GHOSTProtein Powder

GHOST Vegan Protein Review: Fully Disclosed, Quality Vegan Protein

GHOST Vegan Protein

8.9

Profile

9.3/10

Effectiveness

9.3/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

7.3/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Fully Transparent Label
  • Effectiveness
  • Taste
  • Value

Cons

  • Mixability

Use coupon code INFORMANT and save 20%!

Overview of GHOST Vegan Protein

GHOST is a brand that is known for their cool packaging, licensing deals and their flavors. They also are a brand that believes in quality and educating the consumer on what it is they are taking, this is the definition of full disclosure.

GHOST Vegan Protein is the 1st vegan protein we have reviewed at FI, and it did not disappoint. We won't lie, we're meatheads and we didn't think we'd like any vegan protein, but GHOST Vegan Protein was very enjoyable with absolutely no digestion issues or stomach discomfort. A fully transparent label also allows you as the consumer to know what sources of vegan proteins are being used and how much is being used. This is a win-win for the consumer.

Why You Should Trust Our Reviews

  • EXPERT REVIEW PANEL
    Our review panel is made up of individuals with many years of experience in the sports nutrition industry, dating back to the early 2000’s. Their tenure gives them knowledge on brands, supplements, ingredients, dosages and more.
  • FULL CONTAINER REVIEWS
    Unlike the majority of “review” sites on the internet, Fitness Informant reviews every supplement on a full-container basis. What does this mean? It means that a review is not written or recorded until the last serving of that product has been finished. We’ve all had products that were great for the first couple of days, but then lost their effectiveness shortly after. We want to ensure you are getting a full review based on a full product.
  • INGREDIENT EDUCATION
    We breakdown each ingredient in our reviews to educate you on exactly what the ingredients do, and what is the proper dosage of each ingredient to effectively do what they are intended to do.
  • 100% HONEST – NO B.S. REVIEWS
    Our number #1 priority is to inform you proper supplement selection through honest reviews. The majority of “review” sites on the internet will push you to buy a certain product based on the commissions they received. Not us. We want you to purchase the highest quality supplements at the best value. We put your health and wellness first. To achieve your goals we want you to use only the best supplements that you can afford. We do this by being honest.

Testing Results and Ratings

We reviewed GHOST Vegan Protein on five categories. We first start by looking at it’s ingredient profile. This portion of the review looks at quality of protein used, amount and other ingredients involved in the making of this protein powder.

We then look at effectiveness. A high quality protein will be effective. This is generally an extension of the profile section. The higher quality ingredients used at proper dosages, the more effective that product will be.

Then we move into the taste of the different flavors we’ve tried. We grade each flavor separately and average the scores for their overall taste rating. We were able to test out Pancake batter.

Mixability refers to how well the protein powder mixes in 12oz of water. We use the shaker bottle test. This would be your typical Blender Bottle with the spiral chrome ball.

Finally, we talk about value. Value is the combination of profile, effectiveness, taste and mixability in relation to cost. Another part of value are the competitors and other versions of proteins available on the market.


Ingredients Profile

(9.3/10)GHOST Vegan Protein Label

The Vegan Protein game is newer to use here at FI, but what we look for are high quality sources of vegan protein. For GHOST Vegan Protein, they utilize three sources of vegan protein, much like their GHOST Whey uses three sources of whey protein. The first source of protein, and one of the highest qualities of vegan proteins is pea protein at 15g. Pea protein has great digestibility and there is a sustainability story behind it (it’s actually good for our earth). The 15g yield 12g of protein. The next source is Organic Pumpkin Protein. This is the first we’ve seen this. We typically see Pea or Soy, but not Organic Pumpkin. This is used at 7.86g yielding 5.5g of protein. The last source is another unique source, it is Watermelon Seed Protein. We’ve all heard good things about watermelon seeds (no, not that they grow watermelons in your stomach when you consume them), but seeds in general are very healthy. We get 3.3g yielding 2.5g of protein. Collectively this gives us 20g of protein per serving. 

Yes, this is sweetened with sucralose, but it is what leads it to tasting so good, versus some of the vegan proteins which taste like the earth. We know many people do not like sacrificing taste, so we are OK with this.

The complete macro profile is:

Calories: 120
Fats: 2g
Carbs: 7g
Protein: 20g

Unlike whey protein, the fats and carbs aren’t stripped out like you’d find in an isolate. This is not a bad thing.

Overall, this is a unique, fully transparent label that we are big fans of. 


Effectiveness

(9.3/10)

Effectiveness on a protein powder is tough since you don’t actually “feel” much from it. What we look for are bloating and discomfort. With GHOST Vegan we did not experience either. In fact, the reason most people suffer from bloat or discomfort on their proteins is because they have issues with lactose in whey, so going to a vegan or a non-dairy based protein seems to do the trick.

This is also very good for baking. We used it to bake protein pancakes. It is also versatile to be used in various recipes


Taste

Pancake Batter: (9.0/10)

The flavor of this was on point for pancake mix and had a slight sweet, maple type flavor to it. We really enjoyed this. When used in protein pancakes it added a nice flavor profile to the pancakes that made them much better than just your traditional whey. Regarding the actual shake in water, it was still good. You don’t get a ton of the maple with this, but it really does taste like the pancake batter in which you can imagine. Seeing is many vegan proteins are knocked on taste, GHOST does it right. This is where we will bring up sucralose again, they do use it, but we are good with that since it does make the flavoring better. We know many people looking for a vegan protein want it naturally sweetened via monk fruit or Stevia, but we are not against sucralose in this.


Mixability

(7.3/10)

Mixability is the only thing in the review that isn’t the greatest. This is most likely because it is not as soluble as a whey protein. It is a bit thick and gritty. There is settling at the bottom of your shaker cup as well. You will want to make sure you constantly shake the cup to ensure you are getting the most of it. We used the official FI Cyclone Cup to do the test.

View the video above for a view of our mixability test. 


Value

(9.5/10)

Vegan proteins tend to be more expensive than your whey proteins, since the demand for vegan is less it tends to cost more. GHOST Vegan retails for $45 for a 2lb container, which is only $5 more than their whey. With code INFORMANT you knock off 20% which is $9. After the discount you are at $36 which is a great value for a solid tasting, effective vegan protein, not too mention it is fully disclosed so you know exactly what you’re getting.

Available at these Fitness Informant Approved Retailers

2 LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

$44.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

$44.99

2 LBS

FITNESS INFORMANT'S EXCLUSIVE DEALS

GHOST

$44.99

Save 20% with coupon code INFORMANT

PRICE COMPARISON:

GHOST

$44.99

GHOST Vegan Protein

8.9

Profile

9.3/10

Effectiveness

9.3/10

Taste

9.0/10

Mixability

7.3/10

Value

9.5/10

Pros

  • Fully Transparent Label
  • Effectiveness
  • Taste
  • Value

Cons

  • Mixability
Inspired Nutraceuticals Protein+ Review: A Functional Health Protein Powder
GHOST Launches Sour Patch Kids RedBerry Legend

Leave a Reply