Skip to main content
Amino AcidsPerformax Labs

Performax Labs EAmino Max Review: More Than An EAA

By January 6, 2019February 9th, 2019No Comments

Performax Labs EAmino Max

7.6

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

7.0/10

Mixability

6.5/10

Value

7.5/10

Pros

  • Ingredient Profile
  • Effectiveness

Cons

  • Mixability

Overview of Performax Labs EAmino Max

One of our favorite companies is Performax Labs. Underrated is a word that comes to mind when we talk about them. They consistently make solid products without the overhype bullshit that annoys us.

EAmino is a fully spectrum amino acid product from Performax Labs featuring 6g 2:1:1 BCAA and another 1g of the other 6 EAAs with the addition of performance and hydration. If you’re someone who trains fasted, this EAA product is one to consider the next time you’re in the market for an amino product.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Performax Labs EAMino Max on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the amino acid supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective amino acid product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that amino product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Blackberry Lemonade.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12-18oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of amino products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.5/10)

EAmino Max Label

EAA products are hitting the market quickly after several companies “called out” BCAAs and what they said were ineffective. First, that’s not true. BCAA’s are very effective when taken in a non-fasted state. Perfomax Labs EAMino uses BCAA and the other EAAs to give you a nice rounded profile.

We start with 6g of 2:1:1 BCAA. We like to see anything north of 5g. This ratio is #1 in this space in our opinion due to the studies associated with it. This helps alleviate DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness). We get an additional 1g of the other 6 EAAs. This isn’t the most out there, but it is more than many since some companies like to bundle additional grams of Leucine in their EAA blend…not here. Overall, a total of 7g EAAs are used.

Performax Labs tosses in 2g of L-Carnitine L-Tartrate into EAmino which is going to aid in transporting fatty acids to be burned as energy and improved focus. The typical dosage we see is 1g, so 2g is nice. HICA, Leucic Acid, is used at 1,500mg. This is similar to HMB with anabolic effects, similar to Leucine as well. There isn’t a ton of evidence here to support the claim it is effective, but nothing to say it’s not.

Lastly, Performax Labs gives us a hydration complex in EAmino. We get 1,350mg featuring 1g of Coconut Water Powder (typically seen at 500mg), 200mg Potassium Chloride and 150mg Sodium Chloride.

Overall, this is a good EAA product that leans heavily on BCAAs (only 1g EAAs). We would love to see more EAAs outside of the BCAAs. We love the use of the performance complex and hydration complex. Impressive overall.


Effectiveness

(8.5/10)

Amino acid products are tough to gauge effectiveness, because unlike a pre-workout, you don’t really get a “feel” from it shortly after consumption. You need to look at the ingredient profile and that really dictates how effective this product will be. Also, you can “feel” DOMS, so the best thing to happen is for you to NOT feel DOMS from an amino product.

The profile is good on this, we already shared with you what we think. Regarding DOMS, no muscle soreness was experienced, but we also train regularly. With that said, if you are new to training, Lactic Acid buildup may be large that even a BCAA/EAA doesn’t cure it at the start, but it can help speed up that recovery process.

Overall, due to the quality of the ingredient profile, this is an effective EAA. This should be taken in a fasted state. You can take it when you’re not fasted, but a BCAA will work during those lifts. If you work out in the morning, without eating, you want to consider an EAA product like Performax Labs EAmino.


Taste

Blackberry Lemonade: (7/10)

I was actually expecting more from this. It wasn’t awful, but not nearly as good as I expected it would be. I didn’t get a lot of the lemonade flavoring that I thought I would. Other blackberry lemonade flavors I have had were better than this.


Mixability

(6.5/10)

As you can see from the mixing video, several larger particles were floating on the top. This was the case even with a little more water. Aminos are not water soluble, so it is to be expected that we would have residue and particles, but this was more than we thought it should be.


Value

(7.5/10)

A few things I look for in the product in terms of value. The first is do I at least get 5g of BCAA. Check. Next, is the price per serving around $1. This one is a bit higher. It is $35 for 25-servings. The typical cost for a BCAA/amino product is around $30 for 30-servings. There are others on the market with more “other” EAAs that retail for around this amount, but may not have the performance aspect like EAmino. I think that the price tag is OK, not great, but with any sort of discount it would help. I would like to see this to be at least 30-servings at the $35 price tag.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

25-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

A1Supplements Logo

$34.99

25-SERVINGS

PRICE COMPARISON:

A1Supplements Logo

Performax Labs EAmino Max

7.6

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

7.0/10

Mixability

6.5/10

Value

7.5/10

Pros

  • Ingredient Profile
  • Effectiveness

Cons

  • Mixability
Myokem mTOR Pro Review: Packed with EAAs and Taste
Performax Labs HyperMax Review: Another Solid Pre-Workout

Leave a Reply