Amino AcidsBlackMarketLabs

BlackMarketLabs Recovery Amino Review: A Leucine Heavy EAA That Delivers

By February 24, 2019 No Comments

BlackMarketLabs Recovery Amino

8.8

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

9.5/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Effectiveness

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 5%!

Overview of BlackMarketLabs Recovery Amino

BlackMarketLabs is known for their goal-first innovation. This means they create products with specific goals in mind. In this case, it is recovery .

Recovery Amino from BlackMarketLabs is a good EAA product feating a unique ratio. This is the max ratio we would allow to go due to our belief that the 2:1:1 ratio is ideal (based off of studies). Recovery Amino tastes great and mixes well, as well as is nice on the wallet. If you're looking for a product heavier in Leucine, give this a shot.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed BlackMarketLabs Recovery Amino on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in this amino acid supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective amino acid product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that amino product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Peach.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12-16 oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of BCAA/EAA products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.5/10)

Blackmarket labs Recovery Amino is broken down into 3 separate complexes with an additional patented ingredient, AstraGin. This is not your standard BCAA product. Blackmarket labs includes over a gram of essential amino acids as well as an electrolyte blend. I will not be going into the ins and outs of every essential amino acid listed on the label for the sake of the length of the article. Let’s dive right in!

We get 7grams of instantized BCAA here with this product. Leucine is dosed at 4,500mg, with Isoleucine and Valine both at 1,250mg. Now, we don’t mind a little bit more Leucine, and this is about as far as we would go, but the most well-studied ratio is the 2:1:1.  This dose of Leucine is higher than what we are used to seeing in a BCAA product. Leucine has been linked to have a critical role in muscle growth. Also, the BCAA are instantized, which is known to increase bioavailability for use by the body.

The next complex is the Essential Amino Acid Blend. This blend contains 6 amino acids and totals at 1,078mg. Blackmarket Labs does not give us the amount of each individual amino acid although there is not a “magic” ratio to date. We like to see EAA’s around at least 1,000mg. This is a nice addition.

The final complex is an Electrolyte Blend. This can help quench thirst and overall hydration. We get 290mg of electrolytes.

Finally, we have 50mg of AstraGin. This is a key addition, as it will help with absorption and your body’s ability to put the amino acids to use. This is a great dose of AstraGin.

Overall, we have BCAAs and EAAs totaling up at just over 8g per 10g scoop. With the electrolytes and the AstraGin added in, this makes for a nice ingredient line up. The active ingredients account for almost 8.5g out of the 10g scoop.


Effectiveness

(8.5/10)

Amino products are a bit harder to gauge the effectiveness for. You also have to use them when they can actually benefit you. Personally, I’d advise drinking them in the morning if you don’t want to train fasted but don’t want to eat something either. They can also be used in between meals if you go longer periods with a protein.

BCAAs are great to use throughout the day while dieting as well, as they have been shown to have an anti-catabolic property! The overall goal while dieting is to maintain as much muscle as possible while melting away the fat. BCAA and EAA products will greatly benefit you during dieting phases.

I can say that I rarely suffered from DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness) while using this product. I typically do not train fasted, so I used this as an intra-workout drink.

Also, the addition of the electrolytes helps to facilitate hydration which in turn minimizes cramping.


Taste

Peach: (9.5/10)

I used the Peach flavor and it was a well flavored product. It is an easy flavor to sip on for extended periods of time and is quite refreshing.

Blackmarket labs did a good job with this flavor. Aminos have a reputation for having taste issues, however this product has no issues.


Mixability

(9/10)

BCAAs typically foam as you mix them. Except with this product, they use instantized BCAAs which do not foam. However, there is still a slight bit of sediment floating towards the bottom. It is a miniscule amount, but I seemed to always have this problem every time I used it. It is hardly noticeable as you drink it, so I would not say it is problematic.


Value

(8.5/10)

We like to see BCAA only products priced at around 1$ per serving. This product comes in just above that at $36 for 30 servings; however, you are getting much more than only BCAAs. The value added by the EAAs, alongside the electrolyte blend increases the value of this product.

The greatest addition in terms of value is the inclusion of the patented ingredient AstraGin. This ingredient sets this amino apart from many on the market.

This is not a bad price and the value is there. This product is competitively priced with some of the other top-notch products on the market today.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Suppz Logo

$35.99

Save 5% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Suppz Logo

$35.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Suppz Logo

Purge Sports

$35.99

Save 5% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$35.99

BlackMarketLabs Recovery Amino

8.8

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

9.5/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

8.5/10

Pros

  • Taste
  • Mixability
  • Effectiveness
NutraBio Alpha EAA Review: Aminos and Nootropics on Display
MAN Sports Iso-Amino Review: One of the Best Values Online

Leave a Reply