.2/10

Effectiveness

9.1/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effective
  • Focus
  • Thermogenesis
  • Appetite Suppression

Cons

  • Slight Spicy Aftertaste

Use Coupon Code INFORMANT To Save 20%

Overview of GHOST Burn Black

Ghost Burn Black is a thermogenic fat burner from GHOST. It is meant to aid in energy, appetite suppression, and thermogenesis. By doing these three, it can help with people looking to lose weight. It is actually an upgrade from their other version of Burn, and it contains extras such as ProGBB and Garcinia Cambogia.

Ghost Burn Black has great flavoring, and the Welch's Grape Juice is something all grape flavor lovers can enjoy. With the additions, Ghost Burn Black has set themselves up well to dominate the fat burning market once again for us here on Fitness Informant. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed GHOST Burn Black on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout/fat burning supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective fat burner/pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pump will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Welch's Grape Juice

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of fat burners/pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.2/10)

ghost burn black

Ghost Burn Black is a new version of Ghost Burn, and it is certainly an upgrade from an already solid product. 

Ghost Burn Black starts us off with 3 grams of total Carnitine. Not just L-Carnitine, but 1.5g coming from L-Carnitine L-Tartrate (LCLT), and the other 1.5g coming from Acetyl-L-Carnitine (ALCAR). These are two great forms of Carnitine. LCLT has been shown in studies to be beneficial for recovery, while ALCAR is typically used as a nootropic ingredient. With 1.5 grams of each, you are getting solid doses of both in Ghost Burn Black. 

Next we have Garcinia Cambogia. This is an ingredient that was heavily promoted by the infamous Dr. Oz several years ago, and it blew up in popularity. While we don’t know of any conclusive studies supporting Garcinia Cambogia, however there is a rat study that shows that Hydroxycitric Acid (the active ingredient in GC), may aid in appetite suppression. While we’re not completely sold on it, we have to give credit to Ghost for using a higher dose than the norm, as well as a 60% standardization of Hydroxycitric Acid, as opposed to the 50% most other companies use. 

The next two ingredients are Choline Bitartrate and KSM-66®. Choline Bitartrate is a source of Choline. Choline is a neurotransmitter, and it may aid in focus. Our only issue with this form of Choline is that it has poor bioavailability, and there are better sources of Choline on the market (such as Citicholine or Alpha GPC). At 1g, it is dosed well in Ghost Burn Black. KSM-66® is a trademarked form of Ashwagandha. KSM-66® may aid in reducing cortisol/stress levels in your body, and we love seeing it in here. Instead of relying on heavy stimulants, Ghost tackles stress, something that can certainly hurt your fat loss goals. At 600mg, you are getting the clinical dose in here.

Now we come to two ingredients we love here at FI, L-Tyrosine and Caffeine. Tyrosine is a precursor to Dopamine, the feel-good neurotransmitter. It is a solid nootropic ingredient and has also been shown to play a role in thyroid function, although we think of it as more of a focus ingredient here. At 500mg, you’re getting just enough in here to get some benefit, although more wouldn’t hurt. As for Caffeine, we love this ingredient and it is almost essential for fat burning products. It aids in energy and can suppress appetite. One thing we have to mention, is that Ghost has opted for a different source of Caffeine in Burn Black. The original version uses Caffeine Anhydrous, whereas Burn Black uses Natural Caffeine. Supposedly you get a cleaner feel from this as opposed to Anhydrous. The jury is still out on that one as far as we’re concerned. Either way, you get 300mg of Caffeine which is a solid dose. 

Next up is Cocoa Bean Seed Extract, which is a natural source of Theobromine. Theobromine is similar to Caffeine, however not as strong. It may also be beneficial for lowering blood pressure. Neurofactor™ is up next, and it is commonly used in nootropics these days. It may increase BDNF (Brain-Derived Neurotrophic Factors), which prevent cognitive decline, and aid in memory and improved learning. At 100mg, it is at the clinical dose. 

Next we come to one ingredient you are really going to feel with Ghost Burn Black. GBB, or Gamma Butyrobetaine Ethyl Ester. GBB is a fairly new ingredient on the supplement market, and it converts to Carnitine in the body. While we already have Carnitine in this product, one aspect to GBB is that it makes you sweat, and by sweat, we mean sweat hard. You get 50mg of GBB in Ghost Burn Black, which is a solid dose.

The last two ingredients are AstraGin® and Grains of Paradise. AstraGin® is an ingredient used to enhance the bioavailability of the other ingredients in here. At 50mg, it is dosed correctly. Finally, we have Grains of Paradise. This ingredient is a commonly used ingredient for the purpose of fat loss. It has been shown in humans to be potentially beneficial for fat loss, and it gives this product a certain “spice” to it. 

Overall, this formula is quite impressive. While we knocked the Choline Bitartrate and aren’t sold on the Garcinia Cambogia, it is still an impressive profile. With the addition of GBB, this will certainly make whoever uses it feel this product even more than the original. While not much has changed from the original formula, it still made what was our best fat burner of 2019 even better.


Effectiveness

(9.1/10)

Ghost Burn was already our favorite fat burner before this release, and Ghost Burn Black is essentially the same product with an add-ons. So it is no surprise that this was enjoyable to us as well. We like to break down fat burners into three separate categories, those being Energy, Appetite Suppression, and Thermogenisis. We also have to say that fat burners do not burn fat, you must also have your diet and exercise in check. 

The energy from Ghost Burn Black is solid. With 300mg of Caffeine, some ALCAR, Neurofactor™, and Tyrosine, the focus and energy in Ghost Burn Black is great all around and not overpowering. We thoroughly enjoyed the energy provided by Ghost Burn Black. It is long lasting and there is no crash to speak of. 

As for the appetite suppression, it is solid as well. Some fat burners tend to destroy your appetite and make you feel nauseous, you don’t get that with Burn Black. Instead, you get a noticeable suppression that we can only describe as appetite control. We experienced complete control over your appetite for 5-6 hours and have no real desire to eat, but can if you need to. This is an upgrade from the original Ghost Burn.

As for thermogenesis, it’s improved as well. With the ProGBB added, we were sweating like crazy. We typically took this for morning cardio to start our day, and with little effort we started to feel hot and the sweat started to build up on our foreheads. You build a tolerance to this after a few weeks, but it is still enjoyable for the time it lasts. 

Overall the effectiveness is even more impressive than the original, and we would use this anytime.


Taste

Welch’s Grape Juice: (8.5/10)

We had the Welch’s Grape Juice flavor, which was very enjoyable. Welch’s Grape Juice is already a popular flavor with some of the other Ghost products, and it is done well here. There is a slight spice to it due to the Grains of Paradise, but it is barely noticeable and is even enjoyable.


Mixability

(8.5/10)

We don’t have much to complain about here. There are very few pieces to speak about in here and overall it mixes well. We never even had to wait for foam to clear up.

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(8.5/10)

You can get Ghost Burn Black for a fair price. While the $49.99 at first looks a bit steep, if you use coupon code INFORMANT, you get 20% off, bringing this down to $40. You get 40 servings in a tub, so one serving is equal to $1. If you use two servings a day as we did, you get a 20 day supply, although you can stretch this out if you wish. 

While not the cheapest on the market, you also have to take into account the profile. The profile contains a high dose of Carnitine, KSM-66, Neurofactor, ProGBB, Grains of Paradise, etc.. So you are really getting a stacked product which is better than most fat burners on the market even at one serving.  

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

25 Servings:

$49.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

Price Comparison

$49.99

PRICE COMPARISON:

inspired nutraceuticals logo

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

Price Comparison

inspired nutraceuticals logo

GHOST Burn Black

8.9

Profile

9.2/10

Effectiveness

9.1/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effective
  • Focus
  • Thermogenesis
  • Appetite Suppression

Cons

  • Slight Spicy Aftertaste
GHOST Greens Has Officially Been Launched
GHOST Amino V2 Sonic Cherry Limeade Officially Available

Leave a Reply