Skip to main content
Morphogen NutritionSleep Aids

Morphogen Nutrition Somagen Review: One Of The Best Sleep Aids You’ll Find

Morphogen Nutrition Somagen

8.8

Profile

9.3/10

Effectiveness

9.3/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.2/10

Value

8.8/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value

Cons

  • Mixability

SAVE NOW: Save 10% with code INFORMANT

Overview of Morphogen Nutrition Somagen

The kitchen sink company aka Morphogen Nutrition is a brand that packs formulas as much as they can while still making enough money to keep their lights on. We've seen this with other formulas like their popular pre-workout powder, pre-cardio catalyst and more.

Morphogen Nutrition Somagen is a new cutting edge sleep aid that may help with fat loss. With hero ingredients of Zylaria and MitoBurn, Somagen is one of the most scientifcally backed sleep aid on the market today. If you're looking to achieve a deep REM like sleep, with the possibility of increased fat loss, Morphogen Nutrition Somagen is a solid choice.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Morphogen Nutrition Somagen on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the sleep aid supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective sleep-aid product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that sleep-aid will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Honey Lemon Lavender.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of sleep-aid products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.3/10)

Somagen LabelMorphogen Nutrition Somagen combines proven sleep aid like ingredients with new non-stim fat burning ingredients to attempt to give us a sleep aid that could aid in fat loss as well. We start with the clinical dosage of Glycine at 3g. Glycine at 3g helps the body relax and achieve high quality sleep. When we get up to the 5g mark of Glycine it can help improve the body’s ability to release growth hormone. In a rat study, 2g were administered and the rats significantly increased NREM sleep and reduced core temperature.

Taurine is used at 1g. There are several online reports that Taurine may counteract the effects of Caffeine. This is due to recent research showing Taurine having a sedative effect on the human body. Per a 2020 study, supplementation with Taurine does improve sleep quality. We typically see Taurine at 1-2g.

Zylaria is the hero ingredient in this formula at 500mg. Ideally we’d love to see this at 1g to achieve the greatest results, but at 500mg Zylaria, from Nuliv Science, can reduce stress and anxiety putting you into a sedated state of mind to achieve high quality sleep. Zylaria has high levels of GABA which improves how quickly you can fall asleep.

Mitoburn is the hero ingredient when it comes to “fat loss,” in fact, it is really the only ingredient in this formula that can make that claim. Mitoburn is a new ingredient from NNB. This is an ingredient called L-BAIBA. When you exercise, your body releases a myokine called BAIBA. This ingredient has been shown to reduce blood sugar as well as increase fatty acid oxidation. At 500mg we are happy with the dosage.

Apigenin is used at 250mg. This is an ingredient we don’t see often in formulas. Apigenin is a naturally occurring plant flavone, abundantly present in common fruits and vegetables. It has been shown to be a strong anti-inflammatory and antioxidant ingredient. Apigenin may induce muscle relaxation and sedation depending on the dose per studies

Lavender Extract has long been used to help ease stress and anxiety and to aid in sleep quality. We get it here at 250mg. In a study at 80mg per day, participants experienced improved associated symptoms such as restlessness, disturbed sleep.

The last ingredient used is SaffSerene aka Saffron Extract at 15mg. Saffron has been used in traditional food dishes like paella (Spain) since the beginning of time. SaffSerene supports healthy mood balance per CK Ingredients. Studies indicate it may be a choice for an anti depressant. The suggested daily dose is 30mg per day. We get 1/2 that in Somagen, but still overall acceptable due to the cost.

Overall this is a really unique, new formula that will contribute to deep quality of sleep with potential fat burning capabilities. 


Effectiveness

(9.3/10)

In today’s market, this might be the best sleep aid available. We see this more of a sleep aid than any kind of fat burner. You cannot tell if you are burning fat when using this. What you can tell is how quickly you can fall asleep and what kind of sleep quality you achieve. We were fans of the ingredient phenibut, which is no longer approved. This is the closest thing we’ve had since phenibut supplements. After 10-15 minutes you start to feel more relaxed. Your mind essentially goes blank (unless you’re playing on your phone). Once your head hits the pillow it does not take long to fall asleep. The fun part is when you actually fall asleep you rarely wake up.

We experimented with a single serving and a double serving. A double works better, but it is not necessary. You can achieve great sleep on just one serving of Somagen. 


Taste

Honey Lemon Lavender: (8.5/10)

We believe Morphogen Nutrition took a “tea” flavoring approach to this and wanted to utilize the natural flavors of the ingredients (Lavender Extract). We had this both in cold water and hot water. We think it is better in warm water (heat up water for 60 seconds in the microwave and mix-in Somagen) versus the cold state, but still both ways it was enjoyable. It is a different flavor, hard to really explain but you can definitely get the notes of lavender with slight notes of both honey and lemon. It is quite relaxing, especially as you are about to go to bed.


Mixability

(8.2/10)

Somagen features some unique ingredients that are not soluble in water. One of them is Saffron. When you mix Somagen, even though it is only a 7.7g serving, you will still see dark flecks floating around in the solution. This isn’t chunky or even big particles, you can just see them. You may need to rinse the shaker one time after drinking to ensure you get it all down.

Check out our mixing portion of our full review video above.


Value

(8.8/10)

For some people this will be of higher value than others. If you don’t have issues going to sleep then this may not have much, if any, value to you. If you suffer from insomnia or just have a hard time clearing your mind, this will have much more value. This is a 20-serving container for $48. That is $2.40 a serving. That is higher than a lot of pre-workouts, but keep in mind how important sleep is compared to a pre-workout. Also, ingredients like Zylaria, SaffSerene and MitoBurn are not cheap. If you use code INFOMANT it will know 10% off making this under $45. In our opinon, as people who have a lot of issues sleeping, this is a solid spend if you can swing it.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

morphogen

Morphogen Nutrition

$48.00

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

morphogen

Morphogen Nutrition

$48.00

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

20-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

morphogen

$48.00

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

morphogen

$48.00

Morphogen Nutrition Somagen

8.8

Profile

9.3/10

Effectiveness

9.3/10

Taste

8.5/10

Mixability

8.2/10

Value

8.8/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value

Cons

  • Mixability
Morphogen Nutrition Adaptogen Review: Adapt To Your Environment and Relax
Somagen Helps You Catch ZZZ's With Zylaria
FIt Butters

Leave a Reply