Skip to main content
Core NutritionalsSleep Aids

Core Nutrition Core ZZZ Review: Catch some ZZZ’s

Core Nutrition Core ZZZ

8.9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.8/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value
  • Taste

Cons

  • Flavor Options

SAVE NOW: Save 20% with code INFORMANT

Overview of Core Nutritionals Core ZZZ

Core Nutritionals won't win any awards for best marketing campaigns, but they will take home trophies for their amazing products. We can confidently say that we've never had a bad Core product in our time here at FI.

Core ZZZ is Core Nutritionals sleep aid that still features Phenibut, a hard hitting ingredient that will help you get to REM sleep. We're big fans of Phenibut, but we know it is not for everyone. If you can handle Phenibut, then Core ZZZ is going to be a go-to sleep aid that also will help you recover quicker leading to better gains. 

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Core Nutritionals Core ZZZ on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the sleep aid supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective sleep-aid product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that sleep-aid will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Pineapple Peach.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of sleep-aid products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

 

zzzCore ZZZ starts off with a ZMA blend. We have to point out that Magnesium is great for muscle relaxation, and has a lot of benefits.

GABA is in here, and for good reason. It is an inhibitory neurotransmitter, and is very common in sleep aids. Some people debate the bioavailability, however we do have a big dose in here at 3 grams, so we personally have no complaints.

Next up we have another inhibitory neurotransmitter, which is Glycine. Glycine is becoming more popular in sleep aids, and for good reason. You get 3 grams in here, which is another solid dose. You also get Tryptophan, which is a precursor to Serotonin. Serotonin is known as the “happy” hormone, and helps with appetite regulation, mood, and more. It can certainly help and is nice to see in here. 1 grams is a solid dose.

Ornithine is the next ingredient in ZZZ. Usually found in periworkout products, it has some new research showing it to be beneficial for sleep. You get 400mg of it in ZZZ, which is a solid dose. Following this you get Mucuna, which is a source of L-Dopa. L-Dopa is a precursor to Dopamine, and Mucuna is a very common ingredient in sleep aids. 

Next up is Theanine, which is found in just about everything these days. Theanine is found in everything for pre-workouts, to fat burners, to sleep aids, and is used for its calming effect. You get 200mg Theanine, which is a solid dose. Following this you get 5-HTP, which is a precursor to Serotonin, which we talked about above. We like the addition of it, and you get a solid 150mg dose.

Finally, we have the Caffeine of sleep aids. Melatonin is the most common ingredient for sleep products, and you get 5mg of it in ZZZ. This is a pretty strong dose, and may give some people a sleep hangover. You usually see this at 1mg-3mg, so some may want to start at a lower dose.


Effectiveness

(9.0/10)

This is another solid product from Core, and we really enjoyed our experience with it. While we initially were upset that Phenibut was taken out (not like Core could have done anything about that), they did a great job with this one. One of the first things you will notice when you take ZZZ, is a “tingly” feeling, somewhat similar to Beta-Alanine, however just not as annoying, in fact it’s actually pleasant and enjoyable. 

We like to break down sleep aids into three categories, which are sleep quality, time to sleep, and the morning after.

The time to get to sleep is great, and while not the absolute strongest we’ve had, it still does a great job. One of those where you lay in bed and even if you’re on your phone or watching something on TV, there is no way you will not fall asleep watching whatever you were watching halfway through. 

Sleep quality is great with ZZZ, and probably the best aspect. The sleep you get off of it is just awesome, and it is nothing short of restful, filled with vivid dreams that you would not want to share with anyone. Really something that needs to be experienced.

As for the morning after, there may be somewhat of a sleep hangover, this can certainly depend on who you are and how you tolerate Melatonin. We did not have much of any sleep hangover, however we have heard of others who have, so keep that in mind.


Taste

Pineapple Peach: (8.8/10)

We had the Pineapple Peach flavor, and it is quite good. While not the best flavor we have ever had, it will be enjoyable for the majority and it is right in between sweet and refreshing. Solid either way and you won’t be disappointed.


Mixability

(8.8/10)

Mixability was decent on Core ZZZ.  There is some particles that float and some residue at the bottom, but overall it isn’t bad. Any sediment can easily be taken care of when you  simply swish y0ur shaker cup around.


Value

(9.0/10)

You can get ZZZ for a little under $44 for a tub, which gets you 20 servings. If you use coupon code INFORMANT, you save 20% off. This is a solid deal, and we also have to note that ZZZ should not be used every day. It should be taken only 3-4 times a week in our eyes, as you can become dependent (short-term) on sleep aids. You would also burn through the tub rather quickly, and make it potentially not worth your money.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Core Nutritionals Logo

Core Nutritionals

$43.49

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Core Nutritionals Logo

Core Nutritionals

$43.49

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

$43.49

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

$43.49

Core Nutrition Core ZZZ

8.9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.8/10

Mixability

8.8/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value
  • Taste

Cons

  • Flavor Options
Core Nutritionals CORE FURY Wins 2020 Pre-Workout of the Year
Morphogen Nutrition Morphorem Review: Morph Your REM Cycles
FIt Butters

Leave a Reply