Amino AcidsNutraBio

NutraBio Alpha EAA Review: Aminos and Nootropics on Display

NutraBio Alpha EAA

9.4

Profile

9.5/10

Effectiveness

10.0/10

Taste

9.2/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

10.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Taste
  • Value
  • Branded Ingredients

Overview of NutraBio Alpha Amino

We've been big fans of NutraBio since our inception. The brand aligns with what we stand for at FI. Quality, transparency and integrity. Many of the products that fall under their umbrella are going to be dosed correctly and work well.

Alpha EAA may go down as one of my favorite products ever. NutraBio combined all 9 EAAs with Ashwagandha and Alpha-GPC, at clinical dosages, to make an all-day supplement that is going to help with muscle recovery and improved focus. This is better than any energy drink or coffee. This was well done.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed NutraBio Alpha Amino on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in this amino acid supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective amino acid product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that amino product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Cherry Lime Slush and Dragon Fruit Candy.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12-16 oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of BCAA/EAA products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.5/10)Alpha EAA label

Alpha EAA from NutraBio is very similar to their EAA Pure formula with the addition of several ingredients. Due to EAA Pure being available only in brick and mortar, Alpha EAA is your chance to experience the formula with nootropics, clutch.

We start with 6g 2:1:1 BCAA. This has been known to be the ideal ratio of BCAAs as it combats delayed onset muscle soreness. At 6g per serving, this is a good dosage of BCAAs. On top of that, we also get another 2.2g EAA. While most companies barely touch 1g of the “other” six EAAs, NutraBio exceeds it by a lot. EAAs are ideal when fasted, but can also help when you’re not.

Like EAA Pure, we also get 1,200mg of Taurine. This helps regulate your electrolyte levels for prolonged endurance and strength. CocoPure Coconut Water is also used at 500mg which aids in hydration. 

Here’s where Alpha EAA rises above the rest, it uses 300mg of Alpha GPC. This is one of my favorite nootropics. It helps improve brain function and mental clarity. We also get VitaCholine (Choline Bitartrate) at 500mg. Although we typically see this at 1g, with the addition of Alpha GPC and Huperzine (which we will talk about shortly) it aids in the cognitive enhancement. KSM-66 Ashwagandha is used at the clinical dosage of 600mg. This has been shown to decrease stress and anxiety and has testosterone boosting effects. Lastly, we get 50mcg of Huperzine A. Like VitaCholine, we would like to see this at 100mcg, but we are getting full doses of Alpha GPC which hovers over all. 

Lastly, AstraGin is used at 50mg for absorption.

I love this formula. Yes, VitaCholine could be higher and so could Huperzine-A, but I haven’t had anything like it on the market. This makes it a nice powder to use all day, every day, especially when you’re looking to get shit done.


Effectiveness

(10/10)

There are several factors to look at with Alpha EAA. First, do the aminos work to help re-build muscle tissue. Well, you don’t feel these things, but what you can feel is DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness) if you workout hard enough. I didn’t get that while using Alpha EAA throughout the day. I am an advanced lifter so much of the lactic acid buildup in my body is gone, but the 6g BCAA with the 2.2g of other EAAs works well to help repair muscle.

Second, I looked at Hydration with this supplement. This definitely quenches your thirst and keeps you hydrated. Coconut Water Powder at 500mg is typical, but the nice addition of 1,200mg Taurine is a nice add.

Lastly, focus. Yes, at 300mg of Alpha GPC you should feel something. I would use this for work purposes to drink instead of pure water and you could just tell it put you in the zone. I was able to better focus on what I was doing, while staying hydrated.

Overall, I really enjoyed this product and it might go down as my favorite of 2019. 


Taste

Cherry Lime Slush: (9.5/10)
Dragon Fruit Candy: (9.0/10)

Alpha EAA is available in NutraBio’s new flavors Cherry Lime Slush and Dragon Fruit Candy. Both are upgrades from NutraBio’s original flavor line-up. I would give the nod to Cherry Lime Slush, especially for something that is sipped on daily. You get a slight cherry flavor with that nice hint of lime. It is really refreshing. 

Dragon Fruit Candy is great too, just a little more sweet than Cherry Lime Slush, which isn’t a bad thing if you’re into that. I prefer a little more tartness to make me feel alive. Dragon Fruit Candy is fruitful and delicious.

Overall, you cannot go wrong with either flavor. 


Mixability

(8.5/10)

One scoop of Alpha EAA is almost 16g. This is well over the average amino product which hovers around 10g per serving. With that said, this still mixes very well. I would, for my own use, do one scoop in 20oz of water which would force me to drink more. Aminos by nature are not soluble in water, so for this to mix well with 8.2g of aminos is very impressive. Per the label, you are to mix one scoop with 8-10oz of water, which does impact mixability. See the mixability video above for an actual demonstration. 


Value

(10/10)

Overall, we really love this product. The fact that it is priced at $35 and that is for 30-servings we think is a huge steal. You get 8.2g EAAs, 300mg Alpha GPC, 600mg KSM-66 plus VitaCholine and CocoPure. It would be hard to find any product like this out there at this price.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

NutraBio logo

$34.99

30-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

NutraBio logo

NutraBio

$34.99

NutraBio Alpha EAA

9.4

Profile

9.5/10

Effectiveness

10.0/10

Taste

9.2/10

Mixability

8.5/10

Value

10.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Taste
  • Value
  • Branded Ingredients
NutraBio Curcumin Advanced Review: Relief for Your Inflammation
NutraBio Launches Strawberry Pastry Extreme Mass

Leave a Reply