NootropicsPrimeval Labs

Primeval Labs Gray Matter Review: Your Brain Matters!

By July 23, 2020 September 21st, 2020 No Comments

Primeval Labs Gray Matter

8.8

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.9/10

Mixability

9.1/10

Value

8.4/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effective
  • Taste
  • Focus
  • Energy

Overview of Primeval Labs Gray Matter

GrayMatter from Primeval labs consists of 6 different ingredients that will work to increase mental energy, clarity and focus. This product has a 2-scoop serving size and is fueled by 200mg of Natural Caffeine.

If you are looking for a morning or afternoon pick-me-up or even a more focus-based stimulant product to stack with Mega-Pre white label, GrayMatter would be a superb choice.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Primeval Labs Gray Matter on five categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the nootropic, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective nootropic product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that nootropic will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Smashberry

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. We use the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, the Ice Shaker.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of nootropic products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.8/10)

 

Primeval Labs Graymattter LabelWe will be taking a look at the full 2-scoop serving size of GrayMatter. Let’s break down this label.

We start off with L-Tyrosine at 1,000mg. This is an ingredient that you will see in many nootropic formulas as it is a precursor to one of the most important neurotransmitters in the brain, dopamine. We are getting a solid dose here, as we typically recommend people starting out around 500mg to assess their tolerance. 

Lion’s Mane Extract is a mushroom that has gained recent popularity as a cognitive enhancing ingredient. It has shown to be effective at increasing mental function, memory and recall in people with cognitive impairment. It is considered a brain health supplement as well due to its heavy antioxidant and neuroprotective properties. We are getting 500mg here which is dosed correctly.

Next, we come to Pomegranate Juice Extract, a fruit rich in antioxidants and anti-inflammatory agents. This ingredient works to reduce oxidative stress and inflammation of the brain; therefore, working to retain brain health as you age. There is not really a standard dose for humans to receive cognitive benefits, but Primeval Labs gives us 350mg of this ingredient.

The energy component is fueled by the potent dynamic-duo of Caffeine and TeaCrine®. We are getting a natural form of caffeine as an extract from green tea leaves. GrayMatter contains 200mg of natural caffeine per serving. TeaCrine is an ingredient similar in structure to caffeine, while also emulating similar wakefulness and energizing effects on the body. However, TeaCrine® has a slower onset and also a much longer half-life than natural caffeine which leads to longer periods of cognitive enhancement. 

Our last ingredient in GrayMatter is goBHB™ complex, aka beta-hydroxybutyrate, supplying 4 grams of goBHB™. This is essentially a source of ketones that can be used as an alternative source of fuel in the brain. Evidence has been shown that beta-hydroxybutyrate may be able to increase cerebral blood flow, deliver more oxygen to the brain cells, and ultimately support cognitive function.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

We will start off our conversation about the effectiveness of GrayMatter by simply saying: This product works, and it works well. 

The energy it gives is very smooth and subtle, it is not hard hitting like a preworkout. That’s exactly what you want with a nootropic supplement. It is not meant to hype you up for a hard workout, these products are meant to be a midday pick-me-up, or to take before an intense study or work session to give you that mental edge.

We like taking it after lunchtime to avoid the afternoon crash and maintain our productivity levels throughout the remainder of the day. The nice combo of caffeine and TeaCrine® really help to avoid any type of come down, or crash from this product. We enjoyed using it and it facilitated some incredibly productive study and work sessions.


Taste

Smashberry: (8.9/10)

This flavor is a fan favorite from Primeval, and for good reason. If you have tried the Smashberry flavor from any other products in the Primeval Labs supplement line, it tastes identical. It has a subtle berry taste that is very refreshing.


Mixability

(9.1/10)

We have absolutely no complaints here. It mixes very well and there are no clumps to speak of whatsoever. There is a little bit of residue that floats around, but it isn’t bad at all. It is completely undetectable as you drink it, just visual. If anything gets caught on the sides or bottom of your shaker cup, just switch the water around and you will have no issues.

The scoop size is rather small, so we would expect it to mix well in 8 ounces of water. Primeval typically has rather well mixing products, and they didn’t disappoint with GrayMatter.

We used the Official Shaker Cup of Fitness Informant, The Ice Shaker.

Check out the video above for a full mixability test.


Value

(8.4/10)

You can get this for $45 on the Primeval Labs website. Based on our recommendation of the 2-scoop serving size, you are looking at $2.25 per serving. You may think this price is a bit high for something that isn’t a fully-loaded preworkout. If you are thinking this, you are probably the same person who doesn’t have a problem paying $3 for a Bang at the local gas station every day. This product is MUCH more than a Bang.

Whether you use GrayMatter daily for your morning or afternoon pick-me-up, or you keep it around for that occasional big study or work session, GrayMatter is definitely a nice item to have in your supplement cabinet.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

40/20 Servings:

Amazon Logo

$39.99

PRICE COMPARISON:

GHOST

$39.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

Price Comparison

GHOST

$39.99

Primeval Labs Gray Matter

8.8

Profile

8.8/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.9/10

Mixability

9.1/10

Value

8.4/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effective
  • Taste
  • Focus
  • Energy
Iron Brothers Supplements Prodigy Review: Unleash Your Inner Prodigy
Primeval Labs To Launch Electrolyte Product

Leave a Reply