Amino AcidsClinical LabsMuscle Recovery

Clinical Labs Reconstruct Review

By April 9, 2018 January 5th, 2019 No Comments

Clinical Labs Reconstruct

8.9

Profile

9.0/10

Effectiveness

9.0/10

Taste

10.0/10

Mixability

9.0/10

Value

7.5/10

Pros

  • Clinically Proven Dosages
  • Effective
  • Taste
  • Mixability

Cons

  • Fermented/Vegan not stated

Overview of Clinical Labs Reconstruct

Clinical Labs is a new, smaller company with two different products at the time of this posting. They are not heavy retail, although we could argue that they should be. They build their brand by making products backed by science and avoiding proprietary blends. Kudos to them.

Reconstruct from Clinical Labs is a great all around intra/post workout drink. Choose between 40 or 20 servings, you get great dosages and ratios of BCAAs, Glutamine, Taurine and other hydration ingredients. The price tag for this can be a tad rich for some, but the ends justify the means (meaning it’s worth the price).

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed Clinical Labs Reconstruct on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the amount of aminos used, as well as the kind of aminos, the ratio and other ingredients involved in the making of this BCAA powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high BCAA product will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Grape-Ade.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of BCAA products on the market; both with and without caffeine.

Ingredients Profile

(9/10)

Reconstruct is not only an amino product, it also has ingredients like Glutamine, Taurine and Citrates that aid in hydration. That’s why we’re a big advocate of taking this product intraworkout.

You can elect to go with one scoop to make this unit a 40-serving unit, or two scoops turning it into a 20-serving container. We will focus on one scoop for this review.

One serving contains 5g of 2:1:1 ratio InstaAminos. This is the clinically backed ratio of BCAAs to aid with muscle recovery and reducing lactic acid build up. InstaAminos are intended to be absorbed quicker than other forms of aminos. The area in which Reconstruct isn’t clear, and thus they take a hit on their score, is whether or not these are fermented aminos. Compound Solutions, the maker of InstaAminos, offers both, but the label doesn’t state vegan.

You’re also going to get 2.5g of Glutamine and 250mg of Sustamine Glutamine. This aids with digestion, stomach health and some studies state it helps aid in recovery, although many recent studies indicate it does more for gut health. This is a decent dosage of Glutamine in an intra/post workout.

Clinical Labs tosses in 1g of L-Carnitine. This aids in fat loss by transporting fatty acids in the body to be burned off as fuel. This is a really good dose for one serving. We also get 1g of Taurine, which aids in strength output. Taurine can be dosed from 1-2g. We are a fan of this.

Lastly, you are getting your electrolyte/hydration mix of Magnisium Citrate, Potassium Gluconate, Sodium Chloride and Calcium Citrate for a total of 250mg. A nice addition to an already good intra workout profile.

Overall, this is really good. The only thing lacking is the word fermented or vegan. Solid recovery formula.

clinical labs reconstruct label

Effectiveness

(9/10)

Unlike pre-workouts, you typically cannot tell if an intra-workout is effective. This is a direct extension of the ingredient profile.

You’ve already read how well we think of this profile. Since they use a 2:1:1 BCAA ratio at a serving of 5g (10g if you use 2 scoops) this becomes an effective amino product. But it’s so much more. With the addition of Glutamine, Taurine, Carnitine and the electrolytes, you get an all-in-one recovery drink that is effective at aiding in recovery, strength output, energy production and hydration.

Taste

Grape-Ade: (10/10)

I am not a fan of grape. So to receive a perfect score in taste for a flavor I typically am not a fan of is saying a whole hell of a lot. Grape-Ade was a solid, great tasting flavor. It tasted just like you’d imagine a grape Gatorade tasting…and it was refreshing and crisp! No bad aftertaste at all (this is another reason to lead me to believe these are not fermented BCAAs).

The taste is on point with the label, and I really enjoyed it.

Mixability

(9/10)

Reconstruct allows you to choose between one serving or two (two being two scoops). With one serving there is very little mixability issues. No clumping at all. There are only small particles that fall to the bottom, but much better than most. With two servings you do get more of this, but still not a lot (shockingly). Mixability is a strong-point for this intra workout.

Value

(7.5/10)

Hard to judge value at times when you look at a label and get to choose between one serving (40-servings) and two (20-servings) for over $40. Since the product is dosed efficiently and effectively, and it works, tastes great and mixes well, it is a value of a product. The issues I have are minor, with the biggest being that it doesn’t state fermented BCAAs. The other is you can look at the competitive set and find other BCAA products out there priced for less with more servings. With more studies coming out debunking Glutamine’s effect on recovery, this brings it into question. HOWEVER, there is still Taurine, Carnitine and the hydration component.

With all that said, it’s worth the money. They nailed flavor and mixability while putting out a very nice formula.

  PRICE COMPARISON:

Nutrex Amino Charger +Energy Review
SLAP Nutrition Slappy Hour Review

Leave a Reply