Protein BarsRedCon1

RedCon1 B.A.R. Review: Breakfast Just Got Better

RedCon1 B.A.R.

9.3

Profile

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Texture

10.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Taste
  • Texture
  • Unique

Use coupon code INFORMANT to save 10%!

Overview of RedCon1 B.A.R.

RedCon1 did something we never thought they would do, release another variation of a protein bar to go along side their very popular MRE Bar. RedCon1 has been one of the fastest growing brands in the dietary supplement/sports nutrition space due to their innovative mindset with their MRE line...and now comes the new Breakfast at the Ready.

RedCon1 B.A.R. is a nice change of pace from your typical protein bar, it's even a nice change-up from the MRE Bar. It is packed with 20g of protein, delicious flavor, soft texture and the best part, REAL CEREAL PIECES. Perfecting a cereal protein bar cannot be easy, but RedCon1 somehow found a way to make the best cereal protein bar ever.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed RedCon1 B.A.R. on four categories. We first start by looking at its ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used in the protein bars and amount, macros and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein bar.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to try the following flavors: Rainbow Breakfast, Fruity Cereal and Crunchy Cinnamon Bits.

Texture is important in a protein bar selection. We review the texture as well. We discuss chalkiness, chewiness, softness and crunch.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of ingredients, taste and texture in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of protein bars on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.0/10)

Redcon1 BAR label

Protein bars are starting to get out-of-hand in this space. Many of them have ingredients and characteristics that resemble more of a candy bar than an actual protein bar. The RedCon1 B.A.R. removes much of that coating and replaces it with a foot and adds in real cereal pieces.

Each bar is packed with 20g protein from whey protein isolate and whey protein concentrate. These are the first ingredients. Then we get Soy Protein Isolate. Say what you want about Soy, it is a complete source of protein. There is a bad connotation that comes with soy as it relates to hormones, but at the levels included in these bars I wouldn’t worry about that.

Some of the common feedback on B.A.R. is the ingredient label is too long. You need to also remember, many of these ingredients come from the actual cereal pieces. Parenthetical labeling is frowned upon now in the world of consumer packaged goods, thus requiring brands to break out each ingredient individually. 

Some of the sweeteners used are Sugar, Dextrose Syrup, Dextrose and Sucralose but each bar only contains 5g of total sugar, with only 4g added sugar. This is much better than most of the “healthy” granola bars on the market that we give our kids, which can range from 6g-12g per bar. Remember that.

The other macros are:

Calories: 190
Fats: 4g
Carbs: 20g
Protein: 20g

Overall, although the label can be intimidating, I would not be too concerned regarding these bars. They are an awesome alternative to the popular candy bars on the market, and their profile isn’t far off from other popular protein bars – if at all.


Taste

Rainbow Breakfast: (9/10)
Fruity Cereal: (9.5/10)
Crunchy Cinnamon Bits: (8.5/10)

We were able to get an advanced version of the B.A.R. from the RedCon1 team months before this came out. We were able to try Fruity Cereal and instantly fell in love. We finally got to be able to try all three and I must say all three are spectacular. The one thing to take away is you may have a slight aftertaste – almost “alcoholish” but that is coming from the binder used to hold these bars together. Unlike the MRE Bar, these are not fully coated with the soft baked textured to hold it together, syrups must be used, along with other ingredients.

Rainbow Breakfast is their version of the Lucky Charms bar. This is a very tasty bar. I would say this was #2 in my list.

Fruity Cereal is your Fruity Pebbles version of the bar. This was my favorite. This had a great fruit flavor that wasn’t overwhelming but enough to differentiate it from anything I have ever tried on the market.

Crunchy Cinnamon Bits is your Cinnamon Toast Crunch bar. I did like this a lot, but out of the three I would probably pick this last. Now, with that said, if you LOVE cinnamon cereal, this may be your go-to choice.

Every flavor is solid, you cannot go wrong with any three of these. I would recommend trying each one to see which one you like best.


Texture

(10/10)

This is one of the best things about these bars, they are different than anything on the market. Because it uses Whey Protein Crisps, there is a crispy, chewy texture to this, but not as chewy as the MRE Bar or other hard-pressed protein bars. These are still soft, the break off easy, but I would more-or-less relate the texture to a granola bar. There is a nice crisp to it, soft chew and “light” feel to it all while getting 20g of protein per bar. If you’re tired of the same old protein bar texture, this is a solid mix-up from the rest of the playing field. 


Value

(9.0/10)

The B.A.R. from RedCon1 does retail for $34.99 on their website. The good news is we have a coupon code (INFORMANT) that will knock off 10%. With that discount you are still at ~$30.00 a box of 12 which is higher than other bars, however, there are no other bars like this on the market today. You will pay a premium for uniqueness, and these babies are unique. Are they worth $30? Yes they are. The issue is you might eat them so fast because they are delicious that you could spend a paycheck on your stock (kidding!). RedCon1 does a great job of running big sales too, like Buy 1 Get 1 50% and more. When those sales are LIVE these become a fantastic deal…but even at full-price they are worth it.

 

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

12-BARS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

$34.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

$34.99

12-BARS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

RedCon1

$34.99

Save 10% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

RedCon1

$34.99

RedCon1 B.A.R.

9.3

Profile

9.0/10

Taste

9.0/10

Texture

10.0/10

Value

9.0/10

Pros

  • Profile
  • Taste
  • Texture
  • Unique
RedCon1 Introduces Two New MRE Lite Flavors

Leave a Reply