Skip to main content
Amino AcidsMuscleSport

MuscleSport AminoREV EAA Review: A Loaded Amino Formula

By January 17, 2019January 30th, 2019No Comments

MuscleSport AminoREV EAA

8

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

7.0/10

Value

7.5/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value

Cons

  • Mixability
  • Coloring

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%!

Overview of MuscleSport AminoREV EAA

MuscleSport is a brand that is known for awesome quality and well-dosed products, but typically not available online...and where it is, it is a tad bit more expensive than competitors. Why? They price their website prices higher to support the brick and mortar retail stores. With that said, a coupon code (listed below) will get you awesome products at affordable prices.

MuscleSports AminoREV EAA is a packed intra-workout and even post-workout recovery drink as it's more than just an amino product. This thing is loaded from A to Z. While most EAA products are 99% BCAAs and a little EAAs, AminoREV gives us great dosages of both while tossing in extras. A well formulated EAA product worth every penny.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed MuscleSport AminoREV EAA on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in this amino acid supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective amino acid product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that amino product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Peach Punch.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12-16 oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of BCAA/EAA products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.5/10)

AminoREV EAA from MuscleSport is a well-rounded EAA product containing a plethora of ingredients. We start with Amino9 complex from Compound Solutions on BCAAs. You need to look closely because you’re not getting the well-studied 2:1:1 ratio. You’re getting more like 4.5:1:1. I would prefer to see 2:1:1 here as that’s what the vast majority of studies support. You get just over 4g of BCAAs. I again would like to see a minimum of 5g and the included EAAs, but what I think MuscleSport is doing here is trying to give you a full spectrum EAA without thinking of BCAA separately.

We then get into the “other six” aminos. These are also part of the Amino9 complex from CS. Here we are getting 2,879mg of EAAs the “other six.” This is the most I have seen so far in this space. A lot of companies will give you 5-6g of BCAA and then less than 1g of the “other six.” With this formula, we get less BCAAs and more of the “other six.” Collectively, we get a total of 7g EAAs.

Outside of the EAA spectrum, we get 750mg of HICA Dihydrate. HICA is said to be similar to Leucine in that it is anti-catabolic. However, further evidence is needed on this. The human studies were done at 500mg 3x per day for 1,500mg, so this dosage is 1/2 of the human study.

Another anti-catabolic ingredient is PureKIC used at 300mg. Without getting too complex, Leucine is the key to drive mTOR and it goes down one of two pathways, KIC or HMB. Some of the KIC is converted to HICA. Hence why we see both of these ingredients used in this recovery drink. KIC should always be combined with Leucine, because alone it doesn’t do anything. Optimal dosage hasn’t been confirmed.

Lastly, MuscleSport gives us a “Revolutionary Cellular Recovery & Hydration Matrix” containing Tart Cherry, Coconut Water Powder, Sodium, Potassium, Calcium and Vitamin D3 at 800mg. We typically see Coconut Water Powder at 500mg, so we know we are not getting that, but the combo of these ingredients will help with recovery and hydration.

Overall, I like this profile a lot. I think the combo of HICA and KIC with Leucine is great, although I would like to see higher Leucine amount in a 2:1:1 BCAA ratio as there is not an optimal ratio of EAAs yet (although some companies claim they have discovered the holy grail of this.). Some more BCAA in total, and we’d be set.

On a side note, the other thing I am not a huge fan of in this is the use of Beta Carotene for color. I think these things are necessary in today’s supplement world.


Effectiveness

(9/10)

EAA and BCAA products are always interesting to talk about on effectiveness due to the fact that you really cannot feel it working. In this case, you want to look at  a reduction in DOMS, which is delayed onset muscle soreness. Experienced lifters should be over the lactic acid build-up period and EAAs will help with recovery. Beginner lifters may still experience DOMS while using this because let’s be honest, they are shocking the muscles for the first time.

I did not experience DOMS. I am also an experienced lifter. However, with this profile, you can tell it would be effective assuming this product is meeting label claims.

Another thing you want to look at is hydration. There are components in here to aid in hydration. Does this help keep you hydrated? I would say yes, it does. The inclusion of Coconut Water Powder, Sodium, Calcium and Potassium helps.

Overall, good effective EAA product with some extras. It keeps you hydrated while keeping muscle soreness away while helping you recover.


Taste

Peach Punch: (8/10)

They nailed the peach flavor. If you’ve ever had those peach ring candies, this tastes just like it. I like citrus flavors, so something like peach was nice and different. It is a bit sweet, so more water might help drawn that sweetness out. This does use natural and artificial flavors, along with sucralose to help with the flavoring system. It also uses Stevia, which we are seeing more and more of. 


Mixability

(7/10)

As you watch the mixability video, you will see quite a bit of white particles floating in the water. This is more than we’d like to see. Now, Aminos are not soluble in water, however with the use of Amino9 we’d think it should be better. Each serving is 13g and in 12-16oz of water it should mix a bit better, but it doesn’t. With that said, it is not getting caught in your shaker cup or gritty in your teeth so it’s not the end of the world.


Value

(7.5/10)

As we mentioned earlier, the pricing online for MuscleSport products is higher to support their retail partners. With that said, this is a 30-serving EAA product retailing for $55 online. With the coupon code INFORMANT you save 20% which is a savings of $11 making it $44 per unit. This is still a bit high for an amino product given the landscape of the amino category. Don’t get us wrong, it is a good formula, but would love to see this come in around $39.99!

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

MuscleSport

$54.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

MuscleSport

$54.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

MuscleSport

MuscleSport

$54.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

MuscleSport

MuscleSport AminoREV EAA

8

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

8.0/10

Mixability

7.0/10

Value

7.5/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value

Cons

  • Mixability
  • Coloring
XTEND BCAA Review: Still The King of the Mountain
Myokem mTOR Pro Review: Packed with EAAs and Taste

Leave a Reply