Performax LabsPre-Workout

Performax Labs HyperMax Review: Another Solid Pre-Workout

Performax Labs HyperMax

8.2

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

7.0/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Energy/Focus
  • Stims
  • Value

Cons

  • Lacking Endurance/Strength

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 5%!

Overview of Performax Labs Hypermax

Performax Labs is underrated. There I said it. I should make a category for most underrated companies and they would probably win the award most of the time. They make great products that always rank high here at FI.

HyperMax from Performax Labs is another one of those products that was just done right for the right consumer. Hypermax hits on pump, energy and focus, disregarding certain ingredients, but still providing a pre-workout engine that would make anyone happy if they tried it. If you’re on the fence, don’t be. HyperMax from Performax Labs is a solid pre-workout.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Sign up for our SUPPLEMENT DEALS notifications today. Don’t miss out on the BIGGEST DEALS on FI approved supplements!

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Performax Labs Hypermax on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in the pre-workout supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective pre-workout product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that pre-workout will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Orange Mango.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 6-8oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of pre-workout products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.5/10)

Performax Labs Hypermax label

I am a big fan of pre-workouts that hit on multiple pillars of what is important including energy, focus, pump, endurance and strength. Performax Labs HyperMax does a lot of these things.

We start with the pump complex consisting of four properly dosed ingredients. We start with 6g of Citrulline. Pure citrulline should be dosed at 3-5g, we get 6g. This helps improve and enhance blood flow – the key to the pump. Then we get 3g of Beta-Alanine. This is more for endurance, but the longer you can go, the more the blood can flow (maybe I should put that on a shirt?!) The proper dosage of Beta-Alanine is 3-3.5g. We are set here. Next, we get 1g of Agmatine Sulfate. Agmatine inhibits the NO synthase enzymes, which allows NO to excel. Lastly, we get 1g of L-Ornithine-L-Aspartate which is an anti-fatigue agent allowing you to keep at it.

The extreme focus and mood matrix may be my favorite. It starts with 400mg of PEA (b-Phenylethylamine HCl). This is known as the happy molecule. This is a good dosage of PEA. The issue is the half-life is approximately 5-10 minutes . This means that it loses its effectiveness in approximately 20 minutes. Eria Jarensis is dosed at 200mg, a good dosage, and is known as an “exotic” stimulant. It helps improve focus and mood. It also works well with caffeine and other stims. Hordenine is used next at 50mg, which actually pairs VERY well with Eria Jarensis. This is a good dosage of Hordenine too.

The energy blend is next. It starts with 1g of Tyrosine, which I think should be in the extreme focus and mood matrix. This is a cognitive enhancing ingredient dosed correctly. The first energy ingredient is what you’d expect: caffeine. We get 325mg of Caffeine Anhydrous. Next we get Citrus Aurantium Extract or what we know it as Synephrine at 50mg. This aids well in energy production. Last, we get 3mg Rauwolfia Vomitoria, which is standardized to 2.7mg of Rauwolscine, a stimulant similar to Yohimbe. Nice dosage here.

Overall, this is an impactful pre-workout using stims for energy, solid ingredients for improved focus (along with the stims) and a decent pump. I don’t expect major pump ingredients to be used in a pre-workout like GlyerPump (plus they make one) so overall decent. The only area missing is a Taurine/Betaine for strength. Solid all around.


Effectiveness

(8.5/10)

If you’re looking for a pre-workout that will do awesome with your energy levels and focus, HyperMax is a go-to. Like their StimMax, this hits hard and the feeling is longstanding. I would suggest adding a TeaCrine or Dynamine to prevent a crash. I would give energy a solid 8 out of 10.

The focus is just as solid. When you combine all those stims with the cognitive ingredients you are going to be in the zone. Focus, like energy, is a solid 9 out of 10.

Pump is decent. I would give it an 8 out of 10. It could have used a glycerol to really make this POP. For what it had, it delivered well.

Endurance and strength were mediocre, but there wasn’t much in this to provide that. Yes, the stims can give you energy, but then you start to crash a bit as the workout goes on. When the PEA wears off you can tell. This area is lacking thus bringing the score down a bit.

Overall, an effective pre-workout that we really enjoyed. You will too, especially if you’re a fan of stimulants in pre-workouts.


Taste

Orange Mango: (7/10)

We’re fans of the orange mango flavor. It is one of my favorites. This one wasn’t as good as others we’ve had. There was just something off about it; not as “refreshing” as I would have wanted. I use little water in my mix so it goes down quickly. It does taste a little tart, so if you like that, you may like this.


Mixability

(8/10)

This is a decent serving size of 16g. You have to expect there to be some mixability issues. But honestly, as you can see from the video, there wasn’t that many. It mixed pretty well with some particles that float and went to the bottom. You may have to wash it down with a little water, but this is not close to the worst we’ve seen.


Value

(9/10)

This is a 25-serving pre-workout that retails for $40. Honestly, I don’t have an issue with that. This is less than $2 a serving for a quality pre-workout. Now days a lot of the solid PWO are 20-serving for around $40-$50. Overall, this is worth the price tag, and we have a coupon code (INFORMANT) that will save you a couple dollars to help!

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

25-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Suppz Logo

$39.99

Save 5% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Suppz Logo

$39.99

A1Supplements Logo

$39.99

25-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$39.99

Save 5% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

Suppz Logo

Suppz

$39.99


A1Supplements Logo

Performax Labs HyperMax

8.2

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

7.0/10

Mixability

8.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Energy/Focus
  • Stims
  • Value

Cons

  • Lacking Endurance/Strength
Performax Labs EAmino Max Review: More Than An EAA
Performax Labs StimMax Review

Leave a Reply