Gamma LabsNootropics

Gamma Labs GFuel Energy Formula Review: A Simple Energy Boosting Powder

Gamma Labs GFuel Energy Formula

7.7

Profile

6.0/10

Effectiveness

6.4/10

Taste

9.5/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • Solid Dose of Caffeine
  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Energy

Cons

  • Proprietary Blends
  • Profile
  • NALT

Overview of GFuel Energy Formula

Gamma Labs GFuel Energy Formula is a nootropic supplement meant to provide energy and focus. It is known as the most popular "gaming formula", and has some awesome marketing and flavors.

GFuel provides energy and focus to some extent, however the profile leaves a lot to be desired. It is a good product to keep around as an energy drink substitute, or coffee substitute, however it lacks a little where other companies have done well, at least from a formulation standpoint. The value, taste, and variety make up for a lot however, and it is a fun product to have around.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed GFuel Energy Formula on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the nootropic, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective nootropic product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that nootropic will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Spicy Demon'ade

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of nootropic products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(6.0/10)

gfuel

GFuel consists of 3 separate blends, the Energy Complex, Focus Complex, and Antioxidant Complex. We will break these down separately. 

Energy Complex

This is the energy portion of this blend and is going to be for the most part what you actually feel from GFuel. The Energy Complex is a small proprietary blend consisting of 1.79 grams of total ingredients. 

The first ingredient is Taurine, which can aid in blood flow as well as hydration. Of course, with this being in a blend, there is no way of knowing if it is dosed effectively or not. The next ingredient is Citrulline Malate, which is usually a pump ingredient. It is typically used for blood flow, and is common in pre workouts. Increased blood flow can aid with focus, however there is no way of knowing how much is in here, and even if the entire blend would be Citrulline Malate, it would be dosed rather low. 

The next ingredient is Caffeine Anhydrous, which is disclosed at 140mg per serving. This is a solid dose and is about the same about as one Monster energy drink, or about 1.5 cups of coffee. For an energy supplement for Gamers, this is a solid dose. Too much caffeine may cause anxiousness/jitters, so keeping it on the lower end makes sense. Next we have N-Acetyl-L-Carnitine HCl. ALCAR is a popular nootropic, and can also be found in fat loss supplements. You typically need 1.5 grams for noticeable results, so there is no way this is dosed well in GFuel.

Focus Complex

The second blend is the nootropic blend, which consists of 1001mg, and in a proprietary blend. This starts us off with one of our favorite ingredients for focus, this being Tyrosine. You typically need 500mg-1.5g for it to be effective, so this may be dosed well. The next ingredient is the ugly brother of Tyrosine. NALT (N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine) is a form of Tyrosine, which has been shown in studies to not be effective. If this blend was simply Tyrosine and didn’t have NALT, we would give it a higher mark. Next we have Adenosine-5-Triphosphate Disodium Salt. ATP is the energy currency of your cells, and of course, we have no idea how much is in here. 

Antioxidant Complex

So finally we have the Antioxidant Complex, which is a 26mg blend of a variety of fruits. At 26mg, there isn’t too much to say here. Probably won’t provide much of a benefit, but it does look good on a label and does not hurt the product in any way so we won’t really knock it.

So overall the profile has quite a few flaws and is more focused on flavoring and marketing. This is fine as it still does deliver on the energy portion.


Effectiveness

(6.4/10)

So this was a bit different for us to review. This is intended for Gamers, and the profile isn’t really something we would recommend as a pre-workout or even nootropic really. It is a simple powdered energy drink. So if you’re looking for a nice boost in energy, this actually does deliver, and there is a slight increase in focus. 

As a gamer, it’s about the same in that regard. You won’t be pressing IDDQD or anything, but you will simply be a little more focused and energized. We used this in place of coffee or an energy drink for those sessions, and it was quite enjoyable as a drink, however with what else is out there now, this really should be seen as a powdered energy drink marketed to gamers, but not made for gamers, if that makes sense. 

It could make for a nice pre-workout if you pair it with a pump product, but that’s all we could think of really.


Taste

Spicy Demon’ade: (9.0/10)

So this is what GFuel is known for. They make some GREAT tasting products, which is good. We had the Spicy Demon’ade, which is a flavor based off of the popular video game called DOOM. We were very impressed with this flavor, as it is an actual experience. It tastes like DOOM in a sense. 

The flavor is a lemonade with some cayenne pepper. So it starts off refreshing like a lemonade would, then you get a short lived burst of spiciness in your mouth, which is rather pleasant and goes away quickly. It’s as if hellfire was raising in the back of your mouth without it being overpowering. 

Of course, they have a wide variety to choose from, and you can’t go wrong here.


Mixability

(8.8/10)

The product mixes very well and besides some slight sediment getting caught to the sides of our shaker cups, there is nothing we can really complain about.

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(8.0/10)

You can get a tub of GFuel for $29.99, which comes with 40 servings. So you’re getting an energy drink at a 3third of the price for an energy drink. This is quite good if you look at it this way. If you compare it to many other gaming products on the market, it does not deliver the same well-dosed ingredients, so you need to understand that this is either a subpar nootropic, or a solid energy drink substitute.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

40 Servings:

Price Comparison

Amazon Logo

$29.99

40 Servings

Price Comparison

Amazon Logo

Gamma Labs GFuel Energy Formula

7.7

Profile

6.0/10

Effectiveness

6.4/10

Taste

9.5/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

8.0/10

Pros

  • Solid Dose of Caffeine
  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Energy

Cons

  • Proprietary Blends
  • Profile
  • NALT
Primeval Labs Gray Matter Review: Your Brain Matters!
GHOST Lifestyle Gamer Review: Get In The Game!

Leave a Reply