Skip to main content
Amino AcidsGHOST

GHOST BCAA Review: Licensing Deals Pay Off Big Time

By February 17, 2019February 22nd, 2019No Comments

GHOST BCAA

9.1

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.5/10

Value

10.0/10

Pros

  • Flavors
  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value
  • Mixability

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 20%!

Overview of GHOST BCAA

Ghost BCAA is an effective product which actually caught my interest. That doesn’t happen very often when it comes to this product category. This is a must buy, as the price is more than fair, and the flavors are somehow innovative, even though they have existed for years as candy.

Buy this if you’re curious, it may even become a staple.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed GHOST BCAA on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at the different ingredients used in this amino acid supplement, what their intention is and how effectively dosed are each ingredient.

We then look at effectiveness. An effective amino acid product will use high quality, proven ingredients, at clinically backed dosages.  This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that amino product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out the following flavors: Sour Patch Kids and Swedish Fish.

Mixability refers to how well the powder mixes in 12-16 oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of BCAA/EAA products on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(8.5/10)GHOST BCAA Label

So to start this out, I have to mention that it is a rather simple profile, being a BCAA. However, Ghost has added a little extra to make this a notch above other BCAA products.

At its core, Ghost BCAA is simply 6 grams of BCAAs in a 2:1:1 ratio. This is the preferable ratio, as it is the only ratio to have any studies behind it. It is also 1 gram higher than the usual 5 grams we see.

Next up we have AstraGin at 25mg to help with absorption, as well as some calcium and sodium to help with hydration. Per the manufacture of Astragin, they recommend 50mg in total, but this is for absorption purposes only. 


Effectiveness

(8.5/10)

BCAAs are a bit harder to judge than other products, as it isn’t an acute effect. Instead you have to judge it by its recovery for the most part.

I used Ghost between meals, as I usually go without eating for 4-5+ hours without eating, so ingesting BCAAs in between meals are beneficial, especially while in a caloric deficit.

Recovery was just as good as any BCAA I’ve ever used, and with the flavor (which I’ll get to), I tended to water this down, which helped me drink more water throughout the day which is also important for recovery. Muscle soreness was down, even with my strength on the way back up after a back injury, so even with my overall protein intake being down due to calorie cutting, I still had solid recovery.


Taste

Sour Patch Kids: (9/10)
Swedish Fish: (9/10)

So this is what Ghost is known for. Ghost was the first company to start collaborating with actually candy companies. The flavors I decided to purchase were Swedish Fish and Sour Patch Kids Watermelon.

This was the flavor that really caught my eye. Although it’s not my favorite candy, it’s something different than what I’m used to. Well, it tastes exactly as you’d expect. Liquid Swedish Fish! It’s quite sweet of course, and I personally wouldn’t call it refreshing. It was a nice way to get something sweet in between meals.

So I have to admit, I like Sour Batch Kids Watermelon candy quite a bit more than Swedish Fish. However, I personally can’t stand watermelon flavored supplements. Mainly due to most of them tasting like Jolly Rancher watermelon. That flavor has been overdone and is quite nauseating at this point.

Well this one is a bit different. As expected, it tastes very similar to what it’s named after. It’s in its own category of watermelon, which makes it enjoyable. It’s on the sweeter side as well, which makes it better between meals. This is a personal preference though, as I personally find these candy flavored BCAAs to not be very refreshing, something I prefer during workouts. Still a memorable flavor either way you look at it.


Mixability

(9.5/10)

BCAAs will foam, and there is little you can do about that. With that said, yes it does foam up, however there are no complaints here. While the dyes are a bit on the heavier side, you don’t see anything floating around and no clumping I can mention.


Value

(9.2/10)

You can get this directly from the Ghost website for $29.99. If you use the the coupon code “INFORMANT”, it brings the price down to $24 for a tub. That is a solid deal for a simple BCAA product.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

$29.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

$29.99

30-SERVINGS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

GHOST

$29.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

GHOST

$29.99

GHOST BCAA

9.1

Profile

8.5/10

Effectiveness

8.5/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

9.5/10

Value

10.0/10

Pros

  • Flavors
  • Profile
  • Effectiveness
  • Value
  • Mixability
RedCon1 Grunt Review: A Versatile Choice for a Fasted Workout
Purge Sports BCAAX Review: Transparent Label, Great Taste and Solid Mixability

Leave a Reply