Amino AcidsMyokem

Myokem mTOR Pro Review: Packed with EAAs and Taste

By January 6, 2019 February 9th, 2019 No Comments

Myokem mTOR Pro

9.2

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

10.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Taste
  • Value
  • Mixability

Overview of Myokem mTOR Pro

I have heard really good things about Myokem. The history of the company is solid, with their former owner selling and going to Compound Solutions. Since then, the brand has gone through some changes looking to re-capture what they once had.

mTOR Pro from Myokem is a really nice amino acid product. It features 5g of 2:1:1 BCAA with the addition of 3g time released Leucine and almost 2.5g of the other 6 EAAs. The product mixes well and tastes great. Oh, did we mention it includes a hydration complex too? The value and quality is there on this product to justify you putting your trust into it for your muscle recovery needs.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Myokem mTOR Pro on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the amino acid supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective amino acid product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that amino product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Fruit Punch.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12-18oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of amino products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9/10)

mTOR Pro label

The one thing we need to start looking out for on all these EAA products that are hitting the market is what actual amount of “other” EAAs outside the BCAAs are we getting. Many companies are saying we provide Xg EAAs, when the BCAAs account for 90+% of them. The nice thing with Myokem mTOR is you are getting a good dosage of “other” EAAs.

We start with 5g of 2:1:1 Instant Amino BCAAs. Those of you familiar with this category know that the 2:1:1 ratio is the most studied, and most backed ratio. At 5g, we get a minimum dosage I require in a BCAA.

Myokem tosses in another 3g of time released Leucine. Keep in mind what I mentioned before, this is a BCAA so you are actually getting 8g of BCAAs (overall actives are 10.5g however). What is unique here is the time released aspect. ActiveTR, the name being used in the US is TR-Leucine from AnaBio LTD being distributed by Compound Solutions. Per a study, TR-Leucine improved muscle recovery rates at 1.5g.

The Amino complex is 10.5g, and with BCAAs making up 8g of that, that leaves 2.5g of EAAs (with 50mg Astragin for absorption). There is not an “ideal” ratio in EAA supplements (although some companies will swear to you that the discovered it) but having almost 2.5g is a good thing.

We’re not done there. Myokem also tosses in 1.225g of a hydration blend featuring 1g Taurine, 150mg Potaassium Gluconate and 75mg Sodium Chloride. The big one here, Taurine aids in endurance and strength output by regulating your electrolytes. At 1g, this is the sufficient dosage.

Overall, this is a good ingredient profile for an EAA supplement featuring innovative ingredients, good dosages and actually features the other EAAs outside of BCAAs.


Effectiveness

(9/10)

Effectiveness on amino product really stems from the quality that the ingredient profile is. These essentially should match. With the minimum grams of 2:1:1 BCAA met, and the addition of 2x TR-Leucine from the study, you’d expect this to work well at alleviating delayed onset muscle soreness. It does.

It also helps quench your thirst and keep you hydrated. The addition of the 1.225g hydration matrix is a nice added benefit that contributes to your overall hydration.

The last thing I want to touch on is WHEN you should use this product. I feel EAAs are best when you workout in a fasted state. This means you have not eaten anything in 6-8hrs (this includes protein shakes). Stand-alone BCAAs are fine if you have a pool of other EAAs from your whole food sources.


Taste

Fruit Punch: (9/10)

Fruit punch gets a bad rap in this space because so many pre-workouts that feature that flavor, suck. I will assure you that this does not. This tastes really good. I don’t give anything a 10 unless it is just outstanding. It tastes great, and it tastes like fruit punch should. You will enjoy this.


Mixability

(9/10)

Aminos are not soluble in water. There are new versions coming out that claim they are, and they may be, but it’s not expected to be fully dissolved. With that said, this does really well in terms of mix. I mix with 24oz, a full shaker. You have a little residue but not a bunch. Overall impressed. Check out the video for a mixability test.


Value

(10/10)

Based on the landscape, aminos should retail for about $1 per serving, with a minimum of 5g BCAA. This product has 10.5g of aminos with the addition of the hydration complex. The price tag of $30 for 30-servings is solid.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

See Store

30-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

Amazon Logo

Amazon

See Store for Price

Myokem mTOR Pro

9.2

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

10.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Taste
  • Value
  • Mixability
MuscleSport AminoREV EAA Review: A Loaded Amino Formula
Performax Labs EAmino Max Review: More Than An EAA

Leave a Reply